We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget place to stay in central Liverpool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of COCOON @ the International Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COCOON @ the International Inn
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great budget place to stay in central Liverpool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let's be clear - this is a place to stay when you're looking to your budget. If you expect 4 star hotel service, stay in a 4 star hotel and pay for the additional benefits!
We were staying the night after a local party, where we had the option of paying £100 more for the night. We chose to stay in this place, just round the corner from the party. We selected a room with a window, which is a definite plus (not all rooms have windows - rooms are tightly packed).
The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small, but more than adequate for an overnight stay. The shower room was fine, though the "budget" element did become clear here - broken towel rail, and no towels until we asked for them. The shower was fine, but due to the cramped conditions, be careful when you get out of the shower - it can be a bit tight!
We had a better night's sleep than our friends who stayed in the more expensive hotel. It was quiet, leading to a really good night's sleep.
Tea, coffee and toast are available free in the kitchen at the end of the corridor, though we didn't use them.
I would definitely use this place again. The location is fantastic, I was impressed by the attitude of the staff in such a cheap hotel, and enjoyed a good night's sleep. If you want a more comfortable stay, there are plenty of other options available at a higher tariff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window - I would feel a bit claustrophobic without one, even if just stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    76
    32
    39
See reviews for
9
125
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Firstly, when we arrived, they tried to charge us more than we had booked for. Fortunately, we had brought a computer printout showing the price so this was resolved. When we arrived in our room we were horrified to see that there were hairs in the poor quality bedding. If they had been willing to refund our money, we would have left there and then, however, they weren't but gave us another room. There were less hairs in the bed in this one, but the floors and walls were dirty and the whole place had a damp smell. We knew that the room was underground with no windows, however, the lighting was poor and the room dingy. There was blue light on the ceiling which stays on all the time and you are not allowed to cover it up. We found this kept us awake at night. It was not explained to us that the rooms are not cleaned/serviced unless you stay 3 nights, and then you can request it. We borrowed a hair dryer from reception which was faulty and probably quite dangerous as it heated up but didn't blow when we turned it on. We did manage to borrow another one that worked. The staff were pleasant enough but just kept saying that this was a budget hotel. The description when we booked was a boutique/luxury hotel. We paid £55 per night for a double room with no breakfast. We have paid less than this in other hotels and had a much better experience with breakfast included!

Room Tip: Our tip is go somewhere else (even if you have to pay a bit more!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 408Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Friendly staff, correct amenities, near old town but needs better housekeeping, three days without cleaning neither bedroom nor toilet nor kitchen is too many.

Change old mattresses and improve kitchen be a good idea.

Room Tip: look for other hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A55v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, S Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place doesn't look very inviting from outside but once inside it's quite pleasant for the money. Our room was large spacious and clean but quite warm and no heating on ! - we left the door open on times to let the air con from the corridor cool it.. I didn't like it that the rooms have no windows. (They are basement rooms). The bathroom was also clean and a nice size. Room had a TV - no remote, docking station , tea coffee facilities but once we used the tea/coffee on 1st morning it was not replaced. We were a party of 20 on a hen weekend - all rooms were basically the same but some were much smaller than ours. For a party weekend that we had planned it was good value but I wouldn't stay here any longer than that due to the fact of no windows in rooms, quite thin walls can hear people moving around and talking etc, Free Wi-fi but absolutely no signal due to being in the basement. Communal area was pleasant with sofa, chairs, TV, pool table , there was a kitchen somewhere but we never used it. Ideal for a short stay for stag's/Hens/backpackers etc. Its just a short walk from shops,pubs,clubs etc so ideal location.

Room Tip: room 226 was one of the larger rooms out of the 10 we booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to Liverpool for the weekend with 2 friends and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The rooms are very small and in need of a very good clean. However for the price we paid i suppose it was ok. When we first arrived our friends room had a lot of things missing. In the room, you were meant to get a docking station, hairdryer and a tv. However their tv did not work and they had no hairdryer or docking station. We reported this to reception and a hair dryer and docking station was brought down straight away. However the tv was not fixed as promised. Also the rooms did not get cleaned and no clean towels were given. We had to use 2 towels on the bathroom floor as the shower leaked and by the time you got out the floor was like a swimming pool.

In the early hours of the morning you could hear people coming in which woke me up on both nights. It is about at 10-15 minute walk away from the centre which was good as all shops were accessible. Overall I don't think I would go back however the staff were lovely! Just a shame about the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilmore9293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stopped at the International Inn for a stag do in March 2013. On arrive, I found that my fellow stags were booked into the main building whilst I had a self contained apartment around the corner - which I'd recommend as you can get a phone signal!!
Everything about the apartment was great except for the bathroom/shower - I like a shower where the water comes out fast, for this, it was barely a trickle! If this were sorted, I'd rate the property much more highly as the location was fab!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl James F, at COCOON @ the International Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our Apartments, Please accept my apology in regards to the shower, we will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#63 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The International Inn & Apartments
Central Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Parr Street Hotel
#33 of 76 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COCOON @ the International Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COCOON @ the International Inn

Property: COCOON @ the International Inn
Address: 4 South Hunter Street, Liverpool L1 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — COCOON @ the International Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget boutique Pod Hotel in the heart of Liverpool's City Centre Cultural Quarter, loated in the basement of the building these rooms are perfect for romantic getaways, or just somewhere central to rest your head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your COCOON @ the International Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon @ The International Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Cocoon The International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing