We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant, friendly, stylish - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Dairy Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Partick
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant, friendly, stylish - highly recommended”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The old dairy in brief: big, stylish, comfortable rooms, incredibly friendly service, great breakfast, free wifi, easy bus links to city centre and airport - STAY HERE!,

My five year old son and I flew into Liverpool airport yesterday (the fabulously named John Lennon airport) and we needed somewhere relatively inexpensive to stay for one night before heading back up the road to Glasgow.

I found the old dairy here on trip advisor and I'd like to thank everyone who reviewed it before me. It's brilliant.

We followed the instructions on the website and took the bus then a short walk to the b&b - the bus cost just £2.

We're on a tight budget after a week long holiday in Spain and this place was a great price for a big room with an ensuite.

Two weeks ago I stayed in the Bloomsbury Holiday Inn - their room tariff was 450 per night. The old dairy is ten times nicer than that hotel and at a tenth of the price!

Our room is spacious, beautifully furnished, the bathroom is spotless, huge, the water pressure great and the water hot, we're using the free wifi now. The bed was so comfortable, I had a great night sleep. There are a lot of people here tonight but I didn't hear anyone at all.

We took a bus journey to the city centre last night, £3.50 for me and my son, took about ten minutes.

Breakfast was great, a huge choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, pastries and treats like waffles and pancakes (which my son got stuck into) - this place is obviously both a lovely b&b and a hostel and I recommend it for anyone.

And again- David and Michelle who run the place were so incredibly friendly to me and my son.

Did I mention it's great?

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Animanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Wow ! Thank you so much for an amazing review. Its all just part of what we do but, with reviews such as this, it just makes it worthwhile :)
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    94
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
78
96
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The good:
-very friendly and welcoming staff
-free WiFi available
-free parking on the street
-very tidy rooms
-great breakfast in the morning (included in price)
-spacious room with coordinated bedding
-coffee machine in the room

The not-so-good:
-far from city centre (it was about 10 min drive from downtown, but took considerably longer by public transport)
-the bed was not comfortable

Overall, I would stay there again since the price (£35) was great, and the hosts are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Old Dairy for 3 days in the weekend. We booked a twin room and got a double bed and a single bed. The matrass of the single bed was terrible. My friends back was broken after 3 days

Our room wasn't cleaned and we didn't get any fresh towels during the 3 day stay.
The hostel is in a bad neighbourhood where you can't walk around at night. You have to get a taxi back, too far for a walk from the city centre. We booked this hostel because it was rated 8.8 at booking.com. Nothing is true about this and I won't go back here for another stay.

Theo and Eric

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank e b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Well we are very surprised and sorry to see that your stay was not a good one. We dont recall your advising us at the time that you were in any way unhappy about any of the above points raised in your review. It is always preferable that an unhappy guest tells us of any problems they have during their stay to enable us to put them right at the time,rather than to have to reply to what could be a very damaging online review.
The single bed mattress: if you had expressed its discomfort we could have changed it for hopefully a better one. We only know of its discomfort if advised, preferable not online after check-out.
As a guest house (we are not a hostel as stated) we advise you at check-in that your room is not serviced each day but will be on the 3rd day, if you need fresh towels we ask you to leave the dirty ones outside by the door. You did not do this.
The neighbourhood: We are located in an old typical residential neighbourhood(as stated), on the periphery of the city centre where most of the housing in terraced. Owing to is proximity to the city centre and our universities & good public transport, many students choose to live in the area. We dont therefore understand your comments "you cant walk around at night", Why not ? Your are statisically safer in the residential neighbourhood than in the city centre itself. You dont have to take a taxis you can use the excellent but route at the top of the road.
The location to city centre: Our property has not moved since the booking was made i.e it is still 1.8 miles from the start of the city centre as advertised. If that is too far for walking then that is what needs to be considered before you book with us.
Once again we are very sorry that your expectations were apparently not met. At The Old Dairy it is our mission to exceed guests expectations and in many many cases we do, as the majority of our reviews on all websites including Tripadvisor, would indicate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay, I was pleasantly surprised as it is tucked away in a residential area and hidden behind an alley gate but once you get in you're right at home! Really cost effective but the quality of the place and rooms didn't slip one bit! I stayed with my boyfriend for one night, we got a great welcome from Michelle, stayed in a lovely comfy and clean room, then went out for the night. Its only £4 in a private hire taxi into town from there. When we got back we weren't disturbed by other guests and didn't manage to wake up until after breakfast we were so comfy! Highly recommended, especially on a Saturday when nearby hotels are more than double the price from what I saw.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19kg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking valuable time to review us. It certainly looks like we delivered on all counts for you, suffice to say, its all in a days work for us. Glad your birthday weekend was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself and my sister stayed at the Old Dairy for one night, it was a really enjoyable experience from start to finish. The hosts, Michelle and David are very friendly, welcoming and helpful - the family run business adds a personal touch which is lovely. We originally hesitated about staying at the Old Dairy due to the non availability of an en suit bathroom (which we wanted due to medical circumstances) however after ringing Dave, he assured me that if one is made available this will be reserved for us and we were pleased to see that Dave had done this for us upon arrival. The room was immaculate,modern, comfortable and the en suite was perfect! We stayed in Liverpool for a night out on the town as part of a hen party ( only two of us from the hen party stayed here, its obvious to see why the hosts do not allow for hen/stag parties due to the residential location, however dont be put off if you want a good night out - we were out until the eary hours of the morning and had no problems at all - as long as your not a rowdy drunk you will be welcomed!!) ,taxi was around 4 pound and was only a 5 min drive away- so great location. We left our car on the road and found the area to be safe. Breakfast was a great selection and all very clean. We woud definitely stay here again if we come to Liverpool, and would recommend to anybody!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to deliver such a great review !! Its so important to us so we can continue to improve in all areas. Glad you enjoyed your 'Old Dairy' experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Old Dairy last week-end, and I've got to say - it was a pretty uninspirational place. It was clean, but in desperate need of a refurb.

The hosts were fab, however - I think they can definitely turn the place around with a little bit of effort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are sorry to read that you found The Old Dairy uninspiring and expensive. Unfortunately, we dont sell inspiraration we sell budget rooms for the budget conscious traveller such as yourself; twin room with everything you could possibly need including wifi, sold at a price of £40 for bed &breakfast for 2 people on a Friday night!!
You did have one of our more basic rooms with shared bathroom facilities, however, as a result of them being more basic they are sold at a cheaper price than our newly refurbished ensuite rooms.
Your comment about needing a refurb - The Old Dairy is constantly being uprgraded and maintained; new ensuites planned this autum for downstairs rooms such as the one you stayed in, new reception area about to be unveiled this week so, thanks for the tip !
At The Old Dairy we always aim to exceed our guests expectations and the majority of the time we do, as our reviews and comments would indicate. Am not sure sure quite what you expected for the price you paid, or how long it tis since you last stayedat a Guesthouse however, value for money i am sure we delivered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Old Dairy is a welcoming and well looked after accomodation.
Our bedroom, great bed, and bathroom, even had a bathtub, were very comfortable and absolutely clean.
We enjoyed the breakfast - what a huge selection of pancakes, cereals, crupets, yoghurts etc.
A taxi to Lime Street station was 4 pound, 13 pound to the airport. We also used buses which run from Smithdown Road into the centre and to the airport frequently.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seeblick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#24 of 97 in Liverpool
484 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 97 in Liverpool
1,111 reviews
YHA Liverpool
#9 of 105 in Liverpool
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Guest House

Property: The Old Dairy Guest House
Address: 39A Kempton Road | Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Dairy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House provides warm hospitality with excellent value for money & excellent customer service with the provision of everything you could possibly want for your short stay here in Liverpool.Consider it your 'home away from home'. We are a Budget Guest House for those who have a limited budget but prefer quiet environment to rest away from the busy city. The Old Dairy has often been referred to as a 'hidden gem' is tucked away in a quiet, residential neighbourhood just a short bus ride from Liverpool's bustling city centre (2 miles) We were once a working dairy serving the local neighbourhood in bygone days. All of our guest bedrooms are modern and stylish, providing our guests with a very comfortable base to stay. Each room is furnished to very comfortable and modern standard providing all divan base beds in our double & twin rooms. Our Family room has double bed & 2 twin divan beds, our Triples have double bed & 1 single. We like our guests to feel at home so we provide all of our bedrooms with tea making facilities & complimentary tea & coffee as well as Flat screen digital TV/DVD players, plenty of hanging & storage space plus dressing mirror. Free wi-fi internet throughout the building. There is also free guest information pack in the guest rooms as well in our foyer. Bathroom toiletries are also included in all of our bathrooms both shared and en suites. Hair-dryers in all room & Irons and Ironing boards are also available at reception. The Old Dairy has an amply equipped mini kitchen/diner with refrigerator, 24 hr free tea and coffee; microwave oven, toasters & dishwasher, even the forgotten corkscrew! We don't impose any curfew so guests can come and go as they please as all rooms have own keys once guests are checked-in. Our apologies but we DO NOT accept bookings from Stag or Hen parties, boozing parties or similar as we want to provide a peaceful place for those who want somewhere quiet with warm hospitality. We will accept groups of walkers, cyclists or similar(those who don't intend to be partying !)who like a quiet peaceful place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing