We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned service”
Review of Bar Italia - CLOSED

Bar Italia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of liverpools best kept secrets, a lovely family run restaurant, now called Franco,s can,t believe there are so few reviews, each time we go there the food and the service are great whether you are eating off the a-la-carte menu or the pre-theatre early evening menu the food is just perfect, and the little touches after your meal like the plate of sweet meats and glass of limoncelli are lovely touches you don,t get in many restaurants these days.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank postehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Each time being in Liverpool I visit Bar Italia wich is also known as Franco's. Once again, we had excellent food (filetto di mazo alla Franco). It was delicious. The location is nothing special but the food is that great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
1,037 reviews
598 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I cannot believe that since I was last here  5 months ago ONLY 4 further reviews have been submitted.  We visited here for a wedding reception, which filled the restaurant. Our food was Pre- ordered , so I wondered how good it would be!  There was no disappointment, each table was served one at a time with a hot plate and hot food. Out of our table of 6 people 4 had different meals. All were very pleased with their food and service. I could not fault the food .

The staff were so friendly and worked very hard to provide a brilliant service for more than 9 hours. Well done to Franco and his team.

Bar Italia does not stand out as a restaurant in Castle Street. In fact It is located in 'cellar' about 20 yards opposite the San Carlo Restaurant. There is no glitz here but it is olde worlde with a true Italian feeling to it. Give It a try and see what I mean!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always Reliable”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Over the years I have eaten at "Franco's" several times and have never been disappointed. There is an extensive menu but Franco will still adapt and tweak anything to suit the customer. The wine list is also good with something for every budget. Franco heads up a very friendly team and the restaurant has a good atmosphere even if it is not very busy. Definitely an old favourite which has withstood the test of time and I sincerely hope it continues to do so!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good family Italian”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went here last night after a show had a lovely meal great place to go.House wine by the litre good value. You can get starter portions if you are not too hungry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eleccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Italia also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing