We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heywood House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked online for a few days away with my girlfriend which was a smooth process. What a great hotel in the centre of liverpool within a 5-10 minute walk of all the tourist attractions / restaurants / bars etc. The staff including the reception team and the night porters were first rate, very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for them. The rooms were very comfortable and the shower brilliant. Excellent value for money overall. 40% discount on parking at the 24 hour secure parking was also a bonus. Many thanks for a lovely stay. Alex H

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ah0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for all your positive comments, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time within our Hotel and the location was ideal for your needs, We appreciated your comments on our team members as this is something we aim to achieve, We hope to see you at our Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    350
    79
    19
    12
See reviews for
60
634
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my second overnight stay in Liverpool and my first time at this particular hotel.

The check-in experience was fine, the member of staff on the reception desk was OK, not the friendliest and she left us at the check-in once we had all the keys, etc and went back to our office. It would have been nicer for the staff to wait for us to leave the reception area before going away.

Our invoice was printed on the back of another recent invoice so we could see what another person purchased from the hotel - not great from a data protection standpoint!

The room was fine and had all of the amenities, the sink tap was very difficult to use and caused a lot of splash-back..

Overall an ok experience, would not rush back there if I need another stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satyrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience whilst staying at our Hotel. We have taken all of your comments on board and will ensure this does not happen again.
When you are next in Liverpool we hope you would try us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a more positive view of the hotel and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We got a great deal through the hotel's website. Keep poking around their site for different packages and deals. We paid 55 pounds per night mid-week (late November) and then booked a 2 course dinner for 20 pounds per person (which was good, not great).

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The shower had the rare distinction of having a proper shower that doesn't soak the bathroom floor.

We found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful.

James Street station is just a minute away, and Liverpool 1 is just a couple of blocks down. We walked to everything from here: The Walker Art Gallery, the Albert Dock, Liverpool Cathedral. And despite the central location the room was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased to hear you found our Hotel clean and comfortable and that the location was ideal for your needs, We appreciate your comments on our team members as this is something we aim to achieve, Keep an eye on our latest offers in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

On business in Liverpool, and had recently spent 3 weeks here. The hotel is a small, a boutique style hotel with (I believe) around 39 rooms. It is located in a very convenient location, between the Cavern shops, Liverpool One shops, and the waterfront.
The hotel is clean and pretty new, as it doesn't yet show up on Google maps street view. The staff is very friendly, and make you feel at home. If rooms are available, I will definitely consider staying here again on my next visit to Liverpool. Thank you! - Terry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in our Hotel and that you felt at home here, It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with this hotel, it just didn't bowl me over. We had a Sunday night deal, so paid £89 for the room without breakfast. So that was great value for money in such a fantastic location. But I really wouldn't have wanted to pay any more. The hotel is a converted bank but I got no sense of the former grandeur of the building or of the former incarnation of the building in any way. They had simply crammed as many rooms as possible into the shell.
Maybe some of the rooms were better, but ours was dark and had only subdued lighting. Little details would have made a difference, such as a mirror next to a socket to plug the hairdryer into. There was a nice full length mirror on the door to the bathroom but the lighting was too poor to use it for make up and the bathroom mirror was set too far back. So a simple make-up/shaving mirror would have helped. One tiny shower gel for two people is stingy. A shame to skimp on tiny details like that. On the positive side, the shower was fabulous, the teamaking facility was good, and there was an iron and ironboard in the wardrobe.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
So overall, I would recommend it if you get a good deal, but not for the full price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_C_HenYsgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear you was not completely happy with your room, We will take all of your comments on board and see how we can improve, We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and the location was ideal for your needs. We hope to see you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Have recently stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time, and have to say for the money I can't fault it!

It's in a great location. You just walk out of the hotel and you've got pubs and restaurants. Try Restaurant Bar and Grill across the road on Brunswick. It's great food and service. The hotel is also within a close walking distance to Liverpool One, the main shopping area. It's also close to the Docks.

The rooms are lovely. Modern/contemporary, lovely bathrooms, a bit on the small side but not a problem. It's got all the usual stuff you'd expect: nice bathroom products, tea/coffee making facility, safe, ironing board etc.

The staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful, especially Laura.

Breakfast, which wasn't included in our price of £75, is offered at the adjoining bar/restaurant Noble House, which is good.

Overall, I really like this hotel, it's great value for money, and will keep going back when I visit Liverpool.

Room Tip: Try and get. Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpeakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments, We are very pleased to hear you found out Hotel modern and that it had all the facilities you need, Thank you for your comments on one of our team members we try are best to offer the best possible service and we appreciate this was noted, We look forward to seeing you at our Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
319 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Two day midweek stay on our first ever visit to Liverpool on a room-only basis. Having just spent £75-£80 per night in London for a small room with shared facilities for one, it was a treat to have such comparative luxury at a similar price for two. The central location couldn't have been better - shops, ferries and many atttractions - with free disabled parking virtually outside the front door it was much better than we were expecting. The central heating was having trouble competing with the freezing conditions, but we got an electric heater to make up. Decent internet connection and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you have a "blue-badge", you can park for the duration of the stay on the street outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and the location was ideal for your needs, We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 3,215 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hope Street Hotel
#12 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#1 of 100 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing