We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waited far too long for courses to arrive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Liverpool

Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Liverpool
Ranked #320 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: British, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“waited far too long for courses to arrive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

waiting staff very helpful, polite and enthusiastic, unfortunately we had to wait far too long for our starter approx 45 mins, it was a busy Saturday evening 10th May but our table wasn't booked until 8,45 so the main rush was over, the mains didn't really arrive promptly either, the food was good but portions were small, especially for a hungry man! Atmosphere was good and the décor fantastic, overall probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    96
    59
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Bank Holiday sun helped to make our visit a memorable one, as did the Veuve (thanks Dad). But the staff were really helpful and kind. I would go as far to say interested in our plans for the bank holiday weekend, ensuring our stay was fun-filled (it was) and comfortable (my Dad is in a wheel chair) - again it was absolutely great! We will definitely stay again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becca_J_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal for a special occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I wanted somewhere special to celebrate my wife's birthday during our weekend stay in Liverpool and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere and the food was excellent. It did not get full marks as my wife' steak was slightly overlooked but generally it was a great location for a special meal and the staff were excellent. I would definitely recommend it for a special occasion

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wnet here for a few drinks after a friends wedding on Saturday. I was quite impressed, large selection of drinks as you would expect with a large hotel of this standard. It was qute expensive as expected. I actually preffered this venue to the Bar in the Liverpool Hilton.

It had a nice relaxed but smart atmosphere, the only complint was that the Taxi driver on the way home tried to rip us off but thats not the fault of the hotel/ bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

As visitors to Liverpool, I spent a long time choosing a restaurant for my husband's birthday. And a what a superb choice, right from the welcome to the very last minute. The restaurant is not too large, so perfect for intimate celebrations. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent and beautifully presented, right down to the chocolate 'Happy Birthday' piped around the edge of my husband's dessert plate. We had a wonderful evening and would return should we return to Liverpool.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Liverpool also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie and Bar at Malmaison - Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing