We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel on 7th October 2011. The room I stayed in was brilliant, it was really big, really high ceilings, massive window, comfy double bed, there was a large TV mounted on the wall and the bathroom was clean and modern. There was plenty of clean towels for us. The hotel staff were also very friendly. The hotel is located right by James Street train station (literally a 2min walk), and is very close to the city centre (less than a 10min walk).

Only fault (this coming from my partner) was that the lighting wasn't excellent in the room when trying to put her make up on....obviously not a major fault with the room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

Hotel ideally situated in the centre of Liverpool ideal for exploring the city. Stones throw away from Liverpool One and Albert Docks. Hotel decor was very stylish and plush, even down to the scented loo roll!! We were lucky to be upgraded to a superior suite with a balcony - result. We didnt eat at the hotel because there is so much choice within the centre even though the menu looked very tempting.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone........

Room Tip: Keep a look out for 2-4-1 night offers and free room upgrades to top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simcherxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is fab! High quality finish and facilities with very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is lovely and breakfasts were excellent. Centrally located near to the new Museum, Albert Dock and Liverpool One - parking available at Q Park with a discount voucher from Reception.

Room Tip: As it's city centre hotel there is a chance that you will get some road noise at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue200045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed one night for husbands 65th birthday and retirement. Arrived early to leave overnight bag and was told by excellent receptionist that room was ready. Booked "comfy" room which was beautifully decorated and presented. Room had large en-suite with double size shower and free-standing roll top bath. Towels were soft and bedding of good quality. A bottle of wine was in room as it was husbands birthday which was an excellent touch. Position of hotel was perfect being central for shopping, docks area, restaurants and bars. Will definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Booked "comfy" room. 109 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan_wilcockson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Lovely hotel with a good location, friendly staff and good rooms. We stayed in a plush room and found the bed, towels, bedding and gowns all to be of an excellent standard. The rooms aren't huge but the bathroom was a fair size with good toiletries and a nice bath. Ac was quiet and the rooms were generally quiet, though being bang in the city centre you do get some noise. Only real problem was check-out. 11 is a little early for a Sunday morning and nobody actually told us checkout was then. When we asked to checkout at 12.30 we were told that would cost a tenner and it wasn't put over in a particularly friendlyt way. Was a slightly sour end to the experience but would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a twin room on the third floor. Breakfast and dinner were included in one of our bookings.

The room:
Very nicely decorated. Just enough space. The duvets and pillows were better (softer, more comfy) than in any other English hotel I've stayed in, but the beds were average. The shower was excellent! There were three chairs available in the room which was very handy (compared to some other hotels which only have 1 chair). Two of the chairs were a bit tiny though, so no room for a huge butt :P Cleanliness was good, except the fact that they hadnt cleaned under the beds for quite some time it seemed. We were in a twin room, but the beds were placed right next to each other. So we had to move them a bit to get some space between us. And as we moved the beds, that was when the dirt appeared. I can see how moving the beds every time u clean a room is a lot of work, but in a twin room they should expect that the guests most likely will move the beds.. so they should place the beds further apart and have them stay like that all the time so that it makes it easier for the cleaners to do their job.

Room service:
Fyi, we didnt order any food. This is just to say that I'm not pleased about the cleaning/tidying that was done after our first night (compared to what we're used to). They didnt change our used glasses and cups, and they didnt throw out the shopping bags we had left next to the bin. Neither did they refill the toilet paper (only one roll left), so we had to go down to the reception to ask for more.

Location:
Excellent! A 2 minute walk from Liverpool One (shopping), Matthew Street (bars) and Tesco (groceries). Also a 7 minute walk from Albert Dock.

Reception:
Very friendly staff!!! First class! The only negative thing here was the smell of pee in the reception area and the hallway next to the elevator. Dunno where it came from, but probably from the back alley or something. It was really stinging and unpleasant.

Breakfast and dinner:
Not impressed. The restaurant where they served it called The Noble House was very cosy and looked stylish. The waitresses were very polite and poured wine in a classy manner :P The food looked classy too, but most dishes tasted average. I had a soup as a starter which was the best dish. Very tasty. But the two other dishes we had for dinner and breakfast were really more of a treat for our eyes than for our taste buds! In addition I got a glass with lipstick marks on both occasions (for dinner and breakfast), and two of the forks at dinner were not properly cleaned.

Value:
I dont think we got what we paid for compared to what one can get for half the price in Liverpool city centre. I will only stay here again if our favourite hotel is fully booked and the Heywood House is one of the better options left.

Conclusion:
I am torn between wanting to rate it as average (since I dont think it's worth the money) and feeling that I have to rate it as very good (due to the location, the appearance of the hotel in itself and the friendly staff)...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iselinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Wife and I stayed for a couple of nights on our way to the Isle of Man, in one of their basic ("comfy") double rooms. The room was spacious,well appointed and tastefully decorated. It appeared to be newly refitted with some slight snagging problems still to be addressed (e.g. drawer handles not well attached). The bed was supremely comfortable.We had expected a good "budget" hotel and yet the reception and room gave the impression of much greater comfort and even luxury than we had expected. Location is within easy walking distance of everything, especially the Albert Dock and main shopping areas. The 2 cathedrals and Hope Street (and the unmissable Philharmonic pub / dining rooms) are a slight trek. The reception staff were helpful in all sorts of ways, including looking after our baggage for half a day after we had checked out and before our sailling.

The Noble House restaurant seemed to be semi-detached from the hotel in more than architecture. It has an entrance direct from hotel reception and another from the street. For evening meals it was absolutely first class, and obviously very popular with locals. Worth booking a table to be sure of getting one. Dining was elegant and relaxed, food was exquisite, with loats of wondeerful flavours and textures and contrasts in even those dishes which from the menu sounded simple.

The only area of improvement I would suggest was the breakfast. This seemed to be served in a similar style and pace to evening meals, with waiter service rather than a buffet, and it was unclear to us exactly what was included in the £11 we had paid for the full breakfast; we were given a menu which seemed to be aimed at the passing trade rather than residents. It was unclear whether any cereals were on offer. That said, the breakfast itself, when served, was again first class.

If we have reason to visit Liverpool again, we'll definitely try to book here again. (We were travelling without a car; the location is great both for trains and ferries; not sure how easy this location would be with one).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,264 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,509 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,918 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: $62 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing