We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a groupon deal with my boyfriend, the hotel itself was lovely. Very nicely decorated, lovely staff especially the night man. I live in Liverpool and had never stayed at this hotel before, definitely wasnt disappointed, great idea of having discounted parking at L1 car park as with a late check out no one wants to have to get up early to make sure not to get a parking ticket from the street parking. We also had a meal in the restaurant next door at the noble house, again never been before and the food was lovely, the place itself was also very classy, would be nice to go to for a special occasion. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate your comments on our team members and will forward your comments on for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    482
    123
    27
    15
See reviews for
111
895
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location, room was very clean with excellent facilities, We would without doubt stay at this hotel again. Breakfast was excellent and the staff we encountered were very friendly and polite. The hotel made our trip enjoyable and one to remember. I would without hesitation recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay should you visit Liverpool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our Hotel! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we could be a part of making it enjoyable for you. We hope that we can welcome you back for hopefully another excellent stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Heywood House Hotel is a successful conversion from an old commercial building. It retains part of the old elegance, especially the staircase, and most of the bedrooms are spacious. Its location on a quiet side-street is perfect for easy walking access to the museums and heritage sites near Albert Dock, and the Western Approaches museum is just up the road. There is metered car parking across the road, with some disabled parking around the corner. There are several restaurants etc within a few minutes walk - Olive on Castle Street was a favourite of ours. The shopping & leisure complex of Liverpool One is 10 minutes walk away and the hotel has a voucher system to reduce the cost of parking there in the Q Carpark. Parking in central Liverpool is not cheap!

Our twin bed room was on the second floor, overlooking Fenwick Street with a lovely big window with a nice window-seat. It was warm and very quiet, and not troubled by any noise from the sinisterly-named pub next door (some rooms might be too close for comfort).

The hotel seems to have been expensively refurbished and the bedrooms are quite stylish. In some instances it is a triumph of style over common sense and practicality. The low-wattage light bulbs are encased in opaque black shades! We had some work to do in the evenings and even with two table lamps side-by-side on the dressing table it was impossible to read and work easily. Advice: if you have work to do, bring your own desk lamp with you! The lights are controlled by a multitude of interconnected switches. We eventually figured out which did what, though even the duty receptionist could not get the wall light to come on!

The bedroom and the en-suite bathroom were very nicely decorated and fitted out, and both kept very clean. There was a big TV screen, a radio (which we could not figure out how to turn on), a small security box inside the wardrobe, a telephone, iron & ironing-board, a hairdryer and the usual tea-making facilities. No refrigerator. The bedroom curtains were excellent and light-proof.

The bathroom was brightly lit - it was the only place where one could read easily by electric light! Again, the fittings were stylish, but seemed to lack detail thought. The only rail for part-used towels was inside the bath/shower enclosure, where they were likely to get accidentally wet. There were no hooks to hang things. The shower was good and powerful with a fairly constant temperature, but as the showerhead was fixed about 7 feet up, and only one disposable shower-cap provided, at least one member of a couple would have to have wet hair. Another surprising petty economy was that there was only one tablet of soap - which had to be shared between the basin and the bath/shower. However, a selection of shower gels & shampoos etc was provided, as well as a rubber duck.

A big problem for us, but which might not trouble others, is that we hate duvets and cannot sleep comfortably under them. I sent an email to the administration explaining this, and they confirmed that we could have sheets and blankets instead. When we arrived we found that our message had become garbled, and the duvets had been taken away, leaving only a sheet but no blanket. The receptionist did his best to find some for us, but could not - all that could be found was some additional sheets. So we slept under dry towels and overcoats, with a promise that blankets would be bought next day and provided. Alas, no blankets ever appeared, and we slept badly although the room was reasonably warm. We cannot understand how a hotel of this quality, with all the care given to smart decoration and fittings, cannot supply sheets AND blankets to guests who specially request them.

Room Tip: Bring extra lighting if you want to read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffywhitehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear you had some issues during your stay and there seemed to be some confusion regarding the bedding in your room. We do not actually have blankets in the Hotel so I am sorry you were misinformed about this. We either have sheets or a duvet for the rooms. Also as it is a listed building each room is completely different so we do have some brighter rooms available. If you do choose to stay with us again if you give us a call direct we can ensure you are in a brighter room or have extra table lighting. We hope these issues have not put you off choosing to stay with us again and that it didn’t affect your overall stay with us. If there is anything we can do to make our guests stay better we are more than happy to help. We will take all your comments on board moving forward and hope that we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pezenas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is in a good location within easy walking distance of the city centre shopping and the docks, close to the pierhead and not too far from Lime Street Station and the city buses. The building is interesting and in parts beautiful. But i do think that pink reception desk is a bit of a mistake and I would have appreciated some stronger lighting in the bedrooms. Generally, however, our rooms were very comfortable. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Our biggest complaint was instant coffee for Sunday morning breakfast. This lets down the style of the hotel and, while we had got a weekend? discount on the room, it is still too expensive for this kind of short changing of guests.

Room Tip: Not really worth paying the extra for a superior room. My daughter had a standard room and it was li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you found your room comfortable and that the location was ideal for you. As we are a listed building each room is different and some rooms are brighter than others. If you do choose to stay with us again just give us a call and we can make sure you are in a brighter room or supply extra lighting. We hope this hasn’t put you off from choosing to stay with us again and that we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exceptional value and is one of the best I have stayed in. The rooms are very spacious and had nice little touches, like iPod docking station, hot chocolate (instead of the usual tea and coffee), short bread biscuits, fancy little toiletries and a nice large flat screen tv with free wifi thrown in.
The whole place is spotlessly clean and the shower was a massive walk in one that was really powerful too.
The hotel itself is very central, 5mins walk to the Albert dock and the pier head and about 2mins walk to Liverpool one shopping centre and bars/restaurantes.
If you come to Liverpool then you need to stay here as you will not be dissapointed.
I would recommend to my friends and family and cannot rate high enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slincalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was ideal for you. We appreciate your recommendations and will look forward to seeing you at our Hotel again soon. A handy hint keep an eye on our special offers page for our latest deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to see the Beatles sights around Liverpool. The hotel was well designed and modern and the staff seemed friendly enough. The room was clean and the bed was also comfortable. Also, its central location made it perfect for our short visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millavinilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments; We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Liverpool and that you found our room clean and comfortable. We hope to see you at our Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

In Liverpool on a Wednesday and Thursday night for a concert, bit of site seeing (dock area etc) and some shopping - the Heywoood was excellent for what we were looking for, both in terms of its location and for the quality of the accommodation. Our room (104) was more than adequate, although not that large (eg wardrobe space a bit tight) - very clean though, good bathroom and shower. Our rate included breakfast and very enjoyable it was too. Well worth also eating at the hotel for your evening meal - and the 50% off makes it daft not to at least give it a go (we ate there both nights).

All staff we met were very helful and all local - apart from one breakfast waiter from Canada. Also, for a city centre hotel, this one was very quiet.

Room Tip: Our room (104) was at the front of the hotel but it was very quiet (Wednesday and Thursday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to take advantage of our offer in the restaurant! We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful during your stay and that the location was ideal for you. We hope to see you at our Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing