We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Ranked #16 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splendid base”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the second time a friend and I have stayed in this apartment during a conference at Liverpool Arena.
The apartment is quiet overlooking the marina with 2 bedrooms, 1 ensuite, and a separate bathroom. The openplan kitchen/living room is well appointed and contains all you require.
The only downside is needing to pick up and return keys to Duke Street (the times are a little restricted), but it is not that far and the staff there are helpful and friendly.
Will definitely stay again for another conference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank continentaltourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    131
    37
    24
    70
See reviews for
141
47
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The worse place have ever stayed. Carpets dirty, very basic accommodation , needs new sofas the ones in there in poor condition. Bedroom we stayed in had glass panels that formed one of the corners of the room,this looked out on to corridors. Every time someone came on to that floor it activated the lights to come on, this in turn lit the whole bedroom. The noise throughout the night from other residents was intolerable, on Saturday night it went on until the morning and Sunday night wasn't much better. In the second bedroom the slats of the bed were broken and the mattress kept falling through.The area these apartments are in is very run down and has a lot of sleazy clubs near by. Also on the web page that advertises these apartments they don't tell you you have to go down the road to check in and check out. They take a deposit about a month before your stay,which they don't tell you until they have taken it and the same with the rest of the payment due,which they take a week before you are due to stay. They also take £250 on your credit card, when you checking in, for a security deposit, in case you damage something. There's nothing in the apartment that's worth that sort of money. To add salt to the wound you don't get that back on to that card for 3 to 5 working days after you have checked out.
The only good thing about this place is that it is in walking distance of everything.
If you value your sleep and you like your comforts, DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Castletown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Royal Quay Apartments recently. The photos shown on their website is nothing like what we were given. If I had paid the price that the apartment went up to on a Friday and Saturday night I would be well and truly pissed off!

After collecting the keys from their Duke Street office since we were late arriving we made our way by taxi to the building. From the outside it is extremely worn and in need of a major refit. The building is white and has what looks like green mold growing on it.

Used the key fob to get into the gate and after searching found the right building block in which our apartment was in.

Upon entering thought this looks rather nice, but made our way up to the second floor where the reality of the condition of the premises made it's self known.

Upon first glances everything was very clean and tidy. Then we started looking closer. The majority of the lights didn't work along with some of the electrical sockets. The decor on the walls in the second bedroom were broken and hanging off of the wall. The carpet was stained and you didn't dare walk bare footed on it. None of the side lamps worked in the second room, which was annoying if you wanted to read in bed. The beds were comfortable enough and the linen was clean.

Any dishes we used such as coffee cups and wine glasses we had to wash before use as they were dirty.

The appliances all worked which was a relief except for the fridge, which did work except for the door to the freezer compartment which kept falling down when you opened the door.

Very disappointed in this property as it was supposed to be the grand finale at the end of our holiday we were returning from.

Could have stayed in the Premier Inn across the road at the Albert Docks, which looked nicer.

The only good thing I can say about our stay was the view was amazing out over the Albert Docks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Base Serviced Apartments obviously run a few properties in Liverpool, We stayed at the ones on Duke Street, and found them to be very good. The Price was as cheap as if we'd stayed at Travelodge booking 2 weeks before hand, and for that we got a great 2 bed room and 2 bathroom apartment that was clean and ideally situated. there is a worrying "damage liability" amount of money they hold in case you trash the place, but I guess so long as you don't have parties, its very good. There WAS a party in the place next door to us but we didn't care as we are night owls ourselves. The only downside is that the view is straight over the road into a creepy abandoned waredhouse, but I suspect that will be more serviced apartments before long as these are clearly a gold mine. Greaat central location, very close the the Nice one of the two cathedrals.
My only complaint would be that at 15 pound a day the parking is a bit of a rip off, all day parking down the road is £6 quid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjTrevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 in a 2 bedroom apartment, the staff were extremely helpful. the quality of the apartment was great even had a dishwasher and washing machine, previous night we stayed in near by Base2Stay, which while having a much flasher entrance was nowhere near as good. As we were checking in at the City Apartments we we worried that a hen party were next door, but while you could hear them in the corridoor, you could not hear thm in our appartment next door and we all slept well, unlike the Base2Stay which was extremely noisy and nothing like as good quality interms of space or amenties in the room.
Now looking to use City Apartments again in other parts of the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent service from staff, very helpful, friendly, upgrade to penthouse view was amazing, it had snowed, close to shops, and restaurants & cafe at the dock. Very clean apartment, spacious, facilities very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965Tina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked these apartments for our friends birthday for 2 nights 3rd and 4th of Feb 2013. We paid £196 for both nights. We booked the room through bookings.com with no problems, the email confirmation stated that we would need to give a £250 deposit which was reasonable. So on the day of the check in I called to confirm the location and ask what we would need to bring eg photo id, and the receptionist mentions to bring the £1000 deposit! I mean who just has £1000 lying around on a saturday - couldnt even go to the bank! The receptionist was very rude - saying base had emailed us the day before saying that the deposit had gone to £1000. We did not receive that email before checkin. The receptionist stated her manager was at a funeral and there was nothing she could do and she couldnt even refund us our money we paid for the room so we could go elsewhere! After numerous phone calls the receptionist lowered it to 350. We turned up at the hotel with 250 on a credit card and eventually persuaded them to lower it to 250 (by the manager who was supposed to be at a funeral) the receptionist still had an attitude. Upon checkin they issue a list of rules and fines that they take out of your deposit or charge you for. If you make a noise after 11pm you get fined £100 per complaint. If you take anyone into the room it is £100 per person.
We were terrified of getting fined and after the earlier experience just totally ruined the stay. The apartment itself was fab no complaints. Overall I would not recommend these apartments and will never be staying here again! There are so many better places to stay in Liverpool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hope Street Hotel
#14 of 97 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street

Property: BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Address: 136 Duke Street | 2 Hudson Gardens, Liverpool L1 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant Ropewalks district of Liverpool City Center Hudson Gardens is a modern residential apartment block suitable for all – couples, families or business guests. We offer a number of serviced apartments in this block, each contains one, two or three double-bedrooms, and some of the apartments have the facility of a sofa-bed to accommodate extra people. All of our 20 apartments are fully-furnished and decorated to have that home-from-home feel about them that everyone wants when they are travelling. Each apartment has an open-plan living and kitchen area where you can cook, eat and relax on the sofa in front of the television; whilst the bathroom and en-suite come with towels provided, along with complementary toiletries. If you want to treat yourself to a meal, then you’ll find such a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance that you won’t have to go far to find one to suit your taste. Or if it’s a shopping trip you’re looking for then you’ll find the world-famous Liverpool ONE shopping centre is just a short walk away from the apartments, along with all the boutiques and high-street stores that have been based in Liverpool for years and years! The Cathedrals, Museums, Art Galleries and Theatres of Liverpool can all be found after a short walk, and Anfield and Goodison Park football grounds are just a short drive away. The Echo Arena is a short distance from the apartments, and plays host to sports, theatre and music events throughout the year, whilst nearby The Albert Dock is the home of The Beatles Story, The TATE Gallery, and other places of interest. If you are looking for good self-catered accommodation then look no further… BASE Serviced Apartments is the real alternative to hotel living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Serviced Apartments Hudson - Gardens Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing