We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dying of thirst and surrounded by water..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pumphouse

Pumphouse
Ranked #342 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dying of thirst and surrounded by water..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Pumphouse on a Saturday night - fairly busy as would be expected. However, what I didn't expect was to wait for nearly 25 minutes to get served at the bar. Actually, I never did get served so I left, and popped across to Revolution where the bar staff were on the ball. The Pumphouse is in a great spot but the staff could do with some serious training. At one point, 3 of them were making up a cocktail mix while the other bar lady wandered the bar, flicking her hair, pouting and generally doing anything but serving. None of the bar staff watched to see who had been waiting the longest. I wont be going in there again. Truly dreadful service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    168
    95
    44
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great friendly atmosphere, prompt tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The pumphouse was accessible and all staff were very friendly. Drinks good value and nachos delicious and brought promptly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbriaBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
182 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Friendly service.. food reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Eating here with friends I was pleasantly surprised with the food quality. The place was very busy and very noisy.. tables were not kept clean and having to order at the bar was a bit of a free for all, but the staff were all very friendly, the food very nice and the evening was enjoyable. Yes its pub grub but its well presented, nicely done and whilst there's no Michelin star, you probably won't be disappointed. Service wise the staff did forget a coffee we asked for twice but seeing as it was packed and evidently not many people serving - so we'll let them off!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BGIBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“really nice bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

have been to the pumphouse before, so knew what to expect. its ia really nice, friendly bar, with a nice mixture of people from young to old. we didnt eat here but i have to say the food always looks very nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RachW-Penrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gourmet pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We recently visited when were staying locally to watch John Bishop with my In-laws,when we arrived we got seated upstairs and then the staff seemed to forget about us really. But we cannot fault the food at all, there were 4 of us we all had a starter and main and we couldn't find a fault with any of the food!
The atmosphere was very relaxed and very welcoming.
I was stuck for choice when looking at menu options the prices were slightly higher than your regular pub but you got what you paid for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsHastwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumphouse also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Pumphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing