We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good food, friendly staff”
Review of The Italian Club

The Italian Club
Reserve with OpenTable
The Italian Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 1,988 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We were walking along the street trying to decide where to have dinner when we saw the place. It looked nice from the outside, so decided to give it a try. It was a cute retaurant with candles on the tables but also the food was delicious. We had pasta and it was perfectly cooked. Also the staff were really friendly and helpful, advising us which wine to choose. We'll recommend it.

Thank ConchiFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 538 of 693 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

No frills no fuss just good Italian food well presented well cooked by staff with a smile on their face. Never going to be haute cuisine, but I don't think that's their intention. Enjoy

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

we had another lovely meal in the Italian club service was slow but it was very busy my husband paid our bill and when we got back to the car I asked him how much it was he gave me the receipt which I was shocked to see we had been overcharged by £17.05 2 extra glasses of wine ,2 extra lemonades,i extra cake ,and 1 extra beer I phoned up as soon as we got home and fair enough was told if we come down we would get a refund we went the next Saturday for the refund the manager was so unfriendly she told me the waitress said I did have 2 glasses of wine one at the beginning of the meal and one at the end which was untrue I had coffee with my cake she then gave me a refund of £14 which I said wasn't right reluctantly she gave me the £17.05 but said we should check our bill before we leave as mistakes do happen and if it happened again we wouldn't get the refund next time if we leave the restaurant before we query it I told her it wasn't the first time this had happened in there we had been overcharged before but had noticed before paying the bill I love this little restaurant as you will see from my other reviews but I will never ever put foot in there again please be warned to watch your bills for overcharges

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theitalianclub, Owner at The Italian Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I am sorry about the confusion with your bill. I have looked further into this situation and the management assured me that any error was unintentional and they discussed this with you via telephone and refunded to you, in good faith, what you had told them that you had been overcharged. I hope that you accept my apology for this unfortunate matter. In a business, where you have employees, mistakes unfortunately do happen. I do take a little exception, however, to the tone of your review, informing others on this forum to WATCH their bill, implying in some way that this is a common occurrence. I assure you it is not, and we ask all customers to check their bill thoroughly. In future, I would ask that you take the time to write an email to me, allowing me the opportunity to make it up to you, rather that use a public forum to state so negatively about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Been heading here for a few years for lunch but never for a late night evening meal but when out with our friends I recommended it and am I glad I did as he meal we have just had was excellent and the wine that we ordered was just as good ,,,don't walk by and think there is something better because this is the place your looking for as everything is perfect
Staff our wonderful and so welcoming can't wait to return..

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Given the overall ratings on Tripadvisor, the delightful decor of the place, the friendly staff and the tasty well sized portions, you might wonder why this place only gets an "average". The way the restaurant has it's sister restaurant menus on display at the front whilst you're waiting and then gives you a different menu when you get seated, the 50 minute wait for what to all intents and purposes was a burger (particularly when the menu clearly specifies there will be a 20 minute wait), the average rose wine (not cold) and the inconsistent charging (£1 for cheese on the beef burger, but £1.50 for the exact same cheese on the chicken burger!) might have something to do with it. Yes, the manager apologised for everything, discounted the meal and refunded the cheese overcharge - BUT only after we pointed all this out. To maintain such high ratings (and certainly to get a high rating from me) these "oversights" have to be addressed. Sorry, but we probably wouldn't return.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stewb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theitalianclub, Owner at The Italian Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. As you can see, from other reviews this is not the average experience. We do hope that you will return to us at some other time to try us again.
The Crolla Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Club also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Italian Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing