We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really???????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really???????”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked here quite a long time ago for the visit of the giants and have always wanted to stay here, however, we were a little dubious from reading the recent (and unjustified) reviews left by some of you.
This hotel is fantastic and even better when you realise just how little money you pay.
We stayed in a balcony room, not one single fault from anything, clean is not the word, more like immaculate, bed just amazing, tea/coffee facilities best I have had, super flat screen TV, Bose docking station, super bathroom with an amazing shower, the whole thing was perfect, just what you expected (and more) from a 4 star and not what I would expect in a foyer, it's not the foyer you sleep in is it? And added security to get to the lift, well isn't that a good thing?.
Ok no food but there is a serious amount of places to choose from and some very good ones.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone in the world except for those who wish to complain about nonsense,
Love the place and the city
Thank you all round

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usthemandnotyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your positive and passionate review on Heywood House. I'm really pleased that you found everything ideal and to your liking for your recent visit to witness The Giants. We appreciate and thank you for your recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    495
    129
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
938
48
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Such a shame that the hotel had neither of the above. For the price you would at least expect to have the facilities available. Room small but clean. Pub crowd outside making a heck of a racket but to be fair couldn't hear it at all on the second floor. A little bit of noise, I think from the floor above, but not too disruptive. Smallest reception I think I've ever seen but service friendly enough. Quite like the fact you have to ring at night to get in and you need your room card to access the lift and stairs, makes it a bit more secure.
Great location for the city, restaurants and bars. We went to see the Giants and they passed right at the end of the street. Overall OK and if they ever get their bar/restaurant back it'll be even better!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Good Afternoon! Firstly I would like to thank you for your review of your recent trip with us over the weekend. I am pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel suited to your particular stay and ideal for some Giant sightseeing! I would like to apologise however, that you were disappointed in the lack of restaurant or bar at present as we operate as a room only hotel, but we do encourage all guests to explore the city and sample some of the great restaurants all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Friendly staff on reception, let us check in early as we arrived early. The room was spotless and very modern in style so we could not fault it, the bathroom was again spotless with an amazing shower and a little rubber duck to keep you company. The bed was very comfortable so had a good night sleep. and all the little extras as well, the ipod docking station, iron with ironing board and hair dryer. Even enjoyed the hospitality tray as it had more then just tea and coffee on it, it had a selection of different teas and hot chocolate as well. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to any one wishing to stay in Liverpool. Also the location is great as it is very central and walking distance to almost all of Liverpool's major tourist attractions, shops, business district and nightlife bars and clubs. I can see why this hotel has won awards from Best Kept Secret twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Heywood House. I am delighted to find that you had a positive experience with our staff, found our location ideal for your particular stay and enjoyed the services we offer within our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Bit of a strange hotel.

The hotel foyer is no bigger than a shoe box and you need your room key to get to stairwell/lift to the rooms. The reception guy was very pleasant and once you get beyond the foyer door the hotel is like any usual 4 star hotel. Whilst the room was compact it was fine and was really clean with all the usual room stuff BUT...although we booked room+breakfast, we only found out after checking in that the hotel restaurant closed back in January!!! Hence a very nice hotel BUT NO RESTAURANT! As a result no room service and breakfast is provided by a nearby cafe for £5.

If that is what you think you have booked then fine but just be careful that you are aware of this fact when you book. We will be taking appropriate action against the booking agent who sold us the booking but have no real gripes with the hotel other than having a 4 star hotel with no restaurant is very strange.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review on Heywood House on your recent visit. I am sorry to read that there had been some miscommunication between yourselves and your travel agent and I hope this does not reflect on your opinion of our hotel. At Heywood, we operate a room only business and would encourage all of our guests to explore the great city of Liverpool and all of the great quality restaurants right on our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as we had come to see the Giants. We upgraded to a balcony room and we were not disappointed.
Room 306 is delightfully quirky with split levels, odd shaped windows and gable beams. The bathroom has a spacious and powerful shower, the towels are large and soft and robes were provided. The whole room was spotless and a request for more coffee was met with alacrity. It was a very hot day/night and we were able to make full use of the balcony: the view was limited but the different rooftops were quite fascinating and we were not plagued by seagulls because we had our own protection in the shape of a cement falcon on the roof! When we eventually went in, the air conditioning had kept the room cool.
We have visited Liverpool many times and have always been impressed by the friendliness of staff and level of service in the hotels. This was up there with the best of them and we will certainly return

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackpoolDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive and detailed review on our hotel. I am really pleased that you found one of our feature rooms to your liking and made full use of its balcony during the hot summer day. I would also like to thank you for rating us as one of your personal best hotels in Liverpool and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

if it would list itself as a 3-star hotel, OK, I would give it an average rating.
Now I just give a poor rating.
reception and lift area: grungy
service: adequate and friendly
room: OK, but very small. Cleanliness was good though
but: very musty smell in room.
Also, there's a pub next door, which got rowdy during our stay (weekend). So bring earplugs.
no good price-quality ratio

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cauchy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review on Heywood House. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I am interested to know more on this matter and I kindly ask that you contact the hotel directly to discuss this with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has been stylishly refurbished and is extremely clean and comfortable. The facilities are great, and the air-conditioning was very welcome during a very hot spell. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for museums, galleries, shops and restaurants and tours of the city. Despite its central location, there was no traffic noise to be heard in our room at all. The staff were professional, courteous, helpful and very friendly. The car park in Liverpool One is a mere 5 minute walk away, and the discount given by the hotel for parking and local attractions is very welcome. I would certainly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
<span style='line-height: 115%; font-family: "Calibri","sans-serif"; font-size: 10pt; mso-ascii-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family: Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-hansi-theme-font: minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family: "Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font: minor-bidi; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-ansi-language: EN-GB; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA;'><font color="#000000">Thank
you for your positive review on Heywood House. Myself and the team are
delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Liverpool. I am also
pleased to read that you found our location and services offered ideal for your
particular trip. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.</font></span>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,076 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 97 in Liverpool
2,421 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,665 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing