We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great customer service”
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great customer service”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is fine. However, I left my phone charger in the room, and the lost property department spent half an hour getting my credit card details to charge me £2 to return it in the post. I know it was my fault, but after my company paid a fortune for us all to stay there, and after we spent another fortune in the bar, I thought it was penny pinching of the highest order. If they think they are a 4 star hotel with this level of service, they should think again.

It's not the money, it's the principle; the staff are either not empowered to make minor decisions, or are not bothered. Either way, it's clear they do not have the customer experience at the top of the agenda.

Premier inns are half the price and I know for a fact they would have posted a personal item back FOC.

First and last time in a Novotel for me.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Steve,
Thank you for leaving your review. I was pleased to see we located your phone charger however I was disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction regarding the postage charge for it to be returned to you. If you would like to discuss it further with me at the Hotel my number is 0151 702 5100.
Kind regards,
Matthew Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    918
    297
    77
    48
See reviews for
655
724
113
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A very good hotel bed was very comfortable. Room nice and clean even though the toilet was very squeaky and the security of gettin up to your rooms excellent. Will book again next year as the staff were very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie mcglasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Julie,

Thank you for such a positive review, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about the service from our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Liverpool.

Kind regards,

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHDALE
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel in very central position for sight seeing and shopping and able to offer discount on parking. Booked this for a weekend away with seven friends - extremely friendly staff and check in superb. Rooms were very nice and although one of the rooms was an inter-connecting room with slimline beds we were able to be offered another room again with no hassle. Restaurant opening times were a lot longer than experienced on previous hotels breakfast til twelve on the Sunday. Food quality was fine, breakfast better than average. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Carolemag,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Liverpool.

Kind regards,

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

There was a fire alarm in part of the hotel at 07.00 am. My in laws were domn the corridor from us but their alarm never went off. Only a small minority of guests were evacuated. Much confusion.
The lockers were not lockable in the leisure area - not good enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_drozario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Alan,
Thank you for leaving your feedback for us. I would like to discuss this in more detail with you if possible. My number is Tel: 0151 702 5100 and I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West lothian
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of concert package and suspect I was hugely overcharged. The room, 202, was basic with a terrible bed with very noisy springs every time you turned over. Every tile in the bathroom floor was loose. Did not like the desperate toilet with very poor lighting. Breakfast was included and ok but not the hottest. Location is fab and drinks are well priced, service was good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestlothianMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Westlothianmercedes,
Thank you for leaving your review and I was pleased to read you found us well located and received good service from our team.
Thank you also for you additional comments. The bathroom tiles are now scheduled to be replaced, my sincere apologies that this was not corrected before your arrival.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back next time you visit Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,583 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing