We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, super value for money”

Etsu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 1,680 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Description: Since opening in November 2007, Etsu has become a welcome addition to Liverpool’s eating out scene and has won numerous awards including Restaurant of the Year in 2009 and being crowned ‘The UK’s Greatest Japanese Restaurant’ by Eat Japan in 2010. With the help of three highly trained Japanese national chefs, who between them have over 60 years experience, Etsu offers diners fresh authentic Japanese cuisine served in a cosy and relaxed atmosphere.Its menu comprises of a wide range of Japanese dishes to suit all tastes, from traditional sushi and sashimi to speciality meat and fish dishes. Etsu also has experienced Japanese waiting on staff who will be able to answer most queries regarding all Japan related enquires from the food to the culture. This popular little restaurant is one of Liverpool’s best restaurant gems receiving numerous rave reviews and has been consistently in Trip Advisors top 3 out of a Liverpool’s 229 restaurants for the last 2 years. Be sure to book to ensure you don’t miss out!
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food, super value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

In a city well-served with restaurants this is our third visit to Etsu.
Excellent place with friendly and efficient staff, great quality Japanese food and very good prices.
If Japanese food is your thing you should try out Etsu, you wont be dissapointed.
Book early if it's a weekend, it fills up fast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RadlettGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    158
    40
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

went for my son's 18 birthday with family , we all were disapointed , before went read reviews , why i chosen etsu , food was poor , sushi from rice only , main dishes were disapointing , staff was friendly , but slow , interior worn out and restoran needs renovation, cant recomend anybody , better to visit tepanyiaki , visited few times and enjoyed food there all the time

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We visited for my girlfriends birthday recently. outstanding.

The service was excellent, even down to the candle in the wasabi!

Food was prepared to a high standard, the eel California roll really stood out.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dukerarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped for, and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We visited here for my birthday in October 2012. The staff were really friendly and offered to help should we need it. Plus we had a little "happy birthday" marker on our table and 2 origami chopstick rests, all 3 hand made by the manageress.
They had offered for further birthday fun, but my partner had declined (thankfully.... I am shy!).
The food..... well, I don't think I can eloquently describe it. It was delicious. It was exquisitely cooked and presented, and I would not hesitate in recommending this restaurant to diners who are used to or new to Japanese cuisine. There was a great selection too.
To finish we had a plum wine each. It was something I had read about, but never tasted. What a delight! So refreshing and light, not at all syrupy or jammy as I thought.
I cannot wait to book again. I have noted some friends' birthdays in January.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemonkeybix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Went yesterday with the girlfriend.
Food was really good, sushi selection to start with. Mains excellent too, chicken Katsu curry and seabass with ponzu sauce. Should try the interesting ice creams, black sesame seed and green tea flavours are nice and something different. Great service all evening too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgb12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Etsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing