We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my 10 year old daughter. From the time we arrived until the time we left, the whole experience was excellent & fun. Fantastic staff who are both friendly & professional. Spoke with one of the housekeeping staff named Jenny who was absolutely wonderful, giving us ideas on where to shop & things to do. Location is excellent...Bang in the centre of things!..Hotel has lovely swimming pool & gym too. We had breakfast included which was really lovely and plenty of choice for everyone. Hotel had a few kids there and it is totally welcoming to families. Bar is really nice and very comfortable. Great for a drink after a long day shopping.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolliDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear HolliDublin
Thank you for sharing your review. Pleased everything was positive and I will pass on your kind words to the Housekeeper Jenny and congratulate her on the service she delivered.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,361)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Liverpool
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Clean and a central location. Staff seem friendly. However, there are nicer 4* hotels in Liverpool also in very good locations for the same price. The addition of the pool here is a good selling point. But despite being upgraded to a "business class" room, it still wasn't any nicer than a standard room in the Indigo hotel. Also at around 11am the lights would not turn on and the TV turned itself off and wouldn't turn on again? Odd? For something that feels a bit higher quality, I'd recommend the Indigo, Castle St or Heywood House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Markfeet,
Thank you for your detailed review however I was disappointed to hear of some of the hassle you encountered.
I am sorry if there was a power cut to your room however I am confident it was an isolated occurrence.
Our Executive rooms have a King size bed, Nespresso Coffee, Dressing gown and Slippers + i-pod dock. We have a selection of 5 different floor plans so we would be happy to show you these on your return.
We still hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my grandsons age 15yrs and 6 yrs the room was not ready when we arrived not a problem we left the bags in a secure locked cupboard and went to get some food and explore, when we returned we were pleased to have been given a room on the 11th floor perfect the boys were excited especially with the view of the wheel liver buildings and Ferris wheel added bonus the swimming pool can't find any fault apart from irritating tourist who all arrived just as we went to collect our bags which again was a bonus the hotel allowed us to leave them after check out as we had late train
Going back to the tourists not sure if they were American or Canadian they were like a bunch of school children they all wanted to be checked in at the same time no idea on forming a queue well done to the reception staff they did there best under the circumstances "why not take one key card and settle in your room then return for spare card I certainly would return in the future

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor great views
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monroe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear MonroeT,
Thank you for your detailed review of your break with the Grand Children, very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Parking is extra (as was brakfast on my tarrif) so it can add up - Tesco is next door though if you're doing it on the cheap (as I was!).
Great location, lovely beds, clean bathroom, good TV. the lobby had an assortment of games and an xbox to distract the kids.
Swimming pool was 1.2m set depth about 20m long, little gym.
Great, attentive staff.
We stayed for a family break but would suit business as much as vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARyding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear ARyding,
Thank you for your review fo your family break, very pleased you had a good with us while visiting Liverpool.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel was very modern and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was very nice, booked the executive room as this was meant to be bigger and room for 4. Although, I'm not too sure where they would have all slept. A little disappointed that there was no bath.
Hotel was in the perfect location for everything to see and do.
Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear JoanneM,
Thank you for your review, pleased you had a good stay.
We do have Executive rooms with a bath, please just mention your request on reservation and we can allocate the room for you prior to arrival.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Liverpool
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here just for 1night to go to a concert at the Echo Arena, loved our stay had the best night sleep ever the bed and bedding was so comfortable! Never ate, drank or used the lesuire facilities as didn't have time but all looked lovely. Fab location for shops,bars etc would definately recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Katie C,
Thank you for your review, pleased you had a good stay for your trip to the Echo Arena
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Liverpool
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels in Liverpool, I have stayed here quite a few times with no problems at all.

The rooms are nice and spacious, with good appliances such as hair dryer, kettle, tea and coffee. There is a mini fridge with a couple of drinks in the room - they are pricey to drink, I usually just take them out of the fridge and put my own drinks in there for the stay (there is a Tesco's and home bargains across the road).

Staff are very friendly and helpful, although did have an incident with my last stay where the maid walked into our room without knocking at an inconvenient time. This was not an issue as she did apologise.

The hotel has free WiFi throughout which makes is really handy for people who are staying for business or if you want to take your laptop. On that note, the rooms are tailored well towards business users, family's and couples.

You need to check in to the pool before you can gain access, you do this by asking for a pool card at the reception! You can give in your room key in exchange for a locker key (I did not know this until my most recent stay).

The bar and restaurant are nice and relaxed (although not the cheapest, but hey it is a hotel after all).

If you are looking for a hotel in Liverpool to stay, then I recommend the Novotel as it is luxury hotel that also has a pool (BONUS) that caters for all needs and types of stay!

Fantastic hotel!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a locker key when going to the pool, my room key card got stolen once!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIGSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear LIGSY,
Thank you for your detailed review and I am pleased to see you are a regular guest of ours. review.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Liverpool
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $86 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing