We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap as Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City B&B
Ranked #63 of 77 Liverpool B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap as Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you plan a long term stay then this place isn't for you. If its a one night stay then its perfect for that except the location is a little off putting.

Looks can be deceiving from the outside but the bedrooms/shower rooms was very clean and tidy, so no complaints here.

It's creepy here and feels like this part of Liverpool was left back in time. It would make a good film location for a gothic vampire movie or to capture a Victorian jack the ripper setting.

I have to be honest the woman was not very approachable or polite. She was built like a man and looked serious. After a lot of hard work and some effort she did manage to crack a pretty smile.

Apart from that it was a very interesting experience. I can look back and have a good laugh that this place is for real. Never seen anything like it but it really wasn't that bad. :)

Terry

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T3r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    15
    13
    52
See reviews for
7
9
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

These are my views based on staying at City B & B, bearing in mind there were 5 of us although only 4 went and we paid £46 for a 2 and 3 bed room, that's right £9.20 each.
The rooms we had were perfectly clean and the heating was on (it was hot), the bedding was clean and I had a good nights kip only interrupted when my mates decided to come in to the room. We found the check in place easy enough and there's a map on door to show you where it is, but its literally along the same street. The chap that checked us in was nice and polite couldn't be any friendlier. The area is run down but felt perfectly safe, though there was a group of four blokes. The location makes it a 15 minute walk to the city center and its very quick to leave the run down area behind you.
We only used the rooms for a nights sleep after football and thought collectively that this was excellent value and the level of cleanliness and service was excellent.
We will use again when in Liverpool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johhnyv70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I would not recommend this b&b to anyone!

The check in is at a different hotel/ wine bar. This was a good 5 minute walk. The area does not feel like the safest to be walking around in darkness alone so not ideal.

The receptionist was miserable and very unwelcoming.

If you would like towels then you have to pay £10, rather a lot I think for something that is normally complimentary.

The rooms are pretty small but clean enough.

You are fooled into believing the hotel is in the city centre which it certainly isn't. Ended up costing us £8 in a taxi to get to it from Liverpool lime street station. It is walkable but not with heavy luggage!

The shower was missing its door/ a pane of glass.

The check out is 10am which is not great for the majority of its patrons using it for somewhere to rest after a night out in the city! We had a miserable member of staff banging on our door at 10:01am telling us we were late to check out and must leave immediately or pay a £10 fine. Shocking customer service!

Do not stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkyhanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would have felt safer sleeping on the steps of Lime Street Station........ Stayed for the weekend and on the seconf night a horde of young ones came back from wherever they had been and partied all night long......no sleep whatsover..... the Booking people had the cheek and the audacity to charge me a further £50for the mess they created....... and they didnt even have the deceny to contac t me before doing so...... avoid giving these people any personal details as they may charge again and again with nothing to stop them.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mwm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its firstly awkward to have to check in at a different building, with a rude lady who almost charged us £50 for not having a valid ID! Then with no lifts in the building we had to climb a lot of stairs with a heavy luggage! The shared bathroom was not cleaned once during our 3 night stay. The room literally contained the beds, a small bedside table and the TV. Not even a kettle. There were marks and unpainted bits on the walls and it had an awful smell of smoke and must. If you don't leave at 10am you get charged £10 which is ridiculous for a hotel today. Not impressed at all and I would not recommend this place to anybody!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really rude. Constantly hung up by phone and stated 'we are closed'
Booked our driver in for the night for a shower and bed. Did not expect much!
He arrived 30 minutes late and they tried to charge £10 more and literately shut the door in his face. He had been travelling since 5am and he arrived at 8.30pm. People like this should not be in business and really do let the UK b&b industry down. I would not recommend and feel very let down by these people and anyone who promotes their services!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zoe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Firstly, you have to check in at a different place!
None of the taxi drivers know where this place is... which says it all!
Yes we didn't pay much to stay there for two nights, but it's not an exception to be spoken to the way me and my friend were by the woman at the o'tooles guest house.
It seemed like nothing got cleaned or changed and there's a horrible musty smell in the place.
Its around £6/7 in a taxi... so if you're staying in liverpool for a couple of nights,
you might aswell pay for a nicer hotel nearer the center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 581Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#13 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Sheil Suites
#54 of 77 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Palatine Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#46 of 77 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Everton Hostel
#63 of 102 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City B&B

Property: City B&B
Address: 26 Vulcan Street | Docklands, Liverpool L3 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Liverpool
City Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing