We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and a great location.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Liverpool and we loved every minute of it. The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you could expect. The hotel was easy to get to being very close to James Street Station. The Hotel is well positioned for short walks to all the attractions of Albert Dock, Mersey Ferry, The Cavern Club, Liverpool Museum, Maritime Museum and The Beatles Story. Our room booking did not include breakfast so we opted to eat in Fenwicks Cafe which was next door and very popular.
I would highly recommend Liverpool and this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for your positive review, were glad you found our hotel comfortable and accessible to all local attractions. We hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    488
    128
    27
    15
See reviews for
115
914
48
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is a hidden jewel!

Discovered it when I stayed in Liverpool last Dec for a job interview. Could not have been happier with my choice. (Got the job too!)

The 1st room they put me in looked gorgeous and was spotless. Everything about it was high quality. The furnishings were beautiful, very elegant.

The only problem I had was a draught coming in the window which was needing some attention. It was late & I was tired & unpacked, so just mentioned to reception the next day and they switched us to another room as soon as they could.

If you're looking for a cracking hotel base from which to explore the fabulous city of Liverpool look no further...and don't forget to check out all the Lambananas all over the city!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charismacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, were very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments regarding the draft from the window and our maintenance team have fixed this problem. We hope you stay with us again in the near future. PS Congratulations on getting your job, maybe our hotel brought you luck?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in room 303 in July and it had a distinctive smell about it.I will only pay the discounted price for this hotel. Although, location wise this hotel is great and staff really do work hard to provide the best for customers. I also found that in this room the windows were very flimsy and one of the handles of the windows was almost broken. The reception is small, and breakfast is provided by the next door restaurant called Nobel house. Heywood house have a very useful folder in the room which tells u every thing about the nearby attractions. Also the taxi service used by the hotel is very prompt so I was impressed by that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hi were sorry to hear about your experience during your stay, we have taken on board all your comments and put them forward to our maintenance team who will deal with the matter. However were glad you found our staff helpful and hope that you try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I booked a Comfy room, but was upgraded to a Plush room, meaning i had complimentary water and robes. The receptionists were very pleasant and helpful, check in was swift and easy.
The room was very clean and has everything you could possibly need.
I was on the second floor at the front of the hotel, but never heard any noise from the road below. The location of the hotel is perfect for getting to the attractions on the docks, or the main shopping centre. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us. We aim to give the highest possible standards and to make all our guests feel comfortable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We decided, after much deliberation to go to the Heywood house for our 'Honeymoon.' Ok, it's not our proper honeymoon, but I was due in for surgery on Tuesday in a hospital in Liverpool, we'd got married on Saturday and I knew I would be on bedrest after the surgery, so we left for our hotel on Monday and had a night there before surgery and a night after surgery. I chose a "4 star" hotel because it's our honeymoon and I wanted it to be special. I paid extra for a "Plush" room and told them it was my honeymoon.

Well I was sorely disappointed. By no stretch of the imagination is this hotel a 4 star, 3 star maybe, and for a 3 star I would be happy, but I wanted something special.

Firstly, we arrived and were sent to our room. My first thought was, small, dark, stuffy, and not that nice. In about 5 minutes I began to notice more and more problems, the peeling paintwork, the water stains on the bathroom walls, the strange duct tape on the bathroom door (?) so I lifted back the bedsheet and wished I hadn't. I found pubic hair and weird brown/red stains on the sheet. Even the carpet was stained. Enough was enough, My husband called down to reception and told them all the problems.

To be fair they did say they'd move us. But they ignored us for over an hour, while we sat and waited in their grubby little room. Eventually my husband went down to reception because he had to move the car, there is no car park, we parked outside and paid for an hour and he had to move it. The receptionist called up saying she was coming up to move us, she "claimed" the hotel was full...in total we saw about 4 people in the entire hotel the entire time we stayed there. Eventually she came and we moved down the corridor to room 211.

Room 211. Was it the lovely plush 4 star hotel that we wanted? No! But at least the sheets were clean, I know because I examined them. Apart from all the rips on the sheet and cover, it was at least clean. The paintwork left a lot to be desired though and the carpet looked old and worn. The window was tiny and wouldn't open, the room was stuffy and small and I wasn't happy with it at all. For the price it was "ok" but not that it claimed to be 4 star. I wanted something special! And 4 star "sounds" special. Don't be fooled.

And if that is a "Plush" room I dread to think what a normal room looked like. Most amusing was the teeny tiny chair. I sat down in in and found myself very squashed. Granted I am a curvier lady, BUT I'm not HUGE, that chair was ridiculous, my husband tried it and got stuck. He hobbled around the room with the chair attached to him! Who was that chair made for? Children? Supermodels? Child supermodels?

One good point, because I'm fair, is the shower. Loved it. It was very nice and powerful, easy to control and I could've stayed there forever exalting in the lovely power shower.

I can't comment on the food though, we didn't eat there. We ate down the room at the Olive Press, which was fantastic and after surgery when I couldn't go out, my husband asked them to prepare a takeaway hummus and some calamari for me and they did it. I was very impressed with them.

Overall though, the Heywood House was too claustrophobic in those little rooms, with tiny windows and I had to use the air con to keep cool, which I don't like. It is a good price, but it's not 4 star! And at the very least, it should be clean. And it certainly wasn't. I wanted something special, but this was less than average in my view. I still keep seeing the image of the horrible pubic hair and stain. Yuck.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room to get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed here in April. We had a warm welcome and took the lift up to our room. It was gorgeous. The decor was lovely, very luxurious. Comfy beds, good bedlinen, great bathroom and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The reception is small but has all the usual helpful leaflets showing you what's on round and about. We had breakfast in the restaurant which is through a door into the next door building. It was fantastic. We had the 'full english'.. Waiter was friendly and food faultless. The menu for lunch and evening looked good too. It was called Noble House I think.

The location is great. Very near the river Mersey if you go one way, and just round the corner from Liverpool 1 and all the shops the other way. Easy to walk to Albert Docks and Echo Arena.
There were several good restaurants on the doorstep.

A great find in Liverpool. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cass2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for you lovely comments were very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel luxurious. We aim to give the highest standard. We would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Got an excellent deal on this hotel from Alpha rooms and was pleased with our choice. Check in was quick, our room was on the first floor, facing onto Fenwick Street, room was a standard room, bed was a double, but comfortable, extra pillows was provided and the air conditioning worked fine. We never used the hotel restaurant so can’t comment on food, we used the café next door for breakfast, which was ok. The hotel is in an ideal location for shops, nightlife and visiting the museums. James Street train station is less than 1 minute away, for services to Chester and the Wirral. Staff we had contact with was all pleasant and helpful. Room was serviced each day to a good standard and overhaul very quiet hotel in a good location. One complaint is when I phoned up a week before our arrival to confirm our booking, I was told we had been allocated a nice room with a balcony, sorry to say we was never got that room, we had a busy few days going to a gig in Manchester and Chester races we never bothered to mention it, but for that oversight, I might have given this hotel full marks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,380 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,382 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing