We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charlotte House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hillcrest(Lincoln)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
271
121
53
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
121
53
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venueseparate loungelovely weddingopposite the castlewedding receptionmr and mrsfour poster bedbridal suitehuge bathroomwedding breakfastsitting roombailgate areacastle wallslovely hotelcathedral quartersteep hillfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 506 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having booked a superior suite and reserved a secure parking space, we arrived to find a young lady on her own behind the bar, who was also the receptionist. The secure parking area is very limited and she knew nothing of the reservation.

The room is plush and the bed was fantastic. Best nights sleep in a long time. The hotel is nicely situated for the Castle and restaurants in the Bail Gate area. There were no staff on site except the young lady, who was to-ing and fro-ing from the bar to the reception office. A little annoying when you have to chase around the building for service. At 11 pm she goes and all doors are locked, so no service at all !!

Is it a five star or very expensive guest house?

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good and well appointed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, Reception Managment Team at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was overall positive and that your suite was comfortable and to your liking.

We do have limited car parking available outside of the hotel and in the adjacent public car park; however, we are unable to reserve spaces as it does work on a first come first served basis. This is stated in our booking confirmation which is why the lady on reception may have been confused with regards to your reserved space. Requests for parking are always welcome and we do try our utmost to fit as many cars in as possible on any given evening.

Charlotte House is a bespoke experience surrounded by 8 acres of landscaped gardens, allowing guests to relax and unwind in the Cathedral Quarter of Lincoln. With 14 unique bedrooms we offer luxury accommodation with an individual twist. Due to the small amount of bedrooms we offer, 24 hour reception is considered unwarranted, however, we do provide all guests with an out of hours telephone number which is contactable in the event of an emergency and after reception closes at 11pm. The team members at Charlotte House are multi-trained to undertake duties in all areas which does include reception and the lounge bar. I am pleased that the member of staff in question assisted you in a professional, helpful manner, however, I will investigate as to why she may have been on her own at that point, as we do usually have at least 2 members of staff available at all times.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that should you return to Lincoln you will come and stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My daughter and I hadn't booked, but the lovely lady at reception found us a room. It was a junior suite, with its own little hall and separate lounge. The lounge had comfortable leather chairs and sofa and a large TV. The bedroom also had a TV and the beds were comfortable.

Other reviewers have complained about the noise from weddings. There was a wedding on both nights we stayed but the music stopped at 11:30 and even before that it was barely noticeable. Maybe we were lucky, as we were on the top floor.

The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful. The first young lady carried my bags up the 2 flights of stairs, and the one later that day arranged to add sheets to our beds as the duvets were far too hot for the sticky night.

The hotel is very close to the historic part of town, right under the castle walls. It doesn't have a restaurant, and the bar was closed to guests because of the weddings, but the staff looked up restaurants for us when we wanted to find particular cuisine, and gave us clear directions.

There is lots of parking, but it costs 5 pound per day as the car park is a public one.

Room Tip: Room 14 is quiet, even if there are weddings being held at the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, Reception Managment Team at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was a positive one and that our staff left a welcoming impression. Providing first class customer service is of paramount importance at Charlotte House as we feel that providing a friendly, warm welcome and goodbye, ensures guests leave us feeling relaxed and enthusiastic about their stay.

We agree that our location is superb, being surrounded by some fantastic independent bars and restaurants means our guests never have to go far to sample some delicious food and beverages. We are also lucky to be located so close to the Castle and the Cathedral, just a few minutes’ walk and guests can soak up the history and culture of Lincoln.

Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards
Sian Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our second visit to the Charlotte House, and we have enjoyed our stay on both occasions.
Really nicely furnished suites, big comfortable beds, clean bathrooms with big showers.
The cooked breakfast was all local produce, perfectly cooked and not too greasy.
There was a function on downstairs, but our room was on the top floor and we did not hear any noise.
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, Reception Managment Team at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that your second stay was a positive as the first, and that you would return to Charlotte House should you visit Lincoln again.

Repeat guests like yourselves are our greatest achievement and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards
Sian Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a nice room and friendly people, but we stayed two nights midweek and there were weddings both days. This meant that the restaurant and bar were shut, and the noise of the weddings - loud music and clearing up afterwards kept us awake til gone midnight. Not really value for money in the circumstances. I would suggest you do not stay if there is a wedding booked for any of your nights and you are not part of the wedding party.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerch, Head Receptionist at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I am sorry you where disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
We are a venue that does many functions, but wherever possible we do inform guests that there is a function on during their stay. If the event has exclusive use then this does mean the bar is not available for other guests. We do not offer restaurant facilities here at the House even when we do not have a function, as we are lucky enough to be in an area which has many good quality bars and restaurants with in walking distance.
Once again thank you for taking the time, we do appreciate all feed back that we receive.

Kindest Regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am sorry to say that this hotel was a total disappointment.The only positive side was the friendly reception ladies.
The hotel is adverised as a Boutique Hotel which it most cerainly is not.The first thing you notice is the unpleasant smell on the bedroom floors.The furnishing are a mixture of heavy dark wood and black synthetic leather furniture.There were plant pots in various places that no one has watered for long time.
It was apparent that there is no direct management interest,I was told the manageress was only there Monday to Thursday. it seems that the Hotel are mainly concerned with their public rooms for wedding receptions.
My wife and I were booked for two nights too long.We will not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: No recomendation
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuatroChamines4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerch, Head Receptionist at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

I was very sad and surprised to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Its unfortunate that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion and I must apologise for this.
We have investigated the smell and this has now been dealt with.
I think the furniture is down to personal taste and I am sorry you did not like it.
The plants in question where in an area which was difficult to reachand have now been disposed of, are other plants in reception and around the ground floor, I am happy to say are thriving.
I am not sure where the information regarding the Manageress has come from but I can assure you that a member of management is always available on request and that our Manageress is here most weekends.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, it is through such comments that we can try and maintain the standards to which are guests have come to expect.
Once again I am sorry you where disappointed with your stay.

Kindest Regards

Sue Newall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews