We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best city centre hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nadler Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nadler Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

base2stay in Liverpool is right in the heart of the city, a few steps away from shopping, bars/pubs and restaurants and the wonderful regenerated Albert Dock. Spacious rooms, tastefully furnished with high quality materials and fittings and very well soundproofed. Friendly reception. The only thing missing was a box of tissues - hardly worth kvetching about!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairweathersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,781
    825
    132
    27
    16
See reviews for
514
1,553
315
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Stayed here one night, all reviews I read have been very encouraging so I booked it. All was good, staff was polite and friendly, location was convenient, and when it was time fir bed, I realized that the ceiling was squeaking each time the person moved around, I could also hear toilet sounds very clearly! I strongly recommend getting this fixed immediately.. I'm on the third floor right now, and am writing this while using the great free wifi the hotel provides.. Would've got great marks if it weren't for the thin ceilings.. Too thin for my liking!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTY1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b2smanager, General Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about base2stay Liverpool.
I am pleased that you thought us worthy of a four star rating but I am obviously dissappointed that we failed to exceed your expectations in some areas. The floorboards and noise related issues are areas that can unfortunately only be fully tested once the hotel is fully occupied. We have instigated checks following the issues you raised and any items identified will be put right without delay.
I hope the above shows our commitment to meeting and exceeding our guests a expectations. This, we hope will go some way in.reassuring you and look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.
Regards,
Gary Laird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Calm, spacious, elegant decor in what was probably once a warehouse. Fantastically quiet inside, even though the adjoining streets have lots of bars and clubs. Very comfortable, and well sited for easy walking to all the major venues in this buzzy city. Nifty little kitchen facilities hidden behind one of the fitted cupboard doors in the rooms. Beatles coffee-table books in the sleek guest lounge area (no bar or dining room) next to Reception. I would most certainly book it again if in Liverpool. Took longer to book in than seemed necessary when there were 3 members of staff at the desk, but they were pleasant enough. I was a bit flummoxed about how to operate the high tech lift and showers. My only grumble is that, like lots of hotels, there were those signs about how eco-friendly they are, and therefore towels won't be changed if you hang them up, but (like in lots of hotels) that message doesn't seem to get to the cleaning staff!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b2smanager, General Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear TMP75

Thank you very much for taking the time to put a 5 star review onto our listing.

I am very glad that you found the hotel to be peaceful and quiet. It confirms that all the hard work done at planning and construction to ensure the hotel was not affected by external noise normally associated with city centre hotels’, was successful.

The state of the art technology installed in the hotel can pose challenges on occasions as detailed in your review, but we hope the additional instructions we have deployed will help our guests familiarise themselves with how lifts, etc. operate. We will also review the information reception provide on check-in to ease our guests use of the various technology touch points in the hotel.

I apologise for the unusual delay you experienced during check-in. It may have been computer related but be rest assured we constantly review our procedure to improve efficiency and guest experience.

Thank you for the point regarding our green notices, our housekeeping team have been notified to ensure a similar lapse is prevented in future. Additional training will also be provided.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Regards,
Gary Laird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

This could be one of the best hotel I ever stayed in UK.
Great location contemporary design of the hotel and rooms!!!
Really appreciate the mini kitchen in the room,feel like I'm home!
Highly recommended to everyone of you who planned to stay in liverpool!
When you go out the hotel, shopping center is on your right and the party street is just on your left!!Nothing more you can ask for!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

The hotel is located just a short walk away from Liverpool shopping area and many Liverpool clubs. Also Liverpool University is in walking distance.

As it is very new, everything was very clean and functional. Rooms are nice, but our room was kind of dark as room was not looking on the street but into some small courtyard.

WiFi was FREE which is excellent! What is even better is the fact, that it was indeed WORKING and VERY FAST!

The only negative thing would be parking as there is no free hotel parking. We parked in front of the hotel as public parking is free up to 07:30AM. Short after 8:00AM we already got a nice hefty 50GBP ticket for not paying the fee (I really was tired and was sleeping at 7:30). So bare in mind if you come with a car....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b2smanager, Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear ALiEN2108,

Thank you for your lovely review.

The hotel does not have parking facilities, or some of the other ‘traditional’ extras such as a bar or restaurant. Instead we have exclusive arrangements with local businesses to secure discounts for our guests. base2stay guests can park at QParks Hannover Street for only £9 for twenty-four hours. After 18.00, if guests leave before 09.00, it is only £5.00. There are also a number of smaller car parks in the area where prices range from £1.50 per hour, £5 all day up to £20 per night.

We are delighted to read that the complimentary WiFi exceeded your expectations. base2stay strives to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, without having to pay excessive room rates for excellent standards of accommodation and for those facilities that we feel add value to your stay. These include free WiFi throughout the hotel, complimentary music, games and internet through HD TVs, along with the first 30 minutes of local and national telephone calls. We also offer our guests exclusive discounts to some of the best local restaurants and bars in the area

We hope to welcome you back to base2stay in Liverpool and in London in the near future, and on behalf of the team wish you a wonderful festive holiday,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Excellent hotel in great location close to both shopping and night-life.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jørgen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maassluis, Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Wow! That is the feeling what you get when you stay in Base2stay ! Classic on the outside, absolutely top, high tech and pure class on the inside. Great beds, super helpfull staf at reception, lovely atmosphere. I enjoyed this brand new hotel also for other reasons. It is one of few hotels with a mini kitchen in your room, completely free wifi, lovely bathroom and more tv stations than you can wish for on a super screen in your room.
Another thing, I really enjoyed is the location of this Base2stay hotel. One minute walk to the right and you are in the middle of Liverpool's brand new shopping centre. One minute walk to the left and you are in the area with brilliant restaurants (Alma de Cuba!) and bars.
When I see what Liverpool has done to it's old city centre (the modernising etc by keeping the old look of classic buildings and warehouses and turning them inside into little palaces) then this Base2stay hotel fits right in there.
I will take my family here next time too and will also advise my friends to use it when they go and visit Liverpool.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelkr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#5 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Liverpool

Property: The Nadler Liverpool
Address: 29 Seel Street, Liverpool L1 4AU, England (Formerly base2stay Liverpool)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nadler Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nadler Liverpool (formerly base2stay Liverpool) offers a unique combination of 4* comfort, design and service. All rooms offer A/C, mini-kitchens, free WiFi + free internet, music & games on HDTVs. Without a bar or restaurant, it’s ideally suited to the RopeWalks, Liverpool city centre’s vibrant design quarter. Enjoy exclusive discounts at some of Liverpool’s best bars and restaurants, with which this boutique hotel is surrounded and 30 minutes of free local & national calls per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Nadler Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing