We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at the base2stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nadler Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nadler Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay at the base2stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful, anticipating what our needs may be on the trip. There us free WiFi, the rooms were good, we had a twin room and it was clean with a large bathroom. No powerpoint in the bathroom which meant we had to use the hairdryer in the main room, hoping we weren't disturbing our neighbours. The kitchenette, made up of sink, fridge and microwave meant we could eat in, a good thing for us as we were in the middle of a long trip and needed a break from eating out. There's a Tesco on the corner and Sainsbury's and M&S are a short walk away. It was a quick walk from the hotel to Liverpool lime street as well as Liverpool One, Albert Docks and the Cavern Quarter. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkk_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,781
    825
    132
    27
    16
See reviews for
514
1,553
315
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst visiting Liverpool for a concert at the Echo Arena. Hotel is in a great, central location, close to all main attractions, bars, restaurants and Liverpool Cental (train) station.

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews (rated number one) and it rates the hotel as 5 star. The hotel website describes it as a "smart luxury design hotel" so we were expecting great things, However, there were a few things that we felt were not 5 star/luxury standard.

Prompt check in, pleasant receptionist. We were given room 325, standard double. Room was very modern, clean and big enough. Had a little kitchen area with microwave, kettle, fridge, crockery and cutlery - although if you did decide to make something in the room there's not much room to sit! Bathroom was nicely decorated, had nice, quality towels. However the shower was pretty poor, tap water was boiling (be careful!) and the bath/shower tap was wrongly labelled (i.e. if you turned it to cold it was actually hot - that's how I realised how hot it was - ouch!). The bath had a few rust marks in it, and the wall where the bedroom door had banged in to had been badly patched up (no paint). There were glasses left in the corridor - they were there when we arrived, and still there when we left almost 24 hours later.

My side of the bed was comfy, but my partners felt like the springs had gone. Unfortunately, there were the usual inconsiderate guests having a long conversation outside our bedroom at 4am so I had to get up to ask them to be quiet. Not the hotel's fault though.

All in all, we did have a nice stay. I've given this a 4 out of 5 as opposed to 3 out of 5 - difficult to rate because I would say it's better than "average" but not "very good" (we have stayed in better hotels, but equally far worse!). It was just "good" but most certainly not 5 star luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprowenhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read that overall you had a nice time at base2stay Liverpool. To clarify, we are classified as a 3* metro hotel by Visit Britain, yet have been fortunate that Trip Advisor visitors have awarded us a considerable number of 5* reviews. However, on this occasion we appear to have let you down, for which I apologise.

Each of our en-suite bathrooms are complimented with oversized showers which generally provide strong water pressure. If you inform us of your room number we can investigate this further. I do apologise if the markings on the taps weren’t clear. We always recommend that our guests immediately notify our reception staff of any problems as we are there to help in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were originally booked into another hotel in Liverpool, but upon checking in we discovered that it was not at all nice, so a quick web search yielded base2stay and the good reviews that it received, and by chance when we phoned they had a vacant room, so we swiftly checked out of the dive and checked in to base2stay instead. From our initial somewhat frantic phone call and throughout our 5 day stay, the staff were extremely helpful indeed and could not be faulted.

Base2stay is exactly what it says on the tin - the rooms are fitted with mini kitchens such that you can do your own catering, and there is not a restaurant or bar within the hotel itself, although it is literally 2 minutes walk from any number of bars and restaurants.

They tagline themselves as an 'innovative smart luxury boutique hotel concept', and this really does describe it well. The building is an old brick warehouse building and has been coverted to a high standard whilst still retaining many of the original features too. It is well located only a few minutes walk away from the various attractios in the city centre and Albert Dock is less than 10 minutes walk away. Unfortunately there is no parking associated with the hotel, but they provide a discounted rate at a modern Q-Park just down the road.

We were in a standard double room for our break, but it was extremely nice inded - the bed was a very comfortable queen size with nice linen. The bathroom was great - decent bath with an excellent rainfall type shower and immaculately clean. As I mention above, the rooms have a mini kitchen tucked away behind sliding doors, but complete with fridge, kettle, microwave, cutlery and crockery and a sink - everything that you need for some self catering on a shortbreak. The room was also equipped with a decent TV and a free internet system via a keyboard and the TV.

Other than the rooms, and the reception, there was a modern airy lounge, but neither bar nor restaurant, so if you go on breaks to spend your entire time in the hotel then his is not for you. However, if (like us) you go on a break to see the city, explore it's sites and culture then you could not wish for a better base to do so than base2stay. Absolutely first rate.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get the hotel to validate your parking ticket for the QPark to get the discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andylovescatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! At base2stay all our team are flattered by your kind words and extensive description. I feel that your visit encapsulates our hotel’s ambition. We worked hard to design a hotel that offers affordable luxury, an incredibly convenient location and a knowledgeable and friendly service, which we hope translates into a great Liverpool stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room has everything you need and the space is used very efficiently. Sink, fridge, mwave, closet and room safe are behind a sliding door in the wall. Bathroom has a good shower and modern fixtures. Everything is new and clean with good security into the hotel. There is no on site parking; however they give a discount voucher for a spacious, easy to access car park a block and a half away. Wonderful shopping area, water front and attractions all within walking distance. The only negative is that Wednesday night seems to be party night in the area where music spills out in the streets until about 2:30am. This might be a positive for you younger folk as there is a lively club scene.

Room Tip: Our room was 409 (top floor). I suggest asking for a lower floor and maybe a different side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Brent R, thank you for your kind words. Here at base2stay we love receiving reviews that help us improve. I’m really glad that you appreciated and made the most of the facilities that our hotel provides. You mentioned our brilliant location, which is a predominant feature of popularity amongst our guests. However, being situated in such a lively area does consequently mean that sometimes there will be late night activity, but I’m sure with our triple glazed windows you noticed how quiet it was in the hotel. I hope you still feel enthusiastic about our hotel and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our room turned out to be a 2-level loft. TVs aplenty, a great, large bathroom and a comfortable bed. The staff is eager and friendly, the WiFi was reliable and fast, and everything was sleek, modern and impeccable. It's n a good location, about a 10 minute walk from the train station and right near the main shopping district. We got great recommendations from the staff for restaurants and sights to see, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you're heading to Liverpool, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 on the first floor if you are OK with stairs in your room - it's a cool loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked Base2stay for 7 ladies who wanted to shop and see the sights of Liverpool. We booked two rooms, one of which was the Garden Room on the ground floor. It was perfect for us to meet and have a few drinks before walking five minutes into Liverpool One. The kitchen was very well equipped, the bathroom was luxurious and we had another separate toilet which was handy. Once we found out how to close the curtains (via an electronic control!) we were very cosy.
Just a heads up - it is cheaper to book direct, some of the companies offering "deals" were much more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we booked at the Base2Stay Hotel in Liverpool, I really wasn't expecting anything great as it was so reasonably priced! Boy, was I surprised. This is a fabulous hotel in a great location! The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The lounge area was modern & comfortable with leather sofas and a great espresso/coffee maker. The staff were incredibly knowledgable and helpful with everything we asked of them. I would recommend Base2stay to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was quite a good distance from the elevator, which I always prefer in case of elevator nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#5 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Liverpool

Property: The Nadler Liverpool
Address: 29 Seel Street, Liverpool L1 4AU, England (Formerly base2stay Liverpool)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nadler Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nadler Liverpool (formerly base2stay Liverpool) offers a unique combination of 4* comfort, design and service. All rooms offer A/C, mini-kitchens, free WiFi + free internet, music & games on HDTVs. Without a bar or restaurant, it’s ideally suited to the RopeWalks, Liverpool city centre’s vibrant design quarter. Enjoy exclusive discounts at some of Liverpool’s best bars and restaurants, with which this boutique hotel is surrounded and 30 minutes of free local & national calls per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Nadler Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing