We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Issues with cleanliness, friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Issues with cleanliness, friendliness”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The location of this apartment building is perfect, but location is the only thing they have gotten right. The hallways smelled bad and were unclean. Plus worse of all was the 1am knock at the door. Security guards came through like the Gestapo and searched the place looking for a unauthorized fourth guest. We only had three, as explained and paid for ar check-in, and the Gestapo left without apology. Cleanliness and friendliness is easy to provide to all guests, Staycity Liverpool is falling woefully short.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your review. I was disappointed to read that you where disturbed by Security during your stay. I am not sure on the details but please be rest assured that I will be looking into why. We do have to ensure the safety and noise levels within the apartments at all times so this will also mean that non residents will be asked to leave. The reasons we do this is mostly to control numbers within the property for Emergency reasons and again on the recommendation of the Police and local authorities, of which I am sure you will understand. Further to this there is no excuse for poor attitudes so please accept my sincere apologies on their behalf. As for the smells in the corridor granted there was a smell reported due to a spillage, but we have since had the carpets deep cleaned professionally and I can safely say this has been sorted out.

Once again many thanks for your valued feedback.

Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    285
    92
    43
    49
See reviews for
301
159
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends for 3 days for a lads holiday. Only a few minutes walk to liverpool one, albert dock and all the clubs in the area. Admittedly we spent most of our time in bars and clubs around the area but the time we spent in the apartment was great, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Us lads had all the facilities to cook any food we were capable of and there is a tescos just around the corner. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a great city break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor_OFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our apartments ticked all the boxes for you guys. Liverpool is a great City with plenty to do, so its good to read your had a really great time!

Hope to see you back in Liverpool very soon!

Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The apartment was excellent. Clean, tidy, very modern and quiet in a very central location.
Would definitely use again
anyone looking to go shopping will be happy to find liverpool 1 shopping centre within 2 minutes walk
those looking for a good night out are ideally located for bars, china town and clubs

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking time out to post your review. I was really pleased to read that you had a good time and found the apartments and location ideal. Its very important to us to know how your stay with us was, so thank you for your very kind words!

Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked a one bedroom apartment and was upgraded at no charge to a two bedroom apartment. Stayed with my boyfriend for a night and we were made up with it. Was very modern and comfortable and clean, great value for money, couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that you where really pleased to be upgraded. We will always try and up grade our guest where possible subject to availability.

Once again it was very kind of you to take time out to say you "Couldn't of asked for better"

Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great, central location to stay in, short walk from the Albert Dock and from Liverpool One. Also near to various other places we wished to attend. We were there for Beatles Weekend and have stayed in these apartments before, as they are handy for everything, have their own kitchen and are just round the corner from Tescos! Rooms and bedding were clean and well equipped, it was noisy at night but that is to be expected if you want to stay in a city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lucyinthesky_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks of posting your feedback on your recent stay with us in Liverpool. It seems that you have had a great stay and really enjoyed your time in our wonderful City of Liverpool.

Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had the penthouse apartment and stayed here for 2 nights. There was 5 of us and this was just enough space for 5 ladies celebrating our 40th birthdays. The reception staff were very nice and very helpful. When we got into the apartment itself (checked in early) the apartment was very clean. The views from the balcony/terrace (which was very large) gave a good view of the city and some landmarks. The furniture within the living area was nice, leather suites, nice telly and also dining table. The kitchen was very clean with everything you could ask for. The bedrooms were also very clean and comfortable and the additional balcony was lovely, and also good for the warm weekend we had. Bathrooms too were lovely and very clean.

The location of the apartment is very good, just a short walk to the shopping centre, pubs and docks. There is also a wee shop just about a minutes walk away and a great wee coffee shop too. Tesco is about a 3 minute walk away too so all good.

The only drawback being so close to the town centre was that you are in the thick of it. There is an area very close to the apartments that I can only describe as the 'strip' in any popular resort abroad. This would be great if we were younger (ahem) but as we are getting on now, it went on a bit too late for us. So everything settled down around 4am but the local council decided to come and empty the bottle bins at 5.50am. In my younger years this would not have been a problem lol.

Overall this is a great place to stay, I would definitely recommend, and I will be back (just with some earplugs for my older ears).

Room Tip: Get the penthouse, its worth the extra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkyweemidgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was really pleased to read that you had a great stay and that you would have no problem in recommending our apartments to others.

Once again thank you so much for your kind words and detailed feedback.

Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice, huge and comfortable apartment. Right in the heart of the city.. Clean rooms n lovely staff. Ideal for business n pleasure. View from the balcony was a plus. The high street next doors n party life quite happening. yet a peaceful stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shweta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Stayliverpool, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, its always a pleasure to read when someone has had a great time! All feedback is good, especially when someone takes time out to post positive feedback.

Thank you very much, and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#1 of 97 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street
Address: 37-41 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 Serviced apartments at Lever Court, located in the city centre, right next door to the Liverpool ONE development. Finished to a very high standard, all apartments come complete with FREE Wi-Fi access, flatscreen TV, free view and Sky Sports Channels and fully-equipped kitchens with dishwasher, washer/dryer, oven, microwave and fridge freezer. 24 Hour Reception and Car Parking facilities are also available. A selection of apartments also have balconies, en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning and panoramic views across Liverpool's distinctive skyline and famous waterfront. Finished off with its own private Courtyard and superb service, offering an ideal base for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lever Court Apartments By Stayliverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing