We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #253 of 1,679 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN LIVERPOOL A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. Situated in the bustling Liverpool One shopping centre, Jamie's Italian Liverpool has something for everyone. When the sun is out, relax after an afternoon of shopping in our outside dining area and in the cooler weather, sit upstairs in a cosy corner by the window and watch the world go by. The restaurant also boasts an upstairs area which is the perfect place to celebrate special occasions as whole areas can be reserved for up to 50 people. Don't forget to visit the beautiful little deli shop on your way out where they sell a variety of amazing products for you to take away.
England
Level Contributor
362 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thought I would give Jamie's chain a whirl and on entering the restaurant was initially impressed. Friendly helpful staff and nice decor. Looking at the menu I was quite excited as it seemed very different from the standard Italian so I had high hopes. Sadly the quality and quantity of the food left much to be desired and ultimately left disappointed and desperate for something to eat. The are many better Italian restaurants in the city. And many that offer much better value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    793
    645
    389
    268
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I can't give this 5 stars as I felt it was over rated. I noticed when I walked in there were specials but they were not given tro me as options when I ordered. I don't feel I would go again but glad I did. Everybody has a different oppinion.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gilly_carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff, the atmosphere, and the all important food were absolutely fabulous! My husband and I had been before but returned hoping that the fabulous food was not a fluke. IT WASN'T. We spent a wonderful two and a half hours eating at our leisure. We weren't rushed or made to feel like we were hogging a table. It was like a like bit of Italy in sunny Liverpool.
we will certainly be going again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have eaten at Jamie's Italian twice now and each time the service has been prompt, the staff have been friendly, the food has been well presented and delicious. Good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WirralLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

WOW! What an experience, went last night and it was so much nicer than I expected! I've heard people say that the one in Edinburgh wasn't very nice so was a bit sceptical but honestly it was amazing! Staff were very friendly, food was very well priced (average £12 a main) I got the nachos for starter but they weren't nachos they were like dough ravioli stuffed with pumpkin and cheese with a tomato relish and it was spectacular! Then the burger for main which was Scrummy and then brownie for desert (I had to go all out!) it was just brilliant and easy to find and the decor itself was lovely

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewraccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing