We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not match up to the pictures and write up on trip advisor or website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Did not match up to the pictures and write up on trip advisor or website”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, very nice receptionist, I was surprised that you had to use keycard to get to different floors.
Entered room which was freezing cold, paid for a plush room, no bathrobes! Would have though if room was going to be used they would have at least had it warm. The public areas were very warm.
Went to reception where the young lady explained the heating controls and said it would take about 30 minutes to warm up. When asked if we could have our bathrobes she explained they didn't have enough. Had paid extra for this facility as advertised for a plush room.
The room was nothing like the website with a balcony and big shower etc.
Heating did not work for th whole of our stay, the only room left was a comfy room which we didn't have time to move to as we were due out, the receptionist did say if we moved she would refund the difference in price.
Tea and coffee tray had not been checked as there was only decaffinated coffee.
When we arrived back after midnight very nice night porter let us in and explained he had had a problem from the bar next door with people using the hotel from and window as a toilet, and had already called the police once, whilst he was lovely not what you want to hear about the area you are staying in.
The bar and restaurant attached were lovely and we enjoyed a dring in there.
All in all this is the first time from using a hotel found on trip advisor that we have been disappointed this maybe a reasonable price for a room but not if it does not deliver that which is advertised.
We did not get a refund for the difference for no bathrobes or heating.
Wouls not go again as once bitten twice shy.
Having said all that, well done to the lovely lady on reception she tried all she could to help.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDKlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    461
    117
    27
    14
See reviews for
106
861
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Very impressed and will return. Elegant styling throughout, carpeted rooms, plush furnishing and king size comfortable beds. We stayed one night, arrived at 11am and asked if we could drop our bags somewhere and were advised that our room was ready. This is a small hotel located close to the Cavern Quarter and City Centre. The staff were excellent and couldn't have done enough for us. Rooms are large, tea/coffee facilities, iron, ironing board, tv. free wifi, his and her sinks, fabulous power shower. We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant attached looked very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayenne, French Guiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located in Liverpool city center, just a few minutes walking from the city main shopping area, where also famous Mathew Street of The Beatles is located. Rooms are modern and clean and receptionists are friendly. The hotel is small and there is no sitting area at the reception, but room prices are good. There are a few shops in front of the hotel entrance, including a very good family-owned Korean style take-away restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

My wife-to-be and I stayed here for one night for a little getaway from work and we were charmed by this little place. We booked through lastminute.com so weren't expecting an amazing room, but it was fabulous! We had a free standing bath and the shower was huge, with a gorgeous bedroom to match.
The only time we spent in the hotel was for sleeping/washing purposes so unfortunately we cannot comment on the staff, but overall we were very happy with the room!
Liverpool is a great city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I loved this hotel. The rooms were beautiful and far nicer than I expected for the price. The staff were really nice too. I wish I could have stayed longer than a day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RattiganOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertslund, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Was very disappointed because the room in no way looked as their website .... had otherwise ordered Plush Twin Room, to get a little comfort, but it was just a small dark room, with bathrobe .....
Good service at the reception, when we not could get the internet to work.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael1207779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I always read the reviews of hotels I would like to book in Trip Adviser before booking and I was pleased to see all of the positive reviews for this this hotel. So I booked if for a 2 night stay starting 31st October 2010 (Halloween Night), this really turned out to be a night from hell. We were in room 101 right adjacent to the bar next door, the bass drum and bass guitar music from the live group playing there vibrated through the walls and floors until the early hours of the night. So my advice is if you want to stay in Liverpool at the weekend (Friday, Saturday and Sunday) and are not going clubing to the early hours of the morning choose another hotel of which there are many located just as conveniently as this one

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing