We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #66 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Excellent location - central but quiet. Lovely big room, with antique furniture, and a lovely big desk. TV, CD player, docking station and tea and coffee making facilities Staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Excellent value for money - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444ValerieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 347 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed on 3rd Aug for 1 night .
Checked in and was given room 105.
Our room was huge with a piano in it . Room was spotless with even an iPod docking station and ironing board and iron .
Bathroom was spacious with clean towels and plenty hot water
Overall would recommend this hotel to anyone , we only paid £44 for executive double room
Definitely a hidden gem in Liverpool

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The booking was made for my birthday and we chose this hotel specifically because of the Spa treatments advertised. On arrival we were instructed to park at the Cathedral, and was told parking would incur a charge of £6 per day once we had spoken to the security gate. This is not "Free Parking" as the website says. We checked in and paid the total amount of £110 as instructed by your hotel manager, with a £25 pre-authorisation charge prior to being taken to our room. We deposited our luggage and set off into town. Whilst out we had a call from home indicating our children were unwell. We enquired as to your cancellation policy, and were told that you would off-set the cost of a cancelled night against a future visit. At the time we were happy with the staff and the location of the hotel, and had only given a cursory glance to the room as we went straight into Liverpool.

On our return, we unpacked and settled into the room. We found a number of problems. We were told by a member of staff (night porter) that the room we had booked was not an Executive room, as per the booking. We were also told there was no Spa.

The following morning (1st July), I spoke to the duty manager and highlighted the following issues:

No Spa or Treatments available as per website (and entire reason for choosing hotel);
No Wi-Fi access in the room (Duty manager confirmed he was also unable to access Wi-Fi in the Room);
Not an "Executive Room" as per booking;
No Free Parking as advertised;
Pillow stained;
Shower did not run away, and was dirty, meaning my wife unwilling to use the shower. I used shower but had to keep stopping to prevent flooding. Took 2 minutes to run away;
Bathroom extractor fan blocked and did not work on turning on;
Electric fire plugged in and operational but not fixed to wall with potential to fall onto child/carpet;
No kitchen bin - food waste had to be put in open top bin in sleeping area;
Room overlooked discarded bathroom suites at rear of property;
General state of room poor - chipped paint on woodwork, stained ceilings etc.

Before leaving this review I attempted to resolve the issues with the owner. There has been a lack of response to the emails I have sent so I would stress to potential customers.....DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! Please ask me if you are uncertain about what I have written, however the photos do not lie........

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Being a fan of the Hope St area of Liverpool I deliberately looked for a hotel there. Situated on Rodney St the Roscoe House was a pleasant surprise. Inexpensive, handy for everywhere we wanted to visit and staffed by friendly and knowledgeable locals who couldn't have been more helpful. On arrival we were warned about the plumbing and, since being forewarned is being forearmed, we coped with the hot water situation. Our room was at the back and was quiet. It was overlooked by apartments on PIlgrim St but this didn't bother us. The room itself was well furnished and very spacious for a standard double. Roscoe House is on our "Would happily stay there again" list!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Although advertised as a 4* hotel, it definatly is not. I stayed there with my wife, two kids and young grandchild. All we wanted was a fairly cheap but adaquate place to stay for two nights, And for this purpose roscoe house was ideal.
Good points - Friendly staff, decent facilities, decent price and great location.
Bad points - No air-con, doors heavy and hard to open/close, noisey (although with the location you can't expect anything else) and could do with updating.
In summary if your looking for luxury then pass by but if your looking for a place to crash thats close to city centre and quite a decent price then roscoe house is ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel can be noisey but have hot showers. While rooms at the back are quiter b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FlimbyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for Open Golf weekend, what a dump. Scruffy, no toiletries at all, no hot water, no mirrors in bedroom so drying hair a challenge. No wardrobe door, curtains hanging off the rail, no shaving mirror, appalling lighting, pillows more like breeze blocks, etc, etc. Couldn't wait to leave. Website is a total misrepresentation.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Im sorry but to describe this as a boutique four star hotel is like describing a donkey as a racing horse. On the postitive side the location was good and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were also clean but........where do I start.....the paintwork was flaking, the carpet was stained, there was only half a toilet roll in the bathroom and typically it ran out, the towel rail was hanging off the wall as was the bedroom door, there was one small bar of soap in the bathroom, the windows were painted shut, there was no hot water, the television kept making barking noises, the wifi continuously locked us out, the kitchenette and bathroom were dingy and desparately needed attention, I thought the black splodges in the bath were spiders but they were actually holes........ Describing this as a four star hotel is surely a criminal offence?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TracyS841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
hope street hotel
#13 of 99 in Liverpool
2,106 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#62 of 99 in Liverpool
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#51 of 99 in Liverpool
281 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#58 of 99 in Liverpool
597 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#36 of 99 in Liverpool
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $66 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing