We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget chic in Liverpool city centre”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #67 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Conveniently located, very nice room with separate lounge area, staff very friendly and helpful. Good, no frills accommodation close to China town, Ropewalks district, cathedrals and universities. On-street parking can be paid for online or by text.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear LindaM21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on Great service and Cleanliness of Roscoe House. Glad you found all the staff friendly and Helpful, and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 346 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Roscoe House in Liverpool, UK. We paid about 230 pounds for both nights. The room had no phone. There was no control over the heating. As there was no phone in the room, we had to go to the Lobby to ask how to turn the heating on. The person came to check it and could not have it started either. He went back to the lobby and called someone who told him that the heating would be on only after 6:00 PM !!! There was tea, sugar and cream available in the room. My wife prepared a cup of tea and had to throw it away because the cream was spoiled. On our way back to the room on the second night there was a terrible, foul smell, coming from the carpet directly outside our door (see picture attached). We could not shower on the day we left because there was no hot water and the water was just dripping. I do not recommend this hotel at all. For the price we paid we expected much more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lampiao0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Lampia0,

Thank you for taking the time to review Roscoe House. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We must however point out Roscoe House is not a Hotel and neither advertises as a Hotel. We our Guest accommodation therefore we don't provide the same amenities. Eg Phones in every room. This has indeed being pointed out many times before on this forum. It is very rarely that we receive any complaints about our heating as we have quite an efficient system. However, we are always happy to provide extra heaters to any guests who may require additional heating in their room.

Referring to the Picture you have posted, that is an old mark on the floor which was accidentally made by a contractor who accidentally put a greasy tool bag down when they were doing some work in the building a week or so ago. The stain was treated immediately by our housekeeper and it will be completely removed when our carpets are professionally cleaned before Christmas, a task which we undertake very regularly. You and I both know that there is no smell coming from it. If you were really that condensed about the mark and smell you think was coming from it, why did you not report it to reception during your stay or indeed mention it on check out?.

I must apologise for any issue which you may have experienced with hot water on the morning which you left. The problem was with the hot and cold water supply and was caused by a burst water pipe on the street which contractors were working urgently to repair. The repairs were completed by 10.30AM. Unfortunately this matter was completely beyond our control as it affected the entire street.
We do hope you enjoyed your visit to our city and that you may re-consider and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel in November after booking a last minute hotel via an online booking company.

The building itself is an old grade 2 listed building with a lot of character and charm and in a location in easy walking distance to china town, shopping centres and the docks so no need to drive or get taxis.

Unfortunately we found the hotel interior to be quite dated and run down. Our particular room was large, had a separate kitchen and bathroom. There was a sofa, tv and dining table in the room with ample storage space for belongings. The room looked nothing like the few pictures on the hotels website. We found a few faults with our room which with a little TLC could have made our opinion off the hotel much better. The paint on the radiators was peeling off, the door between kitchen, bathroom and bedroom did not shut (needs rehanging) and the double bed base was broken resulting in a poor nights sleep. The bathroom was very dated and the shower was terribly underpowered resulting in a dribble of water rather than a jet.

I would suggest if you do stay here to visit the cathedral just at the top of the road. It's the largest cathedral in the UK and benefits from FREE entry. You can park your car here too for £6 for 24 hours.

I would not stay at the Roscoe again and would suggest that unless you get a real bargain you may be disappointed. In my opinion this hotel should be priced around £25-£30 a night and with a bit of TLC it could easily be brought back to the quality hotel it claims to be.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Martriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Martriz,

Thank you for taking the time to review Roscoe House Guest Accommodation. We our in the middle of refurbishment and updating rooms, but as we our a small independent company we can only look one room at a time, and the studio apartment you stayed in is on the list.

We also recommend the Liverpool Cathedral at the end of Rodney street. The £6 for 24 hours is organised by Roscoe House only for Roscoe House Guests,.

Its a shame you did not enjoy your stay at Roscoe House and mention your problems whilst staying with us here. We our always open and welcome for feed back of any sort.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Found Roscoe House rather by accident, but I knew that it simply provided a bed for the night. Located in a fine old building (I was attending a conference on heritage and conservation so I tend to notice such things), the inside public areas are a bit tired and soul-less. However the room, more like a suite was clean modern and quite contemporary. It comprised a large bedroom, with connecting lounge/sitting area, and a gigantic bathroom, big enough to swing several cats.. Much more than I expected for a very modest price. Only down side was lack of breakfast provision. No breakfast room. Breakfast had to be ordered the evening before, was only a continental breakfast, and as I was advised by the chap at reception, it didn't amount to much. So I decided to have breakfast out on both mornings. There are plently cafes and restaurants nearby, many with an ethnic menu. Overall, I had a good bed for the night, which was all a really needed at a very modest price. Could have done with a full english in house to get me going in the morning.

Room Tip: I have no tips to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent great time in Liverpool and especially in Roscoe House! It is near the railway station and city centre and it is convenient. My room was really clean, very comfortable and cosy! The hotel is excellent! The staff is fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GolMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear GolMax,

Thank you for taking the time to write Roscoe House this review, Very Glad you found the staff to be Fabulous and Roscoe House to be Excellent, We work hard ourselves in trying to Create a warm welcoming atmosphere so our guest feel Comfortable and Cosy.
Hope to See you again

Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here in the family room over night. The room was massive, with a seperate bathroom. It was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The young couple on reception were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is ideally located within an easy walk to both tourist areas and shops.Although they don't have parking, an arrangement was made at a nearby car park, where we could leave the car for 24hours for £6. Unfortunately they don't provide breakfast which was the only disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Sue J

Thank you for your review. We are glad to here you enjoyed the family room you stayed in and found the decor beautiful. We do provide breakfast, which is fully continental and served to the room for an extra cost, I do apologies if this information was not passed over and will make sure it is in the future. Glad you found the arrangement we have with Liverpool car parking suitable.
Hope to see you all again,

Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found Roscoe House through Trip Advisor as a last minute booking after having a particularly bad experience at a different hotel, and could not of been happier with our stay. The room was clean, contemporary and comfortable, with everything we needed... tea, coffee, extra pillows, tv, lovely bed, and friendly service. And just round the corner from the Philharmonic where we were heading for a concert, so will definitely be back again in the future as well as recommending to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202, which had a separate 'living room' with sofa, desk and extra tv which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank flowerstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear FlowerStudio

Thank you for such a lovely review.
We our very pleased to hear you could not have been happier with your stay here and you would definitely come back and recommend us. We are extremely please to know our service was friendly, and the room was Clean and comfortable.

Hope to see you again.
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
hope street hotel
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
2,117 reviews
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#63 of 99 in Liverpool
49 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#54 of 99 in Liverpool
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $68 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing