We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Dump”
Review of City B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City B&B
Ranked #61 of 73 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would have felt safer sleeping on the steps of Lime Street Station........ Stayed for the weekend and on the seconf night a horde of young ones came back from wherever they had been and partied all night long......no sleep whatsover..... the Booking people had the cheek and the audacity to charge me a further £50for the mess they created....... and they didnt even have the deceny to contac t me before doing so...... avoid giving these people any personal details as they may charge again and again with nothing to stop them.....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank mwm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for City B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its firstly awkward to have to check in at a different building, with a rude lady who almost charged us £50 for not having a valid ID! Then with no lifts in the building we had to climb a lot of stairs with a heavy luggage! The shared bathroom was not cleaned once during our 3 night stay. The room literally contained the beds, a small bedside table and the TV. Not even a kettle. There were marks and unpainted bits on the walls and it had an awful smell of smoke and must. If you don't leave at 10am you get charged £10 which is ridiculous for a hotel today. Not impressed at all and I would not recommend this place to anybody!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really rude. Constantly hung up by phone and stated 'we are closed'
Booked our driver in for the night for a shower and bed. Did not expect much!
He arrived 30 minutes late and they tried to charge £10 more and literately shut the door in his face. He had been travelling since 5am and he arrived at 8.30pm. People like this should not be in business and really do let the UK b&b industry down. I would not recommend and feel very let down by these people and anyone who promotes their services!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank zoe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Firstly, you have to check in at a different place!
None of the taxi drivers know where this place is... which says it all!
Yes we didn't pay much to stay there for two nights, but it's not an exception to be spoken to the way me and my friend were by the woman at the o'tooles guest house.
It seemed like nothing got cleaned or changed and there's a horrible musty smell in the place.
Its around £6/7 in a taxi... so if you're staying in liverpool for a couple of nights,
you might aswell pay for a nicer hotel nearer the center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 581Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Accomodation basic but cheap if you just need a bed for the night. For some stupid reason you have to book in at the o tools guest house down the road where your greeted by a rude lady who was just horrible. Would definitely go back to Liverpool but not back to city B and B as it was in the middle of industrial estate but getting a cab form their into town wasn't expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my friends were looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a night out in liverpool. This hotel came up as by far the cheapest and it enabled us all to stay for 10pound each which was ideal!

Our stay began with having being given the wrong postcode on all the information and then after finding the hotel we turned up in an industrial estate with only a petrol station nearby. We then took the walk down to the local wine bar where we had to check in. I have to say that the check in procedure was standard and the information we received was ok but nothing great.

When walking into the hotel we were greeted by some quite dodgy looking european guests and were initially very nervous. We tentatively opened the door to our rooms and was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and simplicity of the room. The room was quite nice for the money and the bathrooms were clean enough so we were at ease and gave it a chance.

The main problems came when we came to sleep. The beds were quite uncomfortable and lumpy but this was expected for the money. The main issue was the incredibly noisy water system. Whenever anyone in any of the toilets used the tap shower or toilet, a very noisy rattling and humming ran through the rooms which woke me up several times during the night.

Overall, i would say that this hotel is great for anyone who really is strapped for cash and is just looking for a place to rest their head for the night. If you can stump up a little more for a travelodge....Do it! I do not regret staying here because it enabled us all to visit liverpool for the money but next time i will not be returning and paying a little more for a travelodge!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicaltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

i say ok for price but would never return, not because of the room because of the very rude woman who checked us in. The room was clean but basic,the area is not very nice but when we stayed it was very quiet ,we walked to centre it took around 20 minutes .there is a great cafe underneath the people who run it are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#49 of 73 in Liverpool
41 reviews
Liverpool Gateway B&B
#15 of 73 in Liverpool
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orrell Park Hotel
#3 of 73 in Liverpool
196 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liverpool Inn Hotel
The Liverpool Inn Hotel
#4 of 73 in Liverpool
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City B&B

Address: 26 Vulcan Street | Docklands, Liverpool L3 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range: $26 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Liverpool
City Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing