We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton by Hilton for 5 days and have nothing but positive comments. From the second we checked in, staff were helpful and friendly, our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and impeccably clean and the breakfast each morning was just superb. The contemporary pictures of Liverpool in the rooms are a lovely touch.

The hotel's location is excellent - just five minutes' walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of the Liverpool One and the Albert Dock. You couldn't ask for a better location.

The secure undercover car parking is an added bonus - you can never be too careful with a hire car, and we felt that the peace of mind was worth the additional fee.

We got a promotional rate direct from the hotel's website (cheaper rate than other hotel booking websites were offering) and found this hotel to be excellent value for money.

We visit Liverpool regularly so can say without a shadow of doubt that we'll stay here in future.

Room Tip: Without even asking, we were given a room with a view over the Albert Dock, Echo Arena & Wheel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingedfaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

nicely located for the docks,liverpool1,ect
easy wallk to cathedral,
only 10mins to the cavern club (free entry wed night with live music),
selfservice breakfast
only noticed when we where leaving grubby pub nextdoor looked asif its brewing its own beer .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLDMAN1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We often stay in the Hampton Inn in the U.S. as they are quite uniform so you know what you are getting. We booked this based on the VERY low rate (about 42 GBP/night for three nights) and were very pleased. The location was great...just a few minutes' walk to the Albert Docks and about the same to downtown. We parked in the garage (8.50/day) and walked everywhere. The room was goodsized, clean and modern. The breakfast was fine. The staff were professional and pleasant. The lobby area/breakfast area was modern. Some of the carpets in the corridors were stained. The bathroom door set up was unusual. The bathroom door was frosted glass. You couldn't see through the door but at night, if you turned on the bathroom light it lit up the whole room which would be fine if you were alone but if someone else is sleeping it tends to be a nuissance. Also, this glass door slides rather than opens on hinges so it was a bit loud. Other than that, I have no complaints. The rate was so low, that I was a bit concerned that it would be a dodgy room but I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay here again. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and I slept very well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel itself is in a prime location, 5 minute walk into the commercial centre of liverpool, and 5 mins from the dock. Besides a small commercial centre with shops and mcdonals etc.

Hotel inside is lovely, although a grubby pub next door, shadows an otherwise effortless finish.

The rooms are great, for the price too, its fantastic value.

Only gripe with hotel, staff are a bit droopy, 5 staff staring at computer screens, also dont order the dinner. This really put us off. Frozen pizza - 12 quid? Doesnt sound like a 4 star to me.

Otherwise though it was a comfortable and affordable stay. Just avoid food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We checked in and had to wait for our room for a hour even though it was past 1400. We went to the room dropped the bags off and went straight out as we had a meeting to goto. We retuned at 2100 hours and I noticed the bed was broken the middle support was hanging and you could see screws. I called reception and after a discussion someone came to view the room. At first he said the bed was fine until I showed him the screws were coming out!! He agreed to change rooms went to reception and came back with new keys. We had to move all of our bags ourself up to the new room 3 floors higher not offer for help. We settled in the new room and other half went to the toilet and when flushing it noticed e flush would not shut off. We spent a whole night with the toilet flushing. In the morning I went to the front desk and told them this to a member of staff that seemed interested. We went out for more meeting and on return I checked it was still not fixed. I called reception and they told me that they where full. We decided that we had enough and told them we are checking out. We packed and went to reception and then told the front desk this. I was told as we where due to stay another two nights and had booked online we had to lay the full rate as they did not take any cancelations. I would appreciate if I had to go but this time it was at the poor state of the rooms! They did not relent and then tried to ask for payment the fact it was a pre paid room shows that they got it wrong! We checked out and went to another hotel in Liverpool for the rest of time much better! I have since written to both hilton and the hotel no replies no surprise poor service all round!

Stayed: October 2012
4  Thank Welikehols80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael o, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contact guest relations concerning your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton, Liverpool City Centre. It is with regret that you found your stay unsatisfactory.

It is always obviously of great concern to me when I read that one of our guests has had a less than exceptional service within the hotel. As I am sure you can see from most of the reviews on our hotel, service is of utmost importance to us and the satisfaction of our guests is of paramount importance to us, which is why we do indeed offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee

Since we opened our hotel over two years ago we have been overwhelmed by the positive comments we have received regarding all aspects of our hotel and it is therefore disappointing to read that you do not feel the same way.

It is unfortunate that there was a maintenance issue with your room as a new build hotel we find that maintenance issues really arise and when they do they are immediately rectified. I am sure that if you would have mentioned the second issue it could have been quickly rectified and your stay would have been much more pleasurable.

Once again thank you for your feedback as it constantly allows us to improve and monitor our guest satisfaction.

Yours Sincerely,


Michael Oates
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night from Sunday-Monday during the school half-term break whilst visiting the university. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the check in was very smooth. Loved the parking as on-site (or should that be under-site?) and not expensive.
Our room was a lovely size and very clean, and nice little touches in the presentation of it. There was no noise and we had a lovely view of the Albert Dock which is literally within 5 minutes walk. The hotel is also brilliantly located for the city centre which, again, is about 5-10 minutes walk away. Possibly, because everything had been so perfect it may have made the breakfast experience the following morning seem worse than it may have seemed somewhere else.
Based on our excellent experience of the previous day and evening we went down to what I expected to be yet another pleasurable experience - how wrong I was! There are probably quieter cattle markets than the breakfast experience we had in this hotel. Firstly, as we left the lift area the general melee in the foyer was a complete surprise (and I am not exagerrating this). The breakfast area was basically a number of tables in the corner (which were insufficient for the number of guests). People were literally sat wherever they could, even on the bar stools in the bar area with their breakfasts on the bar. As we tried to find somewhere to sit staff were rushed off their feet trying to clear spaces as soon as they became available, wherever, that may be. We may have just been unfortunate in that the hotel was exceptionally busy due to it being the half-term break, but it definitely but a dampner on the whole experience.
Other than the breakfast experience I would have no hesitation in giving this hotel a 5* rating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidTraveller022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A perfectly adequate hotel right down in the city center looking out towards the Albert Docks.
Rooms are modern, compact and nicely decorated. Our bathroom was bright with a large spacious shower, however no bath tub, not sure if other rooms have them. One of our towels was rather dirty which was a bit surprising. However this was just left for housekeeping to pick up the next day.

The major issue this hotel has is the breakfast area, for a hotel of this size with so many rooms, the breakfast area is far too small. It can get rather chaotic at certain times in the morning and you may struggle to find yourself a seat......and there just isn't enough staff to help with the clearing up. Breakfast choices are great though!

Overall happy with my two night stay here as it is so close to all the attractions in a really wonderful city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottyboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,910 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Address: 7 Hurst Street | Kings Dock Mill, Liverpool L1 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $69 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location at Kings Mill Dock in the "Baltic Triangle" area, the Hampton by Hilton™ Liverpool City Centre hotel puts you near it all! We're close to Wapping, Salthouse, Canning and Albert docks, as well as the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. The Lime Street and James Street train stations are all less than three kilometers away, while Liverpool John Lennon Airport can be easily reached in minutes by car or coach transfer from Lime Street Station. Take a short walk from our Liverpool hotel and you'll experience the stunning architecture, exciting museums, world-class attractions, abundant nightlife and excellent dining this great city has to offer. If shopping is on the agenda, Liverpool ONE, a 1.65 million square-foot complex, is just steps from our Liverpool, UK hotel. The name "Liverpool" is also synonymous with football and we have two Premiership clubs, Everton and Liverpool, about five kilometers away. We're also just minutes from Aintree, home of the Grand National horse race. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool hotel puts world-famous attractions at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing