We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value in L15”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Dairy Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great find; absolutely the best place I've ever stayed in this price range. The bedrooms are good sized, clean and comfortable with little touches (body wash in the bathroom; tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer in the bedroom) that even more expensive places don't always provide. Our room was warm enough to keep even my elderly mother comfortable but there are also additional blankets. A huge bonus is the kitchen where you can prepare simple meals or eat a takeaway in comfort. Breakfast is, astoundingly for this price, included and is 'all you can eat' cereals, waffles, croissants, toasts, crumpets.......... Well, you get the idea. I was surprised to see other reviewers describing it as a 'rough' area. This is where Liverpool working class meets studentland so it isn't pretty. But the surrounding terraced houses are well cared for and there is a thriving shopping area just a couple of streets away which is active well into the night; very useful for takeaways or to buy groceries. It's also very quiet; there's virtually no traffic. As others have said, David and Michelle are charming hosts who are working hard to upgrade all the rooms as well as keep current guests happy.
Is there anything not to like? Don't stay here if you want to be surrounded by the noise and bright lights of the city. The Old Dairy is in a peaceful area. If you were paying double the price, you might feel the kitchen is a little spartan but again, for the price it's an amazing amenity. The only other drawback? It's likely to be another 6 months or so before we can go back.

Room Tip: Stairs to the first floor rooms are quite steep; my 83 year old Mum got up them with no problem but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radio_hack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much, reviews like this one make it all seem worthwhile!!
Will be looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 341 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a one night stay at this guest house and can say that we had a very pleasant experience. We were welcomed upon arrival by the 'humorous' Dave who has a typical Scouse wit!! We paid for one of the en-suite rooms which was a perfect size for us as a couple and came with a sofa and a bath (which we didn't get in the Travelodge which we stayed in the night before!!) The breakfast is a cold buffet, full of variety for even a picky eater, so there was no danger of going hungry in the morning. Overall, we would definitely recommend this place, especially for couples and people who want a more hospitable experience than what the big chains can provide. The owners are very welcoming and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom with other guests, the extra money for an en-suite room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnickerlessNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review, its obviously very important to us to know what our customers think. Glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully it wont be the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

In one word ' fantastic' In more, David and Michelle were great hosts, very helpful with travel arrangements around Liverpool for the Marathon that weekend. The room was spotless, well presented and had everything you would need for great weekend stay. Bathroom was clean, modern and well ventilated so having a bath was bliss. The breakfast had everything you could ask for and plenty of it, they even made sure we had access to everything for an early breakfast on the morning of the run. On street parking was easy, with a 3 minute walk to the bus stop it was less than 10 minutes into the centre, so saved a bundle on parking! A huge thank you from Karen and Craig.

Room Tip: If you have a special requirement, ask David and Michelle who are so helpful it was a pleasure to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful review, it makes it all worthwhile when our guests feel that we have provided value for money with excellent service etc See you next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The old dairy in brief: big, stylish, comfortable rooms, incredibly friendly service, great breakfast, free wifi, easy bus links to city centre and airport - STAY HERE!,

My five year old son and I flew into Liverpool airport yesterday (the fabulously named John Lennon airport) and we needed somewhere relatively inexpensive to stay for one night before heading back up the road to Glasgow.

I found the old dairy here on trip advisor and I'd like to thank everyone who reviewed it before me. It's brilliant.

We followed the instructions on the website and took the bus then a short walk to the b&b - the bus cost just £2.

We're on a tight budget after a week long holiday in Spain and this place was a great price for a big room with an ensuite.

Two weeks ago I stayed in the Bloomsbury Holiday Inn - their room tariff was 450 per night. The old dairy is ten times nicer than that hotel and at a tenth of the price!

Our room is spacious, beautifully furnished, the bathroom is spotless, huge, the water pressure great and the water hot, we're using the free wifi now. The bed was so comfortable, I had a great night sleep. There are a lot of people here tonight but I didn't hear anyone at all.

We took a bus journey to the city centre last night, £3.50 for me and my son, took about ten minutes.

Breakfast was great, a huge choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, pastries and treats like waffles and pancakes (which my son got stuck into) - this place is obviously both a lovely b&b and a hostel and I recommend it for anyone.

And again- David and Michelle who run the place were so incredibly friendly to me and my son.

Did I mention it's great?

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Animanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Wow ! Thank you so much for an amazing review. Its all just part of what we do but, with reviews such as this, it just makes it worthwhile :)
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The good:
-very friendly and welcoming staff
-free WiFi available
-free parking on the street
-very tidy rooms
-great breakfast in the morning (included in price)
-spacious room with coordinated bedding
-coffee machine in the room

The not-so-good:
-far from city centre (it was about 10 min drive from downtown, but took considerably longer by public transport)
-the bed was not comfortable

Overall, I would stay there again since the price (£35) was great, and the hosts are very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Old Dairy for 3 days in the weekend. We booked a twin room and got a double bed and a single bed. The matrass of the single bed was terrible. My friends back was broken after 3 days

Our room wasn't cleaned and we didn't get any fresh towels during the 3 day stay.
The hostel is in a bad neighbourhood where you can't walk around at night. You have to get a taxi back, too far for a walk from the city centre. We booked this hostel because it was rated 8.8 at booking.com. Nothing is true about this and I won't go back here for another stay.

Theo and Eric

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Well we are very surprised and sorry to see that your stay was not a good one. We dont recall your advising us at the time that you were in any way unhappy about any of the above points raised in your review. It is always preferable that an unhappy guest tells us of any problems they have during their stay to enable us to put them right at the time,rather than to have to reply to what could be a very damaging online review.
The single bed mattress: if you had expressed its discomfort we could have changed it for hopefully a better one. We only know of its discomfort if advised, preferable not online after check-out.
As a guest house (we are not a hostel as stated) we advise you at check-in that your room is not serviced each day but will be on the 3rd day, if you need fresh towels we ask you to leave the dirty ones outside by the door. You did not do this.
The neighbourhood: We are located in an old typical residential neighbourhood(as stated), on the periphery of the city centre where most of the housing in terraced. Owing to is proximity to the city centre and our universities & good public transport, many students choose to live in the area. We dont therefore understand your comments "you cant walk around at night", Why not ? Your are statisically safer in the residential neighbourhood than in the city centre itself. You dont have to take a taxis you can use the excellent but route at the top of the road.
The location to city centre: Our property has not moved since the booking was made i.e it is still 1.8 miles from the start of the city centre as advertised. If that is too far for walking then that is what needs to be considered before you book with us.
Once again we are very sorry that your expectations were apparently not met. At The Old Dairy it is our mission to exceed guests expectations and in many many cases we do, as the majority of our reviews on all websites including Tripadvisor, would indicate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay, I was pleasantly surprised as it is tucked away in a residential area and hidden behind an alley gate but once you get in you're right at home! Really cost effective but the quality of the place and rooms didn't slip one bit! I stayed with my boyfriend for one night, we got a great welcome from Michelle, stayed in a lovely comfy and clean room, then went out for the night. Its only £4 in a private hire taxi into town from there. When we got back we weren't disturbed by other guests and didn't manage to wake up until after breakfast we were so comfy! Highly recommended, especially on a Saturday when nearby hotels are more than double the price from what I saw.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19kg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for taking valuable time to review us. It certainly looks like we delivered on all counts for you, suffice to say, its all in a days work for us. Glad your birthday weekend was a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,350 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassie Independent Hostel
#28 of 118 in Liverpool
144 reviews
Central Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
#14 of 118 in Liverpool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Guest House

Address: 39A Kempton Road | Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: $47 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Dairy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House provides warm hospitality with excellent value for money & excellent customer service with the provision of everything you could possibly want for your short stay here in Liverpool.Consider it your 'home away from home'. We are a Budget Guest House for those who have a limited budget but prefer quiet environment to rest away from the busy city. The Old Dairy has often been referred to as a 'hidden gem' is tucked away in a quiet, residential neighbourhood just a short bus ride from Liverpool's bustling city centre (2 miles) We were once a working dairy serving the local neighbourhood in bygone days. All of our guest bedrooms are modern and stylish, providing our guests with a very comfortable base to stay. Each room is furnished to very comfortable and modern standard providing all divan base beds in our double & twin rooms. Our Family room has double bed & 2 twin divan beds, our Triples have double bed & 1 single. We like our guests to feel at home so we provide all of our bedrooms with tea making facilities & complimentary tea & coffee as well as Flat screen digital TV/DVD players, plenty of hanging & storage space plus dressing mirror. Free wi-fi internet throughout the building. There is also free guest information pack in the guest rooms as well in our foyer. Bathroom toiletries are also included in all of our bathrooms both shared and en suites. Hair-dryers in all room & Irons and Ironing boards are also available at reception. The Old Dairy has an amply equipped mini kitchen/diner with refrigerator, 24 hr free tea and coffee; microwave oven, toasters & dishwasher, even the forgotten corkscrew! We don't impose any curfew so guests can come and go as they please as all rooms have own keys once guests are checked-in. Our apologies but we DO NOT accept bookings from Stag or Hen parties, boozing parties or similar as we want to provide a peaceful place for those who want somewhere quiet with warm hospitality. We will accept groups of walkers, cyclists or similar(those who don't intend to be partying !)who like a quiet peaceful place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing