We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant acommodation but service very poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Croft

The Croft
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liverpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft
Ranked #48 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pleasant acommodation but service very poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed at the Croft apartments for 8 weeks while my house was refurbished. I know the area and the rooms etc seemed comfortable so after brief inspection I decided to stay there. The rooms and furnishings were very comfortable and roomy and very modern. The close proximity to the main Liverpool/Southport railway line was a benefit and the area is generally described as leafy and quiet. However, on a Friday and Saturday nights there were gangs of young people using the trains usually very late at night and very noisy often throwing cans and bottles into the front gardens. Parking was OK but most of the bays are under trees so the car was covered in sap every day and the only alternative parking was on the road. Another real problem was the lack of apartment numbers at the front of the building. I cannot believe no other guest has not commented on this. As there are no numbers it is difficult to know which bell to press and on more than one occassion I was woken very late by a guest believing they had pressed the appropriate bell for their apartment. infuriating when you have to get up early. I did mention it to the cleaner/handyman but nothing was done. Another guest did complain to him and he confronted the offending guest on the steps of the apartments where a shouting match took place which I found to be unacceptable for a supposedly 4 star establishment. It was also unsettling not to have a member of staff on the premises as I was often the only resident in this very large old house and found it to be quite spooky so was unable to sleep. Although the owners live nearby it would be difficult to contact them in an emergency. The level of service was disappointing. The freezer broke down but never repaired,just another one was delivered and stuck in the lounge. The dishwasher flooded every time I tried to use it so did'nt bother in the end and had to make many requests for the light bulbs to be changed as it was dark. I mentioned these
problems to the cleaner/handyman but nothing was done so gave up. Although he appeared quite helpful for the first week he quickly became unhelpful and arrogant beyond belief if I asked for any assistance. Overall it would be OK for a couple of nights stay, but after an extended stay I was glad to come home and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mar6rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blundellsandscroft, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
The Croft is situated in a quiet residential road in quiet residential area of Liverpool with easy access to the city cenre but away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The description of the area is not one that the management , local residents or other guests would recognise .
The area is as described 'leafy' and as a result inevitably, at certain times of the year, there is sap and leaves from the trees. It is not generally permitted to cut trees down in the area nor would we want to but we apologise for the sap.
Our terms and conditions ask all our guests to be mindful of the peace and quiet.of others. Unfortunately it seems on this occasion this did not happen.
We are on hand at all times to sort out any problems our guests have and would have liked to have had the opportunity to do so for mar6rita had they been brought to our attention at the time rather than several months later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Great value, very spacious and in nice area. Ideal location for visiting Liverpool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Would like to thank the croft staff from the time of booking to our arrival on the day and friendliness of the staff for making our booking and stay pleasurable would recommend staying here above hotels any day an absolute pleasure

Walkden Family

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in the Croft with 3 Children for 3 nights. The owners were very nice and very professional, they put in an extra bed for us and supplied milk and cereal for the first morning, nice touch. The apartment was clean, we did not need a daily service and they supplied plenty of towels etc. We had a car so it was no problem to drive in and out of Liverpool and benefited by having off street parking in a lovely area at night. This type of accommodation suited us better that a hotel so we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencer087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blundellsandscroft, owner/manager at The Croft, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay at the Croft your comments are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Not a hotel but a full apartment at less-than hotel prices. Simple, modern decor. Large, fully equipped kitchen. Comfortable and spacious living room. Very quiet despite being within a minutes walk of a railway station (regular trains into Liverpool or Southport). Plenty of parking. We stayed here (ten days) for a family visit to Merseyside and were delighted with the Croft. We did not have daily cleaning/towel service which suited us perfectly, but we had a contact number for the caretaker who checked with us several times to see if there was anything we needed. The owners live near the Croft and were helpful and accomodating, obviously very concerned that their guests have a pleasant stay. We would give the Croft the highest recommendation possible - amazing value for such high quality accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scifipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#41 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool North Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Aintree) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#56 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.2 mi away
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft

Property: The Croft
Address: 10 Blundellsands Road East | Blundellsands, Liverpool L23 8SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality conversion of Victorian villa into 4 star hotel/apartments fully serviced and managed by professional onsite staff. Close to Liverpool city centre and world class golf courses along Lancashire Golf Coast. Good transport links for road,train and airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing