We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Ranked #10 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just stayed at the serviced apartments at the docks,never has the saying " never judge a book by its cover" been so true. The exterior of the apartments need some tlc,but wow apartment 144 makes more than up for that. The interior space is small but very well used, very bright,modern and clean., Has all you need for a couple of days to a weeks stay.Excellent base for those wanting to sight see,hit the shops and the night life.
There are a couple of things that you need to remember these apartments are let out by base,you have to collect your key from a different location and return it back again.the time for returning the key is 10am,also they have some strict rules and a £350 deposit.you have to be over 25 , as these are residential apartments there is a no noise policy as well. So if your thinking a good weekend of drinking and loud music this is not for you. If you want fantastic location in a modern clean space with fantastic views, then this is just the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 457 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very good location as it was just 2 minutes walk from the Docks. Not exactly 'luxury' but good value for money and had every thing we could want. Perfectly clean and everything worked well. The staff were also very helpful. I will be looking for a good excuse to book again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

first of all DONT STAY HERE !!!!!!! their website is a lie,on looking on the website we checked and checked to see what there t&c were deposits rates beds etc.On arrival we checked in with or details booking and confirmation ref and everything,sorted........wrong.We were told when we got there that the deposit was now £500 from being £250 and they wanted it with no prior notice the proceeded to tell us the rules of the building no noise after 11pm late check out will be charged at £10 an hour.after a few minutes back and forwarding we sorted out the booking 6 beds for 6 men right.........wrong 2 bedrooms 2 single beds 1 double bed and 1 sofa bed.imagine the rage of us at this after a 6 hour drive and a none understanding person at the "help desk" then we ask for another key were told there is only one.Ok this now is getting worse then were told that the lift is broken an were on the top floor.if i was writing a comedy show this would be it,we settle down have a drink try to enjoy the rest of our night.Day two not a lot going on until early evening when we see some people on the roof across from us,20 minutes later we get a knock on our door with 2 as only i can describe them as "goons" security men telling us that there coming in because we were on the roof.There was no access to the roof from our centre room in the building,i told them this but there response was"im just doing my job" the theme of this place is its falling apart and they charge you for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently went to Liverpool for our daughters graduation and had booked to stay in the Base apartments on the waterfront having stayed there before. We were given an apartment at South Ferry Quay next to Liverpool Marina. The apartment was spacious with two bedrooms, one en-suite and a separate bathroom, and an open plan kitchen. It was an approximate ten minute walk along the waterfront to Albert Dock and the main shopping area of the city centre. The staff at the main office (in Duke Street) were very helpful and friendly. The apartment was well appointed, clean and had everything you needed for the stay. The only thing I had to complain about was that the kitchen had a gas cooker and there was nothing to light it with to make breakfast, and as none of us smoked, we had no lighter or matches. Just a small point and it certainly did not spoil our stay. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just got back from two nights here- well equipt clean and tidy, handy for docks and restaurants. Would use again- silly parking prices should be included. Apart from that very happy no complaints- great size rooms 1 ensuite handy washing machine and dishwasher- all very well equipt and clean. V impressed

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank newmrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We often visit Liverpool and booked this place last minute, it was very cheap for one night at £40. We stayed at the ones on Cumberland street. When we eventually managed to unlock the door (it don't fit the frame properly) we noticed one of the sofas had been slashed, the curtains were hanging off the rails, the bedroom door handle was hanging off and found it difficult to enter the room!! Over all the cleanliness of the room was terrible. There was even mould growing from the shower head which put us off having a shower. I know we only paid £40 but still expected a clean room. (we stayed in Manchester the night before in a budget hotel for £20 and it was perfect) paying a £150 deposit for these types of places is pretty standard, but guys if your making people pay a deposit at least invest the money back into the flats...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the moment we stepped into base apartments it went down hill. 5 students going away for a cheap holiday turned into a very expensive week end away. When looking for the apartments no one was able to direct us. Although we were told it is located at the heart of the city. On arrival we were expected to have a 250 pound deposit on one persons card. We were unaware of this, and were never informed. The receptionist rang us to confirm our booking and said that all we would need is the card that we booked with and photo identification. This ordeal lead to us paying the deposit in cash after 2 hours of going back and forth with the manager who was on the phone, but no where to be seen. We were told it was for damages.
When checking out, a lady from room service checked our room to see if it was ok. She informed us that we had tan on our towels(as expected 5 girls will defo have tan on). At reception the receptionist informed us that she would not give us back our deposit as we must pay for the towels. We were willing to this, we were then informed that each "eypitician cotton" towel was 13 pound. After two-three hours, requesting to see a manager there was no sign of him. He rang the receptionist but never made n appearance.
Altogether the stay in Liverpool was ruined by the hassle we had dealing with these apartments. There was no authoritive figure that could help us. The apartments themselves were decent, nothing special. Basic.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abcb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Epic Apart Hotel - Seel Street
0.2 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood House Hotel
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 99 in Liverpool
843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
2,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street

Address: 136 Duke Street | 2 Hudson Gardens, Liverpool L1 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: $76 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant Ropewalks district of Liverpool City Center Hudson Gardens is a modern residential apartment block suitable for all – couples, families or business guests. We offer a number of serviced apartments in this block, each contains one, two or three double-bedrooms, and some of the apartments have the facility of a sofa-bed to accommodate extra people. All of our 20 apartments are fully-furnished and decorated to have that home-from-home feel about them that everyone wants when they are travelling. Each apartment has an open-plan living and kitchen area where you can cook, eat and relax on the sofa in front of the television; whilst the bathroom and en-suite come with towels provided, along with complementary toiletries. If you want to treat yourself to a meal, then you’ll find such a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance that you won’t have to go far to find one to suit your taste. Or if it’s a shopping trip you’re looking for then you’ll find the world-famous Liverpool ONE shopping centre is just a short walk away from the apartments, along with all the boutiques and high-street stores that have been based in Liverpool for years and years! The Cathedrals, Museums, Art Galleries and Theatres of Liverpool can all be found after a short walk, and Anfield and Goodison Park football grounds are just a short drive away. The Echo Arena is a short distance from the apartments, and plays host to sports, theatre and music events throughout the year, whilst nearby The Albert Dock is the home of The Beatles Story, The TATE Gallery, and other places of interest. If you are looking for good self-catered accommodation then look no further… BASE Serviced Apartments is the real alternative to hotel living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Serviced Apartments Hudson - Gardens Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing