We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Lounge

Spice Lounge
Ranked #268 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $31 - $44
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Loved the food, great service and great atmosphere. I had not been here for a few years although my husband has taken colleagues on a business trip, it was still as good as ever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaftan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    224
    114
    101
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A accidental find lucky for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Upon walking around Albert dock unable to find a restaurant with space as you must reserve to avoid disappointment. We came accross this great establishment which we were served instantly upon arrival given a table to sit and wait at which was a fish tank table whilst they prepared a table for us. The food was stunning it was the first meal I had that had an abundance of taste and flair. Will definitely be visiting this restaurant again with its great atmosphere and awesome tasting food the best I've had in a while.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning food in luxurious surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We visited the Spice Lounge on Saturday 12th April for dinner before heading to the Liverpool Arena for the Elbow gig.
We rang the restaurant just an hour ahead of our visit to secure a table and they were very accommodating with our super late booking even though they were having a very busy Saturday evening, the restaurant is situated just a short walking distance from the arena so is perfectly placed for a meal there before or after a show.
The restaurant is beautiful inside, warm and inviting with a cosy feel and soft intimate lighting, it has a lovely atmosphere with traditional Indian music playing softly in the background.
The staff are very polite and friendly and make you feel relaxed.
Our mains tasted wonderful and very authentic, I chose the Lemon rice with mine which was beautifully fragrant and the Peshwari naan bread which was just divine! and a nice glass of house Red which complimented the food perfectly.
We have eaten in some of the finest and most exclusive Indian restaurants in the UK and the Spice Lounge Liverpool is right up there with our favourites!
We had such a nice time in there we returned straight after the gig for relaxing drinks and Irish Coffees...Perfection!
Superb Indian restaurant which will not disappoint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juno m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An accidental visit that turned out to be OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We visited this restaurant when we were in the City for a gig and the whole of the docks were heaving. We hadn't had the sense to pre-book anywhere and ended up here when we couldn't get a table in the place that had been recommended to us.

What a piece of luck that turned out to be.

The welcome couldn't have been warmer, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the décor was delightful.

We waited about 10 mins for a table (we were told there would be about a 15 minute wait).

We were then seated upstairs and presented with what is possibly the best Indian meal I have ever eaten! The starters arrived promptly and were delicious. The mains were out of this world. Never has a simple Chicken Korma tasted so good - the meat was tender, the sauce was perfect and the accompanying rice and chips were perfect. This is my usual choice when eating Indian so believe me I have had plenty to compare it too.

Will definitely visit Spice again next time I am in Liverpool and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have just returned home from a great day in Liverpool and need to post this recommendation for this restaurant. We have just enjoyed our best Indian meal ever in very pleasant surroundings and very friendly staff. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Hope to return shortly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Lounge also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Spice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing