We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central location, quiet hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed two nights and the best thing about the hotel is probably the location - the dock areas, museums, restaurants and Liverpool One (large open air shopping mall), which was amazingly quiet compared to London. A very small hotel with the usual chain cafes nearby for breakfast - not for travellers who expect room service and other 4 star amenities. The connecting restaurant good with great cocktail bar as well - the owner also got us a table at the must visit Alma de Cuba bar/club which he also owns. Room was a good size with a great shower as most report. Overnight parking is at Q Park on the dockside, which is well lit, large and nearby - £28 for two nights. Lovely people in Liverpool as well.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Hotel. We are pleased to hear the location was ideal for all your sightseeing during your stay and that you enjoyed your time in Liverpool. A handy hint for next time the Hotel does offer room service each day from 12am until 9pm.We hopes to see you at our Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    471
    120
    28
    15
See reviews for
108
881
47
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In many ways this is an excellent hotel- the location is fantastic, it is well appointed with good quality modern facilities and the staff are very friendly.
However our room was small and over heated and the hotel does not have the facilities to be a top class hotel- no seated area downstairs and the restaurant is a separate business next door.
Therefore breakfast could only be served at times suitable for the restaurant ie after 9am at the weekend. An early breakfast - a normal requirement of any hotel - proved impossible. On the second day when we did have breakfast it was not of a standard either to reflect the hotel or to reflect a high quality restaurant.
I assume that room service would not be on offer either.
For the price charged this was poor value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAnnie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you were impressed with the level of service from our team members and that the location was ideal for your needs. We are disappointed to hear the room was not as you would have hoped. We hope this hasn’t put you off choosing to stay with us again so we can improve your opinion on our Hotel next time. Please give our team a call in advance so we can ensure you are in a more spacious room, With it being a listed building each room is a different shape and size. A handy hint you can also control the heating yourself in the room on a control panel, our team would be happy to assist you if you had any problems with the temperature. I will forward your comments on to the Noble House for you regarding the breakfast service. We hope to see you at our Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My second time here and it was great. A central city location good for shopping and nightlife, 10 mins walk from Lime Street station. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, free fast wifi, the bed was very comfy and the shower was the best I have had in any hotel yet; really powerful.

Front of house staff were very efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

The restaurant next door, Noble House, does great food for room service and breakfast and has a good wine list and wifi too.

I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: i was at the rear last time and the front this time; both rooms very quiet. No noise at all from ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for all your positive comments on our Hotel! We are delighted to hear you decided to come and stay here a second time and it was just as enjoyable for you. We appreciate your lovely comments on our staff, We aim to offer the best service we can and appreciate this has been noted. We look forward to seeing you at our Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stopped here in march on business,the hotel was splendid,the room was spotless and very comfortable,I enquired about eating in the restaurant next door(the noble house)The receptionist telephoned our room and offered us fifty per cent off food in the restaurant.....the food was superb. i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Liverpool.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist for discount at The Noble House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DewsburyGordonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in our Hotel and at the Noble House; We will forward your positive comments on to their team for you. We hope to see you at our Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. As we got married in Liverpool and lived there for years, we love to return every year to celebrate and enjoy the city again. We decided this year to branch away from the hotel we got married in and try somewhere new that was a bit cheaper, and I'm sorry to say we regretted it. We have never had a negative stay in any hotel before, so I'm very sad to have to leave a bad review.

Although our room and the hotel was beautiful, and in a fabulous location, it certainly did not meet the standards promised. Our room was absolutely freezing all night despite having had the heating on full-blast all evening. The bed had no duvet, rather a ridiculously thin quilt that looked like someone had forgotten to put a cover on. We were totally frozen as it was below freezing outside and had to request a duvet, which came with no cover on. Wifi refused to work on any of our devices.

Worst of all was the truly awful constant hissing, clanging and high-pitched squealing that came from the pipes over the door. This was not from the heating/air-con unit (which we had switched off as it was totally useless) and did not stop, even for a minute, all day and night. This was torture as we were totally exhausted and just wanted a peaceful night's rest, especially seeing as I'm pregnant. On speaking to reception about it, we were told that they don't normally have any complaints about that room because it has a nice bath?! Yes, the bath was quite pretty I suppose, but we really didn't give a damn about the bath when we just wanted to sleep and were gobsmacked that that was the response! My hubby was made to feel we were an inconvenience for even telling them so we decided just to leave it and get out in the morning. I had to wear ear plugs all night just to keep my sanity, and neither of us slept.

In the morning we just got up and left, neither of us having the energy to complain to reception on check-out. We didn't bother with breakfast as are both vegetarians and saw a poor review from a previous person who had stayed. We were so tired we ended up just driving home rather than spending the day out together as we had planned.

I'm sorry to say no amount of persuasion would make us return and I would not recommend the hotel, despite other positive reviews in here. Our anniversary was somewhat ruined. Next time we will stick to our trusted option, where the service is always spectacular and the bath much nicer anyway...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycatcher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

given the many positive reviews. The Reception staff were very helpful, especially as I had omitted to bring my Wowcher voucher. The hotel corridors smelt very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Some minor gripes though :- The heating controls are in a less well-illuminated part of the room, so reading the symbols was a problem ( there is a note to say contact Reception if any problems but clearer instructions would be more helpful) and we didn't seem to get it working properly because of this. We paid an extra £20 for a plush room but we were disappointed at its size and the lack of natural light.. Toiletries were good but very difficult to squeeze from the bottles. I was surprised a bathmat was not provided as standard ( again contact Reception ). I had difficulty getting out of the bath because it was so slippery.

If there was an option for 3 and a half stars, i would have used it in this instance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, We are pleased to hear you found your room comfortable and that you found our Reception Team helpful during your stay. We are disappointed to hear your room was not as you would have hoped. As this is a listed building each room is different to one another. If you wish to stay with us in the future just give the Reception Team a call in advance so we can ensure you are in a more spacious brighter room and have everything you require prior to arrival. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from short break in the Heywood House Hotel & it was fab. Central location was great enabled us to do everything we wanted to do, Staff were very friendly & helpful we will definitely return again. Room although small was well furnished & comfortable, a cracking little find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fididlydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and that the location was ideal for all your sightseeing. We hope to see you at our Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing