We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Dairy Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Perfect for what we needed. Owner was lovely, welcoming and really helpful with information before and during our stay. We had an early ferry departure and woke up to a 'packed' breakfast as it was before normal breakfast hours. It felt like we were staying in the spare room of a friend. Rooms were spotless, as were the showers and kitchen area which we could use. Internet was fast which is not as common as you would think. Close to city centre. Would stay here again and would recommend. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_H820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you, it was a total pleasure. Glad you enjoyed the "packed breakfast" and gave us 5 stars for value, thank you so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights and felt at home directly. The owners and personal are so friendly and helpfull. Rooms are very clean. Very good value for the money! The free WIFI works allright in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It was pleasure to meet you both, Thank you for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

As a coach driver I stay many places .the old dairy fine (v)friendly place. I little tricky to find nice quiet street a short bus ride from town . Parking not to bad if you can fine a space in the street be to ask where's best. Only thing some rooms have to share a shower. But fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an all important review .
We are so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us as it appears that we managed to tick most of the boxes for you ! Great ! The room you were booked into was our Double with shared bathrooms facilities.

Out of our 12 rooms only 2 do not have their own full ensuite bathroom. Rm 7 has own loo & basin with use of comunal shower room - this is our 'Double shared bathroom' Rm 1 - our 'twin shared bathroom' has no ensuite at all however we do have 2 communal bathrooms on our ground floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice and had a great experience - good value, very clean, comfy and quiet, lovely breakfast. Run by a friendly couple who were very helpful with local information etc. It's on the bus route into the city centre, or a cheap taxi ride away. I would definately recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. It was a pleasure to have you both here, twice ! we look forward to having your visiting families stay with us in the future. Thank yunonce again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beds were extremely comfy, quiet location, friendly owners. Shower was amazing, lots of chanels on the TV. Good price, little bit far to walk to the city centre but taxis were much cheaper than expected! Would definitely recommend :)

Hannah & Joe

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so mjuch for the great review ! So glad that you enjoyed your short break with us, the pleasure was all ours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Michelle and David were very friendly and helpful people. the rooms were good and spacious,
the taxis's vary in price we used the same company staretd out at £4.50 and by the end of our stay went up to £6.80 can work out a bit exspencive going back and too.
but a nice quite spot no noise.
would go back again but would look at maybe finding the train or some other way of getting about as i have been told when we got back that you can get cheap day tickets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time leave feedback.
WE are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Old Dairy, it would be our pleasure to see you return for another visit.

** note to potential new customers **
Single bus journey to city is £2.20, day ticket for bus only £4.00 (per adult),children £1.40 single ride .If more than 2 adults in the party the a taxi can still be the cheapest way to get to & from city using Delta Cabs 0151 922 7373 if only doing 2 journeys a day.
SAve away travel ticket £ 3.60 adults ( all day travel on buses & trains within Zone C) Children £2.10 This is a GOOD ticket to buy if you will take multiple journeys around the area. Can be bought from post offices, train stations, corner shops and merseytravel shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Aintree weekend is my Favorite weekend of the year. And a big part of that is our annual stay at the Old Dairy and the hospitality provided by Dave and Michelle.
We have stayed at the Old Dairy for the last 3 years and it was great to come back this year and see all the improvements that have been made, which make the Old Dairy even better! New en-suits with brilliant showers!! Really comfortable new beds and nice new bedroom fittings. The place really does look good!
The location of the Old Dairy is great, 5 minutes in a taxi to the city centre. It's Ideal!
Dave and Michelle are brilliant hosts and could not do any more! (Michelle even does our ties before we go to the races!!) Thank you for another great stay and hope to see you again!!
I Would definitely recommend the Old Dairy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for making time to leave such positive feedback,its invaluable to us. Its so good that you noted the big improvements and still you got value for money. We do continue to strive and work hard to provide better facilities & services along with ensuring guests still get good value.
As always, the pleasure was all ours, if our guests are happy, especially those who manage to return year on year, then we are more than happy. Perhaps by next year the new dining room !! But please, for next year... do try to improve your tie tying skills !!! Lol !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,349 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassie Independent Hostel
#28 of 118 in Liverpool
144 reviews
Central Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
#14 of 118 in Liverpool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Guest House

Address: 39A Kempton Road | Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: $47 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Dairy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House provides warm hospitality with excellent value for money & excellent customer service with the provision of everything you could possibly want for your short stay here in Liverpool.Consider it your 'home away from home'. We are a Budget Guest House for those who have a limited budget but prefer quiet environment to rest away from the busy city. The Old Dairy has often been referred to as a 'hidden gem' is tucked away in a quiet, residential neighbourhood just a short bus ride from Liverpool's bustling city centre (2 miles) We were once a working dairy serving the local neighbourhood in bygone days. All of our guest bedrooms are modern and stylish, providing our guests with a very comfortable base to stay. Each room is furnished to very comfortable and modern standard providing all divan base beds in our double & twin rooms. Our Family room has double bed & 2 twin divan beds, our Triples have double bed & 1 single. We like our guests to feel at home so we provide all of our bedrooms with tea making facilities & complimentary tea & coffee as well as Flat screen digital TV/DVD players, plenty of hanging & storage space plus dressing mirror. Free wi-fi internet throughout the building. There is also free guest information pack in the guest rooms as well in our foyer. Bathroom toiletries are also included in all of our bathrooms both shared and en suites. Hair-dryers in all room & Irons and Ironing boards are also available at reception. The Old Dairy has an amply equipped mini kitchen/diner with refrigerator, 24 hr free tea and coffee; microwave oven, toasters & dishwasher, even the forgotten corkscrew! We don't impose any curfew so guests can come and go as they please as all rooms have own keys once guests are checked-in. Our apologies but we DO NOT accept bookings from Stag or Hen parties, boozing parties or similar as we want to provide a peaceful place for those who want somewhere quiet with warm hospitality. We will accept groups of walkers, cyclists or similar(those who don't intend to be partying !)who like a quiet peaceful place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing