We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing on a sunny day and fabulous food”
Review of Matou

Matou
Ranked #235 of 1,737 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $42 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New Pan Asian restaurant opened on Liverpool waterfront in March 2010
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing on a sunny day and fabulous food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Best place ever. Roof top amazing. You would not want to move from there all day. The food is amazing and i would say this is a hidden gem in liverpool. Is an Absolute must try!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank REBECCA01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    274
    161
    83
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must do Matou”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

what an evening! the best prawn toast ever!!! great food,I had the malaysian curry, we all loved the matou platter, enough for three of us,the staff were great on an exceptionally busy evening, smooth radio free concert at the waterfront, sat outside after our meals and listened to the concert with our drinks and enjoying the sunshine. I highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to dining here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER1963186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Works Night Out”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the second year our works night out has been at the Matou and again last night the sun was out and we where all outside with drinks - the food is 1st class - hope to be there next year

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffsefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location is great. On the top of the nice building. View is amazing. We were lucky that weather was great. Prices are reasonable. Less then we expected. Toilets were nice. Also, the choice of music was simple perfect. I really have enjoyed here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Martina_MNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous roof terrace”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We went for drinks on a Monday night. It was still about half full despite it being a Monday night. This is a fantastic if slightly pricey place to drink. Great views over the three graces and the Mersey. We only had a few beers and some prawn crackers which were good value at £3 for a big basket and a chilli dip. Would definitively return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettyboo1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matou also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Matou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing