We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to fault about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing to fault about this hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely two night stay in this hotel, one night booked through Living Social and the other via Laterooms.com. We had a plush room which was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. There was even a Bose iPod docking station. The breakfasts were lovely and we also had an evening meal both nights. Each night there was a different offer on. Monday night was 50% off all food and the Tuesday evening offered a steak meal for two with a bottle of wine for £30. Both meals proved to be fantastic value with excellent service. The hotel is in a superb location, very close to Albert Dock, Liverpool One shopping centre and all the other major attractions. The nearest discounted car park (QPark) is a few minutes away walking distance - if you have a lot of luggage it could be a bit of a problem especially if its raining. But don't let this put you off. There are parking bays opposite if you can find a space just to pull over for a few minutes to load up without being caught by a traffic warden (I believe it's free of charge overnight between certain times). All in all a smashing stay and would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you also enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I will forward your positive comments on to the restaurant team, A handy hint keep an eye on our special offers page for our latest deals! We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    488
    127
    27
    15
See reviews for
114
912
48
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned home after an overnight stay at the Heywood House Hotel and what a fantastic hotel too. I often visit Liverpool and have stayed at plenty of other hotels in the past well i must say that this one has to be my favorite the room was amazing very comfortable plush and a bargain too! I find it hard to believe that other people find fault with it as my friend and i had a fabulous time and will definitely be returning! love it love it love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsywildcat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our Hotel! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would rate us as one of your favourite places to stay! We will look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This former city centre bank building has been sensitively restored and converted into a boutique hotel.

The location is excellent – a few minutes walk from the Pier Head and Albert Dock, Liverpool One shopping centre and the Cavern Quarter. James Street station is just round the corner for easy rail connections.

The rooms are very well furnished and equipped, and spotlessly clean. In addition to the big screen TV there's also an iPod dock – although I had to fumble under the desk to sort out the wiring and plug this in.

Fine quality linen and a very comfortable bed.

Meals can be taken in the restaurant and bar next door, but I'm not sure if it serves breakfast. But there's no shortage of cafés, bars and restaurants within 5min walk.

As other reviewers have noted, this is not a car-friendly location, but there are two or three pay-parking sites nearby.

Conclusion: hard to beat for a city break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and that the location was ideal for you to enjoy what Liverpool has to offer! We do serve breakfast in our restaurant it is £10 per person which includes a full English and continental buffet. If you choose to rebook with us again we can happily add this on to your reservation for you. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is situated within a five minute walk of the Albert docks, the pubs and clubs in the cavern district and the Liverpool "one" shopping centre and only a minute or so walk from the Liverpool James street train station. The welcome on arrival was friendly and we were delighted with both the size and cleanliness of our room. The bathroom was extremely clean and well decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both found that we slept better than at home! There was minimal noise from outside but this did not in any way impact on our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and that you found your room comfortable. We are happy to hear you felt you received a friendly welcome on arrival; We try to offer the best level of service we can and appreciate this has been noted. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Heywood House Hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting Liverpool. It's very centrally situated, handy for both the waterfront and shopping. Our room, whilst small-ish, was cosy and although the bed was a touch on the hard side for my liking, we did get a good night's sleep. The shower room was very compact, but unfortunately was marred by a patch of damp/mould on the wall at the base of the shower door.
Breakfast, served in the Bank Bar & Brasserie next door, was very good.

The nearest parking is at the Q Park underground car park, about 10 minutes walk away. It costs £15 for24 hours, but with a voucher from the hotel this can be reduced to £9.50 (unfortunately the first voucher we were given didn't work, meaning we had to pay the full amount). There is also pay & display parking outside the hotel, which is free between 6.00pm and 8.00am.
The staff that we spoke to were friendly and helpful.
Although this is classed as a 4 star hotel, the patch of damp in the bathroom needs sorting out in order to justify the prices charged for a Saturday night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and that the Hotels location enabled you to enjoy what are city has to offer! We are sorry to hear the cleanliness of the shower door was not to our usual high standard. I have taken your comments on board and forwarded this to our Housekeeping team to address. Regarding Q Park if you choose to stay with us again please contact us if there are any issues and we can contact Q Park for you to ensure you receive the discount you are entitled to. Thank you for your positive comments regarding breakfast, I will forward this on to our restaurant team who will be happy to hear you enjoyed this. We hope we can welcome you to our Hotel again on your next trip to Liverpool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had a lovely stay here whilst visiting Liverpool. First of all, the location is perfect, could not be better for sightseeing and shopping. We wanted to do all the typical touristy things whilst in Liverpool and this was just the right place for us to shop and have lunch out, still close enough for a meal out at the docks and to stumble back from the Cavern Club after a few and a Beatles singalong! The outside and reception to the hotel are a great first impression, lovely decor and a warm welcome, all very informative and helpful for things such as breakfast and the parking discount that was highlighted in the email. You get up to 40% off parking at the Qpark which is the main Liverpool One parking and only a small stroll away and also well worth a visit. Only thing to mention, not a problem at all but just so people are aware when you get there you are asked for a £50 deposit for the room which never gets taken out of the account, only held, unless you damage the room. This isn't a big deal and shouldn't put people off but just a warning if you get there and are asked for it and panic, as I was confused because I've never been asked it before. It was probably in an email or something that I just didn't see! We went up to our room in the lift which opened up into a well decorated hallway, all with famous Liverpool landmark photos around which was a nice addition. Our room was impressive as soon as we opened the door, perfect size, lovely decor and everything you could need. Amenities such as hairdryer, ironing board, tea and coffee, television, iPod dock, air con/heating. Bathroom was just perfect, again decorated really nicely, very chic and everything perfectly clean and tidy. Lovely touches like the toiletries and how they where displayed and such a nice brand. Great nights sleep, comfy bed and quiet surroundings. Followed by a top notch breakfast in the morning at the restaurant. We had breakfast included in our stay so we got given the full menu to choose from, so many options, something for everyone. We had two full English breakfasts which includes the continental choice too with plenty of tea, coffee or juice. We checked out and took our bags back to the car, which if you are parking at the Qpark is perfect because then you've got a few more hours on the parking to get to the 24 hours with the discount. Otherwise I think you can keep your bags at reception if you've not travelled by car. All in all, we had a really lovely and comfortable stay and would definitely stay again if we are visiting Liverpool and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip to Liverpool and that the Hotels location enabled you to enjoy the sights of Liverpool! We try to offer the best level of service for all our guests and appreciate this has been noted in our team and that we could be of help during your time here. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us; We will forward your positive review on to the restaurant team. We appreciate your recommendation and will look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel on your next visit. A handy hint keep an eye on our special offers page for the latest deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We did only stay the one night and on a 'room only' basis but our bedroom (305) was very well appointed (bathroom was lovely too) and the bed was comfortable. We had opted for a room with a balcony and that was a plus to be able to sit outside as there wasn't a great deal of space in the room itself for two to move around. The bed is down steps to the lower level which is an attractive feature too although this won't necessarily be the case with other rooms which are no doubt more spacious too. Altogether a very well laid out hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank separateglances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on our Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your stay comfortable. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,379 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing