We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arena House(Liverpool)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Roscoe House(Liverpool)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aachen Hotel(Liverpool)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanover Hotel(Liverpool)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
185
144
41
26
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
144
41
26
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshudson gardenspenthouse apartmentcumberland stthomas stapartment was cleanmain bedroomwell equipped kitchenliving roomhome from homegreat apartmentcity centredvd playerwashing up liquidself cateringno liftmin walkcheck in was easy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 469 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for 5 days. The apartments are excelent, clean and very confortable. The kitchen well equipated and the personal of the office are very nice. The apartment was warm when we arrive, and this is something to thank when it is so cold outside. There weren't noises and we enjoyed liverpool and we could relax and sleep at nights very well.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I visited Liverpool from Weds 19- Fri 21st February 2014 with my parents and my fiancé. Having never stayed in Liverpool we did some research on Trip Advisor first. We had seen Base apartments online so looked for the reviews on here which made us a bit sceptical as there are some terrible reviews. The price for the couple of days, however where a bargain (and we planned on spending limited time in the apartment so thought we'd give it a go).

We stayed at Hudson Gardens on Duke Street after having actually booked in to stay at Base Spectrum Apartments. Someone from Base phoned us a few days before as a courtesy call and said as we were a family that Hudson Gardens would be better suited to us.

THE APARTMENT: Upon arrival in the morning we were told we could check straight in to out apartment and that they had given us a complimentary upgrade. So rather than staying in the basic apartment we were upgraded to the penthouse. Our apartment number was 49 (I think). On the entrance floor there was a hallway with a table and somewhere to hang out coats. Off the entrance hall was one smaller double bedroom with beside tables, chest of drawers and small wardrobe. Next was a bathroom with bath and overhead shower. At the end of the hall was a larger double bedroom with bedside tables, wardrobe and en-suite with shower cubicle. Up the stairs was a large living/dining/kitchen area with floor to ceiling windows and door at one end leading onto a small balcony with a pretty good view of the city! The whole apartment was generally basic but was spotless and had plenty of utensils and complimentary toiletries. From our experience I would ignore the bad reviews. There was not one thing wrong with our apartment. It's by no means luxurious but for a city break it's perfect! I couldn't have asked for more really.

LOCATION: Great location for shopping, museums, china town, evening and night life. It's set on a main road and is right near a tepenyaki, Indian, Italian and Mexican restaurants which are situated to the side of the apartments. NOTE: these are civilised and not at all noisy in the evenings. The street it's self isn't exactly aesthetically pleasing but as soon as you get to the bottom you are in the beautiful city centre. We were on the back of the apartment block but I very much doubt there is much, if any road noise during the evening/night. Our only complaint was that there was a group of 4 people next door that we're very noisy on one of the nights as they were going out and woke us up again at 5am. But this was a privately rented apartment and staff advised us to let security know if it happened again and that it would be sorted. Other than this the other people there where permanent residence getting on with their quiet day, to day life. So do not let this one exception put you off as it hasn't put us off!

THE STAFF: I have read reviews from people saying how bad the staff are at Base. I don't know of this is the case their other locations but at Hudson Gardens the staff where exceptionally helpful, kind and enthusiastic. When we arrived we weren't sure how to get up to the apartment so one of the staff took us up there himself and even carried us some bags! He then offered to show us around. Throughout our stay they where always on hand and willing to help. Even offering us late check out for our next door noise! Upon check out we let staff know that we will definitely return and he let us know that next time we should stay at their apartments at the docks as they are supposed to be lovely! It was nice to have a recommendation. On behalf of my family and I, I would like to thank the staff for being so fantastic! Much better reception and hospitality than you get in big standard hotels!

We had a lovely few days in Liverpool and I would definitely recommend these apartments for anyone that want somewhere as a base (no pun intended) to explore the city!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahgraciebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The apartment has a GORGEOUS view over the city of Liverpool. It is spacious and you have plenty of room for 6 people. The one minus I would say is that 2 (1 couple) (out of the 6 people) have to sleep on the (double) couch; which is not as comfortable as a bed, obviously.

There is a coffee machine from Nestlé available for which you can buy capsules at the nearby Tesco Express (walking distance). Yet when we were we couldn't get the machine working properly. But my guess/hope is they will fix this swiftly.

All in all a very nice apartment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomCorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked this apartment because there were a few of us going to a concert and it was a more cost effective way to for us to stop over. The apartment was beautiful, very clean, well furnished and equipt. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fibic299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very impressed with the apartment allthough was a bit confusing to get from the car park to door leading to apartment. The fob on the key was to similar locks on doors, really could of done with signs directing you especially when parked on bottom floor. Staff were very friendly and location was in walking distance to liverpool town centre. Definately go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katelarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseServ-Apartments, Public Relations Manager at BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thanks for the advice. We'll definitely look at getting better signage. See you gain soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews