We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE stay away!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked these apartments for our friends birthday for 2 nights 3rd and 4th of Feb 2013. We paid £196 for both nights. We booked the room through bookings.com with no problems, the email confirmation stated that we would need to give a £250 deposit which was reasonable. So on the day of the check in I called to confirm the location and ask what we would need to bring eg photo id, and the receptionist mentions to bring the £1000 deposit! I mean who just has £1000 lying around on a saturday - couldnt even go to the bank! The receptionist was very rude - saying base had emailed us the day before saying that the deposit had gone to £1000. We did not receive that email before checkin. The receptionist stated her manager was at a funeral and there was nothing she could do and she couldnt even refund us our money we paid for the room so we could go elsewhere! After numerous phone calls the receptionist lowered it to 350. We turned up at the hotel with 250 on a credit card and eventually persuaded them to lower it to 250 (by the manager who was supposed to be at a funeral) the receptionist still had an attitude. Upon checkin they issue a list of rules and fines that they take out of your deposit or charge you for. If you make a noise after 11pm you get fined £100 per complaint. If you take anyone into the room it is £100 per person.
We were terrified of getting fined and after the earlier experience just totally ruined the stay. The apartment itself was fab no complaints. Overall I would not recommend these apartments and will never be staying here again! There are so many better places to stay in Liverpool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    128
    36
    23
    69
See reviews for
134
46
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

very clean and fully equipped. Easy to find and we slept very well. Not a huge apartment but its position enabled us to shop easily and the views were really good. I enjoy visiting cities and this was a very good way of staying here..freedom to do your own thing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed in the penthouse here and was really nice. 2 floors (bottom floor was waste of space) but top floor was lovely, 2 bedrooms one en suite, one bathroom, kitchenette, dining area over looking docks and relaxing tv lounge. the view from here was truely lovely during the day or at night. place was clean though no working smoke alarm. we went with 2 x 7 year olds who if cooped up in a hotel room with us would have gone mad so this option was perfect for them and us. walking distance to shopping centre, Beatles experience, Liverpool big Wheel, bus terminal to Anfield / Goodison Pk, docks, can see liver building from apartment. Few small issues that took away the 5 star rating but nothing major except for smoke alarms. Very quiet also.
really enjoyed stay and would go back if on special offer again (75% off on ryanair.com!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and another couple. It was a busy weekend in Liverpool with not a lot of accommodation left at a decent price so we decided on an apartment. The parking was handy, just under the apartment block and cost £30 for the weekend and the location was spot on, 5 minutes walk to a good choice of bars and restaurants. The only problem was the actual apartments!! Not really sure when it had been cleaned but certainly wasn't before we arrived. The bathrooms were vile, the sink was blocked, the handle was hanging off the balcony door, the carpets were stained and the bed sheets were dirty. I can honesty say I haven't stayed anywhere that has been as unclean. They did send housekeeping to change the sheets, clean the bathrooms etc but the whole place is just unkept. One bedroom is tiny and the mattresses on both beds may as well not be there...so uncomfortable! The water leaks from the shower all over the floor. The grout, which might have been white at one time, is now black and the whole place just smells of damp. Really...if you are thinking about booking these because they're slightly cheaper or you think they look nice please don't. Pay a little extra or go to Liverpool, which is a great city, another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you pick up the SINGLE key they give for your apartment, you are made to sign a quite worrying contract of which hey DON'T give you a photocopy of. The contract has a a list of charges they will give you that seem extreme. Most notably a £100 charge for every extra person they see enter your apartment room outside of the advertised capacity for the room. They also say that your £250 deposit will not be taken out of your account and will be frozen. However this is completely untrue as the next morning £250 had been taken from my account. They also fail to tell you that this money will take up to 7 days for it to be repaid to your account.

When i entered the apartment i was shocked to find wardrobes were broken, damage to skirting boards. Over all the apartment however is nice and spacious, they just need to sort out their customer service which is simply geared to getting the most money out of you in the most troublesome, stress free manner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grenoble123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is ran by scam artists. They asked for an extortionate £500 holding fee for a £40 room and said if we dont pay it then our booking would be cancelled without refund. The staff were most unhelpful and rude. Absolutely awful. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulisthejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped over in Jan had a late nght out in Liverpool rather than drive back, was very impressed great helpfull staff apartment was quite nice and reasonably priced parking is a bit of a pain although found out later could have had underground parking if I had asked, not clear when booking overall good place will use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirral69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street

Property: BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Address: 136 Duke Street | 2 Hudson Gardens, Liverpool L1 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant Ropewalks district of Liverpool City Center Hudson Gardens is a modern residential apartment block suitable for all – couples, families or business guests. We offer a number of serviced apartments in this block, each contains one, two or three double-bedrooms, and some of the apartments have the facility of a sofa-bed to accommodate extra people. All of our 20 apartments are fully-furnished and decorated to have that home-from-home feel about them that everyone wants when they are travelling. Each apartment has an open-plan living and kitchen area where you can cook, eat and relax on the sofa in front of the television; whilst the bathroom and en-suite come with towels provided, along with complementary toiletries. If you want to treat yourself to a meal, then you’ll find such a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance that you won’t have to go far to find one to suit your taste. Or if it’s a shopping trip you’re looking for then you’ll find the world-famous Liverpool ONE shopping centre is just a short walk away from the apartments, along with all the boutiques and high-street stores that have been based in Liverpool for years and years! The Cathedrals, Museums, Art Galleries and Theatres of Liverpool can all be found after a short walk, and Anfield and Goodison Park football grounds are just a short drive away. The Echo Arena is a short distance from the apartments, and plays host to sports, theatre and music events throughout the year, whilst nearby The Albert Dock is the home of The Beatles Story, The TATE Gallery, and other places of interest. If you are looking for good self-catered accommodation then look no further… BASE Serviced Apartments is the real alternative to hotel living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Serviced Apartments Hudson - Gardens Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing