We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The service at Hilton its nice, very helpful and kind at the reception, and wonderful at the hotel's restaurant as well.

But I have few comments about the room we had. We had booked a room at high floor, with front view of the river, however it was meant to be smoking room and at arrival it appeared as it wasn't what left us with no choice to swap it. Instead we got a second floor room with the most unwanted view you may wish for - into police headquarters across the street, which was described as our best choice. Unfortunately we could not complaint about that issue as we booked our room directly at Hilton's website.

Im sure many customers suffered parking issue at the Hilton as well. Well at the hotel they informed us that customers must park at the underground parking nearby, which is just normal pay and display. There is no refund for the tickets and that car park its just one of the city centre paid cpark for anybody. The only thing is that Hilton customers park at designated side, with Hilton hotel directions. But be prepared for dragging your luggage all the way through car park to the hotel yourself. We spoke to security because there is a small secured hotel car park just right outside the hotel entrance and they said that this car park its only for blue badge holders, however you will see no blue badges but some super-cars of some super-reach clients instead. We didn't give up and they ended us letting us park outside as well.

Coming back to the room. As I mentioned the view we head was nothing of what we expected at that location. The rooms were really smelling of cigarettes and smoke, even before we got in, the whole floor seemed to smell like a pub and it must be ventilation issue. Instead they plugged airwick refreshener, which in some sense did help a little. Don't get me wrong there is always choice of the non smoking and smoking rooms and I have never seen smoking room actually physically smelling of a smoke.There was issue with bathroom the water stream was very slow, but water wasn't flowing down as bath seemed to be undrained and it was hard to take a shower. Inside the wardrobe rail to hang clothes was completely damaged and broken, im surprised that it was unnoticed while was cleaned. And the phone inside the room wasn't working so we couldn't report the problem strait away. The funny thing, the toilet was mounted into wall so high that while sitting on it my feet would be in the air lol. Overall décor its quite basic and room was very dark, but I would expect more from Hilton. At night there was a party going on downstairs at the hotel, the music was so loud that we could hear it on the second floor, what was disturbing during our sleep. Beds however were quite comfortable.

Location its brilliant, right across the street, there is a riverside with variety of restaurants and few local attractions. Behind hotel its city centre also fool of restaurants, shops and things to do.

In honesty we are not a fussy people at all, but if we were to come back to Liverpool we would pay a bit more and stay in better hotel. For this price we paid we were not satisfied with the choice.

At the end due to all inconvenience of quality of our room we were given nice breakfast, and even though the kitchen was about to close the staff cooked something for us and served us in really nice manner, however future discount or voucher would be better resolution for such a big name hotel and such a number of inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for nice riverside view on high floor, or state it at your booking and make sure you ll be given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KamilahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,634 - 2,640 of 2,938 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have never stayed in the Hilton, so I was very much looking forward to mine and my girlfriends stay for valentines day. The room we chose was a nice standard double room, which was very reasonably priced.
We were greeted at reception with some lovely members of staff, Inga and Everardo I believe. Check in was easy and hassle free. The room was fantastic! Lovely decor, great bed and just very pleasant to be in, the view was over the docks and was lovely. All the staff there were very helpful with our requests, and helped as much as possible. The executive lounge was very nice, breakfast was very good with a nice selection off food. Great stay, can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: All of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I was part of a large group staying throughout 4 nights recently (who also had a 2 day event in the meeting area).

The positives? Some helpful staff, particularly from room service and in the bar area, who clearly made an effort.

The negatives?

First, many of our party were unable to check into their rooms after a long journey. This was because Spurs football club were staying there the night before. They get preferential treatment over other guests and are allowed to stay into their rooms until late the following afternoon, which meant that we couldn't move into rooms we were paying for. Housekeeping were clearly struggling to keep up with the demands unfairly placed upon them, as shown by the numerous dirty room service trays that lined my corridor until late into the evening.

Next, the food. Presumably because we were a large group the Hotel felt there no requirement for any minimum standards and the food (especially the hot buffets) was so shocking that many colleagues paid for their own food outside the hotel.

Finally, the bill. I avoided the overpriced internet but not the other phantom charges that were added to my bill, notably the charges for breakfast despite being on a B&B rate and that favourite old trick of hotels like this, the imaginary mini-bar bill. Surprised to see a porn film didn't appear, but maybe they spread the tricks around the customers. How hard is it to get simple things like this right in a computer age?

Shocking experience from what should be a flagship location. It may be different for individual customers but for corporate events I would suggest staying well clear (unless you're a football club of course).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betterpolo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Just stayed with hubby at this hotel and I was well impressed! Got into our room early which is always a 'plus' for me. Did a bit of shopping (shops on the doorstep) then came back and had a nice drink in the bar. Bottle of house white was £24.50 which is on a par with other 4* hotels. The bar was really nice, very salubrious! Even better in the evening with the dimmed coloured lighting and beautiful decor tinted by these lights. Very busy but can understand why. It really is a great place to be. The Restaurant looked a bit like a canteen during the day, but don't let this put you off because by night it was lively and vibrant. The food, although only a set menu was out of this world for the price. Three course meal for 2 people and a bottle of house white wine came to only £50.The food was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Our room was only standard room, but was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated with a great view.
The staff couldn't've been more helpful and friendly. We had a lovely stay and will definately be back again. To top it all, aswell as having stayed in a superb hotel, I also managed to treat myself to 5 new pairs of shoes! What a good weekend this was!

Room Tip: Have a meal in their restaurant, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

i am very surprised - great new hotel with full access to liver pool excitements. Everything you want is within walking distance. Hotel has great room service, very clean and neat, food is great. Staff are cordial and helpful with sight seeing. if i go to liverpool again, I will choose this one for sure. Pricing is very apt and cheaper when compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Choose higher storey rooms which give good view of albert docks and liverpool one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband booked for myself and our 2 friends to stay in Hilton as a birthday gift. We had a fantastic time, from the moment we checked in till we departed all our needs where catered for. We were treated like royalty. Every member of staff we came into contact with, where polite, friendly and always smiling. We stayed on the executive floor and made use of the lounge which again was flawless with its facilities and staff hospitality. The gym is excellent and ideal as it is open 24hours so no need to panic about open times. The rooms are all cleaned to a very high standard as is all the hotel. The whole hotel is spotless. With its prime location travelers will not be disappointed as everything you need from a hotel is here.

Our evening meal was delicious and the menu was very hard to choose from as they have such excellent choices of food and drinks to choose from. Set in a relaxed atmosphere myself, husband and our guests enjoyed a beautiful meal that was not rushed in anyway. Breakfast the following morning was the icing on the cake to what was a truly fantastic birthday to remember. I would also like to take this opportunity to personally thank the management and all the staff for making this stay so memorable, thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Arrived after a long day at around 11pm. Was told that despite having my confirmed reservation there was not a room for me. The reservation had been made couple of weeks previously, and I had even phoned in the afternoon to confirm that they had the booking and to inform them that I would be arriving late.There were four other people still to arrive after me and they would be turned away as well. Apparantly they overbook and sometimes get it wrong. This happened to me at this same hotel about a year ago, and the duty manager this time said it was always happening. The one consolation was that they could put me in another hotel, however that would involve a taxi each way as I couldn't park my car near there.

Room Tip: check in early, otherwise you will possibly not have a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,837 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#37 of 98 in Liverpool
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Address: 3 Thomas Steers Way, Liverpool L1 8LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $90 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing