We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Fantastic little hotel just a five mintue walk into the centre of Liverpool. Discounted car parking in the cathedral car park too was a fantastic little bonus aswel. Was very surprised by the room, was just like my own flat at home, perfect with everything you need and very spacious!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Roscoe House for one night and we were glad it wasn't any longer! I'm sure it was once lovely but it seems like nothing has been done to the house for decades, the whole place is in desperate need of work. There are threadbare and stained carpets, our room had peeling paint and wallpaper, a broken mirror and the torn curtains had been repaired with a staple gun!! The ancient plumbing system makes terrible groaning noises every time someone in the place turns on a tap or flushes a loo. We had no hot water at night and in the morning we had to run the tap for 10 mins before the shower got hot - not very economical nor very convenient for paying guests. When we complained about the lack of hot water, the lady on reception was lovely, and very sympathetic, it seems it is a common complaint here. Just because it is an old property, there is no excuse not to update or solve the plumbing issues they have if they expect people to come and pay to stay here.

How it has 4 stars I don't know, the only thing 4 star about this place is the service. I certainly wouldn't recommend staying here until they improve it, there are loads other nicer places to stay in Liverpool, don't waste your money on Roscoe House.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with a couple of friends. I must say from the moment we entered the hotel until we left the front door we could not fault anything at all, staff are extremely polite as are the housekeepers. Every member of there team seems to be an asset to the owner. Our room was very spacious with a kitchenette which was a lovely surprise and the beds were very comfortable as we'll. truly this stay was a home away from home and I will definitely stay again when I return to Liverpool

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lc4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Myself and a friend recently stay in Roscoe House and we thought that the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and a great size. The location was also brilliant as it was only a 5 minute walk to the city centre. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynFriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My first time in Liverpool and we couldn't have picked a better hotel in a better location.
Me and my Fiance stayed here for three nights. The staff are great, rooms are huge and lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. We had a small kitchen in our room which came in handy. Its 5 minutes walk from the clubs and pubs but there is a nice place around the corner for drinks called Hanna's. We will be definitely staying here again if we get the chance to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

stayed for a one night getaway with my fiance, we had a lovely time. staff were friendly and refreshingly informal. duvet was so comfy we checked the label and went shopping for the same one for home the next day. tiniest issue with shower taking a long time to heat up but it did eventually.

Room Tip: ground floor exec double is beautiful, grand piano in room was a lovely focus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found this room on lastminute.com and overall our stay was good value for money. We asked for a room for 2 but were given a very big room, with a double and two single beds, sofa, dining table and chairs, small kitchen and bathroom! The staff were helpful, as it was our first time to the hotel and also to the city. The location is very good - right near china town and not too far from the docks etc, except we had to walk with our luggage from the 24 hour car park as the hotel does not have parking. The room was clean, but some of the decoration and amenities were a bit "tired", including the shower (the pressure was not great). Also agree with other comments made about the noisy plumbing. We were also a bit confused about the breakfast - we were asked to select which preserves we wanted but were given no toast with it. However, it was brought to our door at a time of our choosing which was nice. Room was very warm, and overall we did have a nice stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
hope street hotel
#13 of 98 in Liverpool
2,106 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#61 of 98 in Liverpool
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#50 of 98 in Liverpool
281 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
596 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#36 of 98 in Liverpool
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $66 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing