We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Novotel for the 2nd time and to be honest wasn't impressed. The bed was very squeaky and the door latch to the wc was completely broken so the door didn't shut at all and kept swinging open. The location is unarguably perfect for the centre of liverpool but to be honest I would prefer to stay on Albert Dock where it is only a few minutes walk into the centre but you have much nicer views from the rooms whereas in the Novotel I was overlooking a multi storey carpark but I guess that is to be expected for a city hotel. The parking was around £10 for overnight parking with the hotel discount voucher which I think could be reduced. Overall the hotel is clean and tidy but I have stayed in better hotels in Liverpool for less money so will be using alternatives in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Pringy,
Thank you for your feedback however I am very disappointed to read that we fell short of our usual high standards from your previous stays. Please could you call me on 0151 702 5100 at a time convenient to yourself so I can take some more details to avoid a reoccurrence.
Thank you very much for the opportunity to respond.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    888
    286
    75
    43
See reviews for
638
704
111
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I booked a night away for my husbands birthday and this hotel didn't disappoint, when we arrived we were checked in very efficiently and asked if we would like to be upgraded to an executive room for only an extra £15 which we did, the room was wonderful with a massive bed, great shower, a coffee maker, gowns and slippers and lots of other lovely touches.We had a drink in the bar before before heading out for the evening and the staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful.Hotel is in a great place and for the right price we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 959Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Caroline,
I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your birthday break for your husband and are a fan of our Executive rooms.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Novotel Liverpool before and found it to be an excellent hotel. So on our return to Liverpool we wanted to ensure we stayed again. Booked on the 40% off deal which is excellent value. The rooms are large enough for a double bed and the double sofa bed for the two children. The hotel itself is perfectly located for all the sights in Liverpool. Last time we arrived by train and it is close enough to the station to walk. This time we took the car and the car park is opposite the hotel which is brilliant, plus you get a discount as hotel guests. The pool is great for the children, as is the XBox in reception. Food at the hotel is fantastic, breakfast is one of the best you will have in a hotel. We also had our evening meal there this time and again, the quality was excellent. The staff are all really friendly and helpful too. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC44M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mrsc44M,
I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with your family on your recent trip to Liverpool to watch the Football.
I hope the result in the game was also what you wanted and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room was very comfortable even for 2 adults and 2 children. We had an excellent stay with fabulous leisure facilities including swimming pool. The hotel is in a very central location ideal to go shopping at Liverpool One.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucLyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear lucLyd
Thank you for your great review and I am pleased to read you also enjoyed our swimming pool.
We hope to welcome you and your family back on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything about the hotel was excellent from the staff to the facilities, First class stay. Walking distance to all the city centre spots you need to visit. And a good discount on the car parking next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Paul H
Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is well positioned, close to the bus station, train station and city centre. The Albert Dock is within easy walking distance. There is a multi storey car park next door which is secure. Important that you know that a voucher can be obtained from the hotel reception that will reduce the amount you have to pay for the car park.

The hotel staff are very polite and efficient. Check-in went very well. Our room was very good with a very comfortable bed and terrific shower. The room comes with all the usual bits and bobs, although no shower cap is provided. There is a mini-bar in the room, but also a Tesco very close by where with a bit of forethought a lot can be saved. We used the hotel dining room one night. The menu is not the largest and the vegetarian section is poor. I ordered the veggie item to discoverv that they had just sold out and to the credit of the kitchen they were able to rustle up an alternative. The dining experience is not unpleasant, but neither is it relaxing as it is very close to main reception and the childrens play area. Not so much a restaurant, more like a street cafe. We were served by a lovely Hungarian waitress who was very courteous and attentive.

Breakfast is a self-service affair, the usual variety of cooked breakfast elements are available, but as they are all under hot lamps, the bacon can dry out somewhat. Breakfast is perfectly acceptable nevertheless, if not exceptional.

We had no issues with noise, but the hotel is in the City Centre so some noise is inevitable. We do visit Liverpool occasionally and have stayed at many hotels in the area. We have no problem in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny-glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear jonny-glen,
Thank you so much for sharing such a detailed review. I will make sure the waitress that looked after you is praised for her level of service in the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of Liverpool close to many bars and restaurants.
The room was clean and tidy, and the bathroom was nice.
There is a car park just over the road where you can park and will get a discount if you are staying at the hotel, it is not a great deal but better than nothing.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and everything tasted fresh.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
You have to pay for wifi
Overall a good stay and a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilPatel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear neilpatel84,
Thank you for the great review and hope to see you on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing