We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Well l satayed here in march 2011 with my bf as it was my 21st during our stay !!
Lots to do in liverpool and fantastic location 2 mins away from the docks and the liverpool one shopping centre !! The hotel itself is lovely clean and tidy spacious rooms and lovely decor !! Only thing l would say is the shower could have been warmer as the water was only luke warm !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet9083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    488
    127
    27
    15
See reviews for
114
912
48
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

stayed here for one night on a great £60 rate for a plush double. Room compact but really nicely furnished. Bathroom with shower and bath and decent toiletries. Hotel in great location, near really good restaurants and bars but in a quieter part of the city centre, away from most hen and stag dos! Friendly staff, excellent breakfast in adjoining restaurant (not included). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We have stayed here twice. The first time was terrible as our 2nd floor room was at the back of the hotel and our sleep was disturbed by a really noisy generator on the building opposite. The air-conditioning was also poor as it could not be turned off and produced an annoying rattle/squeak for the whole of our stay. Reception was sympathetic but could not move us as the hotel was fully booked.

On checking out, we were surprised and pleased to be handed a letter from the manager offering us a free stay in a deluxe room with a complimentary breakfast. A nice gesture which was very much appreciated as we knew we would be visiting Liverpool again within a couple of months.

The deluxe room was much, much better on our second visit and had a lovely bathroom with large freestanding tub. However, once again, the hotel was let down by its air-conditioning. The room was freezing and, despite reception telling what us to do, nothing could persuade the air-conditioning unit to fire up and get some warmth in the room (which in January was not ideal). It was pretty clear on both our visits that reception knew about the air-conditioning problems which meant that, no matter how pleasantly they dealt with our enquiries, there was never any chance things would be put right.

We also suffered from noise disturbance from the bar/restaurant below, mainly because the speakers are fixed to the corner of the wall and the ceiling and the bass easily comes up through the floor of the room if, as we were, you are in a room on the second floor at that end of the hotel.

Nice location and staff, pleasant decor but fails to impress for the above reasons.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sancho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, very nice receptionist, I was surprised that you had to use keycard to get to different floors.
Entered room which was freezing cold, paid for a plush room, no bathrobes! Would have though if room was going to be used they would have at least had it warm. The public areas were very warm.
Went to reception where the young lady explained the heating controls and said it would take about 30 minutes to warm up. When asked if we could have our bathrobes she explained they didn't have enough. Had paid extra for this facility as advertised for a plush room.
The room was nothing like the website with a balcony and big shower etc.
Heating did not work for th whole of our stay, the only room left was a comfy room which we didn't have time to move to as we were due out, the receptionist did say if we moved she would refund the difference in price.
Tea and coffee tray had not been checked as there was only decaffinated coffee.
When we arrived back after midnight very nice night porter let us in and explained he had had a problem from the bar next door with people using the hotel from and window as a toilet, and had already called the police once, whilst he was lovely not what you want to hear about the area you are staying in.
The bar and restaurant attached were lovely and we enjoyed a dring in there.
All in all this is the first time from using a hotel found on trip advisor that we have been disappointed this maybe a reasonable price for a room but not if it does not deliver that which is advertised.
We did not get a refund for the difference for no bathrobes or heating.
Wouls not go again as once bitten twice shy.
Having said all that, well done to the lovely lady on reception she tried all she could to help.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDKlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Very impressed and will return. Elegant styling throughout, carpeted rooms, plush furnishing and king size comfortable beds. We stayed one night, arrived at 11am and asked if we could drop our bags somewhere and were advised that our room was ready. This is a small hotel located close to the Cavern Quarter and City Centre. The staff were excellent and couldn't have done enough for us. Rooms are large, tea/coffee facilities, iron, ironing board, tv. free wifi, his and her sinks, fabulous power shower. We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant attached looked very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayenne, French Guiana
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located in Liverpool city center, just a few minutes walking from the city main shopping area, where also famous Mathew Street of The Beatles is located. Rooms are modern and clean and receptionists are friendly. The hotel is small and there is no sitting area at the reception, but room prices are good. There are a few shops in front of the hotel entrance, including a very good family-owned Korean style take-away restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My wife-to-be and I stayed here for one night for a little getaway from work and we were charmed by this little place. We booked through lastminute.com so weren't expecting an amazing room, but it was fabulous! We had a free standing bath and the shower was huge, with a gorgeous bedroom to match.
The only time we spent in the hotel was for sleeping/washing purposes so unfortunately we cannot comment on the staff, but overall we were very happy with the room!
Liverpool is a great city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,378 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing