We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do if you visit Liverpool or the Wirral”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mersey Ferry

Mersey Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.39*
and up
Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hop aboard one of our daily River Explorer Cruises for stunning views, fascinating history and unlimited sea air. An iconic Mersey Ferry will take you on a 50-minute journey that lets you explore the River Mersey's rich past... And present. You'll see the unrivalled and ever evolving UNESCO world heritage waterfront from the deck of this famous ferry.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must do if you visit Liverpool or the Wirral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This trip gives you some fantastic views of the spectacular Liverpool Waterfront (even though some modern carbuncles jar against the magnificent buildings there). The ferry journey itself came as a real shock to me given the many times I have taken the ferry during my childhood and teenage years : loud tannoys constantly announcing health and safety rules, information and ‘advice’ and by the time they got round to playing a bit of ‘Ferry across the Mersey..’ I was so thoroughly embarrassed, I adopted a cockney accent to cover up my Merseyside upbringing. If using public transport in the area, a ‘Saveaway’ ticket (available from newsagents etc for about a fiver ) will give you unlimited travel on most buses, trains and of course the Ferry throughout Merseyside.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    472
    123
    24
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“There's a song.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

felt that as oldies who remembered Ferry across the Mersey from a long time ago, we had to actually take the ferry. It was a good 50 minute trip with good information about history of the place and where we were. Good views of Liverpool docks and we got a good feel for how important Liverpool was and is. A trip all the way to Salford Quays in Manchester sounds as if it would be fun to do sometime.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sailing-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Intersting River Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A great short trip on thge Mersey showing the City of Liverpool off very well from the river.

Brilliant informative commentary, reasonable fare, tea and coffee available. A very professional setup.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neilwhite483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Its a long time since I was on the Mersey Ferries, must have been in the 50s going to and from New Brighton. After seeing the Uboat story we took the ferry back to Liverpool and were all pleasantly surprised to be taken up river towards Otterspool Promenade and back to the pier head along with a running commentry re the buildings to either side of us. I is very well done and will certainly go again for the full trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bernieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ferry cross the mersey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent, but cold trip with pre-recorded guide. Was nice to see Liverpool from the waterfront. Can always get a bite and a warm drink on board if you need. 50 minutes round trip with two stops and free entry to two other attractions on the ticket. A must see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Preben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mersey Ferry also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Mersey Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing