We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "Hilton" it's not.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
Ranked #27 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A "Hilton" it's not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The room was really noisy with the fan in the bathroom sounding like two skeletons in a biscuit tin. The "restaurant" is just bar service and bordering on very slow. The sausage at breakfast tasted very "iffy" and the bacon could be grilled rather than looking pale and boiled. Having the tables cleared and wiped should be standard rather than pot luck. It's a lot of money just to be at the airport. Hilton are able to do better than this!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Dave R,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for your invaluable feedback. I was disappointed to read you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, and I would like to apologise if you did not consider the breakfast to be of the same standard as the rest of the hotel. We offer bar meals in the evening as we are not a full service hotel, and so do not have the facilities to provide a full service restaurant, and I am sorry if this was not to your liking.

I have also passed on your comment regarding the bathroom fan on to the Maintenance department so that any issues can be rectified, and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    737
    220
    67
    43
See reviews for
451
934
162
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found this hotel a gem for our short stay in Liverpool. Its proximity to the airport and access to public transport is invaluable. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was delightful. Our stay was memorable and if returning to the city again we know where we will be staying

Room Tip: Very convenient to airport and public transport. Highly rercommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us, and for awarding us a top rating! It was great to read you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton again soon.

Kind Regards, Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

booked only one night as most city centre hotels were full , two adults and seventeen year old . very clean , comfortable rooms , nice hot shower , plenty of towels , decent breakfast and very good coffee au lait , not the Doubletree standard but 3 "adults " for £69-00 including breakfast and free parking , its a steal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana-x-x171293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Hana-X-x171293

Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool Airport. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. It was also nice to read you considered us to be good value for money! We hope you will consider us again next time you are visiting Liverpool.

Kind Regards, Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for one night before early morning flight. We're really impressed with this hotel, room was extremely clean and bathroom looked brand new with lovely fluffy towels, bed also very comfortable. Breakfast very basic but ok and lots of tables in different areas. Staff were friendly and helpful, only problem we had was getting out of car park as the girl on reception gave us an expired card for the barrier and this caused quite a hold up. Would definitely use this hotel again if using Liverpool airport.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor with good views of runway and Liverpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savannaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear 'savannaNorthWales'

Thank you for your review – it was so nice to read we managed to impress you during your stay with us! You kind words regarding our room facilities and our staff are most appreciated, however I would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced leaving the car park. I hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having stayed in a Doubletree by Hilton before and been very pleased my expectations were set very high. The hotel itself was very nice. The staff very friendly. However out expectation of a restaurant and room service were not met. I.E there was no room service and the 'restaurant' only served 4 meals and the one that we chose consisted of oven heated items that left a lot to be desired. We were booked in for 2 nights and didn't even stay for the first.The Hotel is directly opposite the airport and is excellent for travelers coming and going with a minimal fuss providing a bed and hot food. However for our 2 days stay in Liverpool it was a serious let down so nothing against the hotel just not what was expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton Liverpool Airport. I was sorry to read we did not fulfil your expectations, however unlike the Doubletree by Hilton, the Hampton by Hilton is not a full service hotel – this is why there is no room service available, or a full service restaurant. Aside from this, I was pleased to read you liked our hotel, and that our staff were welcoming.
I hope you will consider us should you ever have a flight from Liverpool Airport!

Kind Regards
Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for one night on a Saturday night. The hotel could not be any closer to the airport - directly across the road.

Our room looked brand new. Bathroom was lovely and clean and new looking too. Bed was comfortable and despite being so close to the airport we never heard a single airplane.

What we did hear though was our air conditioning unit at about three o' clock in the morning. It started sputtering and coughing and making such terrible noises. We got out of bed and tried to turn it down, that didn't work. So we tried turning it up, that didn't work either. We tried leaving it to see if it would sort itself out but in the end we just took the room key out of the holder so all the electrics and the dreaded air conditioning unit went off. But needless to say I couldn't get to sleep then for ages. And when I did get off I was woken by our noisy neighbours getting ready.

It was really a shame because I would have said this was an excellent place to stay either to take a flight or to visit Liverpool which is what we were doing. (That's why I have only classed it as very good)

We took a bus into Liverpool which was just outside the hotel and cost £3.20 each. The bus took us to the docks, right to the entrance of Liverpool One. Then we got a taxi back to the hotel (a black cab) which cost £19.00.

Breakfast was fine, quite basic but really all you need. Cereal, toast, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, bacon and eggs, muffins. Lots of places to sit.

Parking was free too.

I would recommend the hotel despite the problems we had but don't get room 216 on floor 7 unless you've checked they have fixed the demon air conditioning unit. (We did report it to reception in the morning so hopefully they will)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Susan,

It was a pleasure to read your review – I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that (aside from the air conditioning) the room and the facilities of the hotel were all to your liking. Thank you also for your recommendation – it is most appreciated.

With regards to the air conditioning, I will ensure any faults have been rectified, and I hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

We hope you will consider us again next time you are in Liverpool.
Kind Regards
Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff were great and the hotel was very clean and accessible. The foyer area was welcoming. Parking is very easy and free for hotel guests. Bathroom was brand new. Only drawback - awful menu choice for dinner. Very few items to choose from. Otherwise a nice experience and decent value for money - I paid £330 for 6 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topdoc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Smyth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear 'topdoc03'

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton Liverpool Airport. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay, and that you consider us to be good value for money. Thank you for also you kind comments regarding the hotel’s cleanliness and our staff’s hospitality. I am sorry if our menu offering was not to your liking, and I hope that it will not dissuade you from staying with us again in the future.
We hope to welcome you back to the Hampton again soon.

Kind Regards
Mairead Smyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport

Property: Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
Address: Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1YD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#23 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing