We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lunya Liverpool

Lunya Liverpool
Ranked #30 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: College Lane is handy for all City Centre bus stops, being just minutes from the main bus station, and just a few minutes walk away from Liverpool Central and all other Merseyrail city centre stations.
Description: Lunya is the UK's only Catalonian fusion restaurant and deli, bringing you the very best from Catalonia in the North East of Spain, and other Spanish regions, and from carefully selected artisan producers in the North West of England and throughout the UK. We have a range of exquisite tapas and a la carte meals, with everything made fresh in our kitchen from the very best ingredients. We are open for breakfast and lunch, serving a unique range of traditional and innovative meals and snacks. We pride ourselves in the very high quality of our ingredients and that we make everything ourselves with our very talented team. We have a wood fired brick oven in which we bake our own sourdough bread every day. In addition to fabulous food, we strive to provide exceptional service. You can be sure to leave Lunya knowing that you have been really taken care of and wanting to return. Exceptional food, cooking and service. PS. We deliver breakfast boxes, deli boxes and hampers.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I like a nice bit of ham and Lunya does ham very well - there off the bones, fennel salami, rosemary manchego - absolute heaven.
and the wine - well chosen, a little pricey but well worth it.
The staff are also very friendly

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    679
    206
    90
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night after being at the races. I was quite excited as I really like tapas but I was so disappointed.

You go into a lovely deli/shop which had loads of great things to buy and the smell of the restaurant was amazing.

Unfortunately that's where the good stuff ends. The food took a while to arrive and came, as expected, at different times. But from the first dish arriving it was over a period of 30-40mins before the last dish came to the table meaning we had completely eaten most things and were waiting for the next dish to arrive.

Nothing was good or very memorable apart from the garlic bread. We tried everything, meat, fish, vegetables, cheese, omelette but was thoroughly disappointed with the lack of flavour and overpowering salt content.

There were a few good staff that just got on with their job. But there was one woman who I assume was the manager (only as she was dressed differently and wore a scarf) who was so miserable and made us feel as if it was an inconvenience to be there.

There were 12 of us and we spent in excess of £500 and left a 10% tip due to politeness and some of our party enjoying the meal. Unfortunately I didn't think the meal was worthy of the price or the tip left.

Wouldn't go back as it wast any better than bigger tapas chains , which I wouldn't visit anyway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate at Lunya with a group,of friends last week. The staff were very friendly and helpful with choosing the wine and the different kinds of tapas. The atmosphere was great, with Spanish music and brightly coloured pieces of art everywhere. Also really liked the delicatessen and the opportunity to buy pasta, oils, sauces, etc

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 17AngelaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't even eat, walked out!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The service was so terrible that we walked out without even eating because we were waiting for 20 minutes to be asked our drink orders and given a menu! Even when catching the waiting on staff's eyes they chose to ignore us even after 20 minutes so we left. Won't be going back again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sub8swimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - our favourite restaurant in Liverpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fabulous authentic food. ExceLlent atmosphere and service the best. Not your normal run of the mill tapas restaurant - a whole new dining experience with the added extra of the deli to carry on the experience at home. Peter and his wonderful staff make you feel very welcome and are wholly responsible for the demise of my diet. Muy bueno

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blueshallcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunya Liverpool also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Lunya Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing