We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always :)”

Etsu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 1,748 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Description: Since opening in November 2007, Etsu has become a welcome addition to Liverpool’s eating out scene and has won numerous awards including Restaurant of the Year in 2009 and being crowned ‘The UK’s Greatest Japanese Restaurant’ by Eat Japan in 2010. With the help of three highly trained Japanese national chefs, who between them have over 60 years experience, Etsu offers diners fresh authentic Japanese cuisine served in a cosy and relaxed atmosphere.Its menu comprises of a wide range of Japanese dishes to suit all tastes, from traditional sushi and sashimi to speciality meat and fish dishes. Etsu also has experienced Japanese waiting on staff who will be able to answer most queries regarding all Japan related enquires from the food to the culture. This popular little restaurant is one of Liverpool’s best restaurant gems receiving numerous rave reviews and has been consistently in Trip Advisors top 3 out of a Liverpool’s 229 restaurants for the last 2 years. Be sure to book to ensure you don’t miss out!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent as always :)”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just been tonight for (about my 4th or 5th visit), had the Swordfish (chef's special tonight) with Ponzu sauce. Ice cold crisp Asahi draft alongside, then followed up with black sesame icecream, green tea, and some Shochu to round it all off. All absolutely delicious.
Staff helpful and friend as always, nice relaxing evening to end the day.
Can't wait for my next visit :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Urgentemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    167
    41
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little gem in Liverpool”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you like good sushi, this is the place to go! The sashimi is yummy, as is the seared tuna and the prices are really quite reasonable for the quality of food you are receiving. With the lovely helpful waiting staff my boyfriend and I have had two really good meals here and Im sure we willl go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango_Tango45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very Tasty - Very Good Restaurant”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The venue is surprisingly small, and the seats are close together so its not as private as it could have been. However the food is really good and tasty. It seems to have all been made fresh and the selection was wide. I got the Tuna for the main and it was fantastic, my partner got the crispy chicken which was good. The service was also really good. We had a really enjoyable visit and i would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metropolitan_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, helpful service; tasty food.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ate here, party of four, for an 80th. birthday. They allowed us to take our own cake, and sang Happy Birthday when they served it. The food was prettily served, and tasty, and our waitress explained the various dishes well. Would eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank franvinaigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

very nice place,staf and lovely food.i vas there day before valentine day vith my fionce and we was pleast vith staf.food and stile of it vas great.we allready thinking vhen ve can come again.cheers

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Etsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing