We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the facilities I want where I want to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All the facilities I want where I want to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This modern buil hotel is on the corner of the street where I want to be, but it is close to the BBC, Liverpool One, Bus station, waterfront, and Merseyrail and despite the bustling street outside, the hotel is a haven of peace. The staff are very helpful, the food good all day, but if you really want to eat out, there is a cosmopolitan offering opposite and all around.
Liverpool City Centre is relatively small so nowhere is far away
I have stayed several times before and have no hesitation to revisit
Ive markred the rooms down because of two things - they tidy everyting away and the first time I had difficulty finding the remote and I have a walk in shower but it is not in the same place as the loo which has no washing facilities

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Mikecain,
Thank you for your detailed review and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    890
    286
    76
    43
See reviews for
639
706
111
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed with two daughters aged 12 and 10. The hotel has a good location for Liverpool One. As mentioned in previous reviews chick in was rather slow but not a great problem. Room was spotless clean and catered for our needs.One of my daughter is a coeliac and the staff were helpful for breakfast even providing some gluten free bread for her. Kids liked the pool yes it is not massive but they had it to themselves for over an hour which they enjoyed. We had a good time shopping, cinema food etc and would look to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpoolcoyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Blackpoolcoyb,
Thank you for your detailed review and I was pleased that you enjoyed your weekend shopping with your children.
My apologies if the check-in was a bit slow on your experience, on your next stay please do try our new check in kiosk. I am sure you will find it quick and easy to use as an alternative if all the reception agents are busy.
I am pleased were able to accommodate your daughters dietary requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel certainly wasn't great- toilet separate from bathroom- problem with room allocation- using computer check in system, very impersonal- lift broken (we were on tenth floor) - abrupt staff- room way TOO hot, no way of cooling - general hotel interior very much like a modern youth hostel- would not recommend for a romantic weekend - or anything else for that matter!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Hellshall,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. I would like to speak with you in person so I may investigate further. Please do contact me on 0151 702 5100 when you have time to talk.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked this hotel mainly because of limited number of places in Liverpool city centre with pool. Very disappointing effort by Novotel. Very small pool, unisex changing room with lockers that don't have keys (none at all) and only one shower for everyone to share.

Pool too small to actually swim in and then you have to walk from one side of the changing area to the lockers and back again so your clothes are wet when you get there. Badly thought out.

Bar in hotel reasonable and rooms not bad at all but leaving the leisure facilities aside you can do better in Liverpool for the same money. Not the best Accor hotel I've ever been to...not even close.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opsguy1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Opsguy1701,
Thank you for sharing your comments about our leisure facilities.
We do have two separate lockable changing rooms in the leisure facility and also three showers which again are all in in separate lockable rooms. We have a further shower by the pool side for showering before using the pool and also to refresh if you sue the steam room. All of our lockers for belongings our now in service and keys are available for these from Reception. My sincere apologies if they were not in service during your stay.
I hope you will still consider using our hotel on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewarton
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My Wife ,daughter and I stayed for two nights in December 2012 and I found it to be a lovely hotel and right in the middle of the city.I found it to be very clean and breakfast was expensive but of a good standard.
The gym and pool were a bonus and we managed to use the pool (and steam room) four times during our trip.
No car parking was a disappointment but a discount for the neighbouring car park made up (albeit removed our ability to travel any distance while it was parked up)

Room Tip: get your carpark discount from the reception before checking out
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank flyingpig1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a family of four. Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the bus station. Check in was quick we arrived in the evening. The hotel room had everything we needed for a two night stay. Tv/iron board & tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast was included in our stay. Kids loved the pool. The room was a standard room maybe next time I would consider upgrading to a larger room as kids sofa bed was not comfortable but everything else was perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel as its in a great location and staff were very helpful. Great city centre location for shopping.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear D H,
Thank you for sharing your comments and I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with your family. On your next stay I would recommend one of our Executive rooms. You will have slightly more floor space and a King size bed plus free moves for the kids if they have time in the evening.
Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with the family.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in December and its my second time here, lovely hotel and right in the middle of the city and very clean and breakfast was lovely ,check in was very slow as guy behind reception didn't,t seem to know what he was doing and had to get another member of staff to help him and there seems to be a problem with the car park as we were back and forth to the hotel reception with the car park tickets as they didn't,t seem to work ,apart from this I,d recommend it

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gary046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Gary046,
Thank you for sharing your comments and I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
My apologies though that the receptionist on check-in seemed inexperienced, our Reception Manger would like to speak to you to have some more detail if possible if you would like to contact him on 0151 702 5100 if you have the time so he can investigate further.
The Q-park next to the Hotel should have 24 hour assistance at the pay kiosk located at the entrance to the car, on your next stay if you encounter difficulties please press the Help button on the ticket machine and a member of their team form Q-park should be able to assist you.
I am pleased to see you will look to stay with us again so we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing