We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Home in Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Dairy Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable Home in Liverpool”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Old Dairy is a welcoming and well looked after accomodation.
Our bedroom, great bed, and bathroom, even had a bathtub, were very comfortable and absolutely clean.
We enjoyed the breakfast - what a huge selection of pancakes, cereals, crupets, yoghurts etc.
A taxi to Lime Street station was 4 pound, 13 pound to the airport. We also used buses which run from Smithdown Road into the centre and to the airport frequently.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seeblick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    93
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
74
95
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Michelle and David were fantastic hosts. A traditional humorous Liverpudlian welcome, which was great after such a long journey.
The room was immaculate and welcoming, fixtures, bedding and towels all modern and tastefully complimented the room.
We had a great stay at the Old Dairy. Don't be put off by "street view" or location, it is tucked away behind iron gates and a secured door. What awaits is a warm welcome, comfortable and lovely room and amazing hosts.
Plenty of choice at breakfast aswell.
We'll be back again in October...but earlier this time!!!!! :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O1i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review and the gift you left for us, i was very touched! It somehow makes all the hard work seem worthwhile when guests show appreciation by taking time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This place is nice and Michelle and Dave who run it are great and really helpful. Unfortunately it's in quite a rough area but I think it'd be fine if you get taxis there and back. We tried to get public transport, big mistake. Good cheap place to stay with nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Old Dairy Liverpool. I would however like to respond to your comments about the area; The area is not a rough area, it is simply an old residential area of terraced homes which is typical of all areas surrounding our city centre. It is the chosen location for many students owing to the proximity to our universities and city centre. The bus route to the city is at the top of the street where at least 6 different buses can be taken to and from the city centre. taxis cost approx £5 from a reputable firm with a large fleet.
Hope this helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is unfortunately the last day me and my partner are staying at The Old Dairy. I was not too sure of what to expect but we have been pleasantly surprised.

My first impression on arrival was the cleanliness, everywhere was spotless with new beds and new (feather) pillows to boot. we are staying in room 8 which is quite spacious with an en-suite shower and an unexpected bath.

The facilities are fairly basic but plentiful with what there is. There is a kitchen that is well stocked with utensils etc. there is a dining area which is always clean and plenty of bathrooms about. Breakfast was excellent and there was always a lot on offer.

The Old Dairy is tooked away, not far from the city centre. I am from Merseyside and didn't know this existed.

On arrival we were greeted with warmth and made to feel at home. David and Michelle are a fantastic couple with a great sense of humour, they obviously put a lot of care and effort into the guest house.

We will be sorry to leave and will definitely be booking again. I would recommend The Old Dairy to anyone. It is great value, no thrills accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you Thank you for such a great review, although the pleasure was all ours ! If our guests are Happy then we are Happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I did my research carefully before booking a room at The Old Dairy, like you do, and decided to give it a try based on the reviews.
After booking a room, I did further research and some web sites described The old Dairy as a Guest House, some as a hotel and others as a hostel, so I was a little worried about what to expect. However, there was no need to Worry.
The Old Dairy is a lovely place, I feel it is excellent value for money, although it is not megger posh or anything, I would highly recommend it. I do a fair bit of travelling, and like to stay in nice places. I have to say, I have stayed in worse 4* star rated accommodation!
Some reviews stated that the entrance via the big iron gates were off putting, I feel this is not strictly true, the gate is open upon arrival and only closed after Dave & Michelle have left for the day (however, I never got to meet Michelle, tut tut!!) The gates are in no way off putting or an eye sore.
The Old Dairy is located a couple of miles from the city centre and the area/street is your basic working class area of modest terraced back to back houses. The street is quiet and safe, and we were able to park outside on the street without any problems.
If you’re planning a trip to Liverpool, I would highly recommend the Old Dairy. The room was large, modern and very clean, with a lovely big bathroom, lots of fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries, also with tea and coffee in the room. There are two kitchens that guest can use for making snacks etc, which was an added bonus.
Dave was very welcoming and friendly and as other reviews have stated it is like home from home.
The breakfast was varied simple continental self service, there was a good choice of toast, croissant, crumpets cereal and yogurts.
There is a bus stop about a five minute walk away with buses running regularly into the city centre, but I do feel having your own transport will make things easier. Liverpool has excellent road signs, so it’s not too difficult finding your way around.
All in all, if you are looking for a nice place to stay, that's not posh and stuffy, I would highly recommend The Old Dairy. I would definitely say that The old Dairy is more a hotel/guesthouse and definitely not a hostel, I think if you give it a try you will be pleasantly pleased you did.
I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: The Old Dairy has a mixture of en suite rooms and rooms with shared facilities, I personally would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee238_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for such a comprehensive and honest review. Michelle & I are hardworkiers who strive to provide a great service every time for all of our guests and it certainly appears that we definitely did this time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

got to the old dairy about 8 at night, when i had stated that we would be there at 6ish. my fault that i didnt let them know, but when i called to say that we were there, very friendly and it wasnt a problem! got in and nice twin room, we were the first to sleep in the beds as brand new! clean tidy and toilet and shower across the hall. keys brought to us about an hour later, but we were too bushed to go out anyway! met michelle and david the next morning, very helpful( lots of banter) as we were going sightseeing that day, and really helped with what was worth goin to see. lovely city, lots to do, shopping great, and got taxi back for £6. when came back we had been upgraded to en-suite twin room, and had brought our bags up for us while we were out! again, brand new beds! lovely large rooms, scupulously clean, tv and dvd player, and lots of tea and coffee. all in all a lovely place to stay, and my 16 year old son really liked it as well, and he doesnt like anything!!! thank u so much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abobbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Initially thought I had booked but found out not. David and Michelle were delightful and full of fun and wit. Loved their sense of humour and the banter even before we secured a room.
David could be an entertainer at the comedy club as he engages you and his staff. Great fun.
Room was very comfortable and breakfast "hit the spot".
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Dairy and it helped make the Liverpool stop-over quite memorable.
They appear to enjoy their lot in life and it shows in how they interact with "punters" like us.
Would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarcyIpswich1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you, the pleasure was all ours. A big thanks to you for taking time to leave a review, it is very important to us to know what our guests really think of the service we provide. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Guest House

Property: The Old Dairy Guest House
Address: 39A Kempton Road | Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Dairy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House provides warm hospitality with excellent value for money & excellent customer service with the provision of everything you could possibly want for your short stay here in Liverpool.Consider it your 'home away from home'. We are a Budget Guest House for those who have a limited budget but prefer quiet environment to rest away from the busy city. The Old Dairy has often been referred to as a 'hidden gem' is tucked away in a quiet, residential neighbourhood just a short bus ride from Liverpool's bustling city centre (2 miles) We were once a working dairy serving the local neighbourhood in bygone days. All of our guest bedrooms are modern and stylish, providing our guests with a very comfortable base to stay. Each room is furnished to very comfortable and modern standard providing all divan base beds in our double & twin rooms. Our Family room has double bed & 2 twin divan beds, our Triples have double bed & 1 single. We like our guests to feel at home so we provide all of our bedrooms with tea making facilities & complimentary tea & coffee as well as Flat screen digital TV/DVD players, plenty of hanging & storage space plus dressing mirror. Free wi-fi internet throughout the building. There is also free guest information pack in the guest rooms as well in our foyer. Bathroom toiletries are also included in all of our bathrooms both shared and en suites. Hair-dryers in all room & Irons and Ironing boards are also available at reception. The Old Dairy has an amply equipped mini kitchen/diner with refrigerator, 24 hr free tea and coffee; microwave oven, toasters & dishwasher, even the forgotten corkscrew! We don't impose any curfew so guests can come and go as they please as all rooms have own keys once guests are checked-in. Our apologies but we DO NOT accept bookings from Stag or Hen parties, boozing parties or similar as we want to provide a peaceful place for those who want somewhere quiet with warm hospitality. We will accept groups of walkers, cyclists or similar(those who don't intend to be partying !)who like a quiet peaceful place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Old Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing