We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little find ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, close to shops, pubs, shopping & the docks.

Rooms not huge but of a good size with a well equipped bathroom. Common areas of the hotel well decorated and kept clean.

Lovely breakfast next door at the brasserie and a great value stay overall. Park in the Liverpool one Q park and get a discount voucher from the hotel before you leave.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lolly2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback on the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a positive experience and found the location and hotel met your needs. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    495
    129
    28
    15
See reviews for
117
936
48
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

my husband and i booked to stay at the Heywood for two nights and we wern`t disappointed staff were very helpful, room was lovely clean and modern,with a bose ipod docking station and lovely flat screen t,v, shower was very powerful and the little duck made me smile, the hotel is very well located for bars restaurants and shopping just stay out of the slaughter house pub next door not a nice place, but do go over the road to bar one a lovely bar and very nice food. we had breakfast at the hotel which was very nice but a bit pricey at 12,95 each. we are booking to go back with friends in February. only downside is parking but if you park in liverpool one car park the hotel gives you a discount voucher so to park for 48 hours was £19 which is very good and only a couple of minutes walk,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for leaving such detailed and positive feedback. I am happy to hear that everything was ok for you and that we can expect to see you return in February. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherscum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The good points about the hotel mainly lie with the hotel room and friendly reception (not restaurant!) staff. Lovely bathroom with free-standing bath, good shower and comfy bed. Reception was not manned at all times though, as we had to ring from our room three times to get through to someone - however they were still very friendly and helpful. Also a great city centre location.

The bad points are all to do with the breakfast the next morning - terrible quality when paying £10 per person! All the staff, from the moment we stepped in the restaurant, seemed uninterested, uncomfortable and seemingly not well trained. We were asked if we wanted tea or coffee on arrival - I opted for coffee but my partner (who doesn't like hot drinks) wasn't offered anything else when she declined. The "continental smorgasbord" was a complete let down. There were a few slices of ham/cheese that looked very unappetising (only a few flies were taking interest in these), a few bread rolls and some very tiny pastries (no croissants!). All the jugs of juices and milk were completely empty when we arrived and remained so until we left (see picture!). This would have been a bit more understandable if it was busy, but there were only us and a couple more tables eating breakfast. There weren't even jugs of water to help yourself to which is annoying as no one asked us if we'd like any drinks the whole time we were there, even when our glasses were noticeably empty. We ordered two full english breakfasts which were meant to include the following: bacon, sausage, fried bread, grilled tomato, hash browns, baked beans, black pudding and a choice of egg. This may as well just said "whatever we feel like giving you, that's what you'll get". We ended up with (we both asked for without black pudding) no fried bread, just regular toast which was cold and served with no butter, no hash browns and a mushroom which was no where to be seen on the menu and I have a mushroom allergy! The eggs were also ruined. I had a fried egg which was obviously forgot about as it had formed a horrible tough crust on the bottom. My partner ordered scrambled egg which he'd obviously forgot about as well, they were basically chopped up fried eggs. The chef, who you could see due to the open kitchen, was moving at a snails pace and very unprofessional. His phone rang very loudly which he proceeded to answer and then announced very loudly and enthusiastically that it was time for him to go home.

Overall, we would stay at the hotel again which was very pleasant but we would NOT pay £10 for breakfast again. There are plenty of places nearby to grab breakfast including a cafe two doors down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Dane, thanks for leaving such detailed feedback on the restaurant and hotel. I am pleased to hear overall your experience with our reception team was positive, however I do apologise about our desk not being manned for when you needed us. We try to operate our front desk 24 hours a day , and for a member of staff to not be absent for a sustained amount of time, however we occasionally need to make allowances for our staff to patrol the hotel as well as see to other guests needs.
Regarding the restaurant. First of all I would like to express my apologies and disappointment. I am sorry to hear that our usual level of service was not up to standard and I am disappointed that this has tarnished your views on us as a whole. I know that we can do better. I appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast and I promise that we will take this on board and we are providing service training next week for our newer members of staff. I hope that we can welcome you back, and that you will not be disappointed. Can I ask that if you do decide to give us another try, that you call us at reception in advance so that we can discuss this matter in more detail. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. Clean well equipped room. Incredibly friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. True hidden gem. Would stay here again if in area even if only to see if the rubber duck in the shower has got any friends as it looks so lonely on the shelf.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi there! Wow, thanks for such positive and kind comments. If you like, get in touch with us and we will post out one of our little duckies for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here one night last May. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is safe and very convenient - walked to the cavern club as well as to Marks & Spencers and many restaurants, and very close to the dock. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and the bed super comfortable. We had a great night sleep. The bathroom very modern with really nice soaps and shampoos. The only suggestion I have is that the mirror in the bathroom was so high that I could not see myself. Otherwise I will definitely 100% stay here again if I make it back to Liverpool.

Room Tip: Upper floor, away from elevator and/or dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeyahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave such nice feedback. I am pleased to hear that you will return to us and we hope we see you soon. Let us know before you arrive and we will accommodate you in a more convenient room for mirror use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights in a plush twin room. Our room was very quiet and had a balcony- not much of a view but nice to sit outside anyway! the location is perfect for town centre and cavern club. A 15 minute walk to the convention centre. staff were very friendly and helpful- couldn't ask for more. my only complaint is that i thought the breakfast options were expensive, but its easy enough to fine surrounding cafes and restaurants that sell breakfast. would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone, and i wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heliandmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice feedback on our hotel. I am pleased to hear that the room and location were ideal for you, and that you had a positive experience with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heywood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I are just back from our first trip to Liverpool where we stayed for 3 nights in the Hotel which included breakfast each morning and 2 of the nights also included an evening meal. The Hotel is perfectly situated 2 minutes walk from the shops at Lord Street and Liverpool One Shopping centre and a 5 minute walk to the Albert Docks area. Our room 101 was above reception on the first floor overlooking the main street but we did not hear any noise during the night. The room was tidy and clean and had an excellent powerful shower in the bathroom - only criticism of the room was it was a bit dark even with all of the lights on. Food in the Hotel in the Bank Bar & Brasserie was excellent especially both evening meals with the staff very attentive.At Reception James was very helpful as we had a minor query over our bill on checking out which was rectified immediately. The Hotel also provides you with a 40% discount voucher for the nearby QPark within the shopping centre so our 3 days of parking was discounted from £45 to £29 - overall an excellent stay and we will definitely go back

Room Tip: We were in room 101 which was above reception and overlooking the main street but did not hear a sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond9858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
HI Raymond, i’m really pleased to hear you enjoyed your first trip to Liverpool. I’m glad to hear that we can welcome you back to Liverpool and to our hotel – we look forward to seeing you both again! I will forward your positive feedback onto our restaurant staff and I shall see you soon. Give us a call directly in the future and we shall put you in one of our more brighter rooms.

Kind Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,067 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 97 in Liverpool
2,417 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,661 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing