We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Centre Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlotte House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charlotte House
Ranked #17 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“City Centre Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Difficult to find hotel entrance, but once in a very warm friendly welcome.

Room (7) seemed smallish but was compensated by a seperate sitting room (the only room with an outside view) all immaculate, but surprised no mini-bar or wardrobe - just a hanging rail, but otherwise comfortable and well furnished. Both rooms had large flat screen TVs and CD players in sensible positions and plenty of power points. Beds very comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows. Bathroom was very modern with a superb walk in shower and a very large heated towel rail. Fluffy bathrobes provided - disappointed no bath. Some external noise from the Christmas Market funfair and light poluution from the adjacent atrium into the room

Breakfast, large and served efficiently. Surprised no restaurant for evening meal which meant a short walk to the superb Reform Restaurant at the nearby Castle Hotel

All the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Overall a bit pricey, but comfortable and plenty of ambience - would be happy to stay again at a different time of year

Room Tip: Try an avoid room 7. only external view of sorts from the sitting room, all other windows have obscu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Room 7 is the only twin room we have here at Charlotte House and two beds do take up a little more room than a double giving the appearance of less space. Many of our rooms have a separate lounge, which I am glad you liked, and some of the large suites have magnificent free standing baths. None of our rooms have mini bar as we do have a public bar and offer room service if required.

Christmas Market weekend is a very busy time of year here in Lincoln, and our prime locations in the middle of it means it can get a little noisy, which we hope did not affect your stay too much.

I am pleased to hear you are considering another visit, hopefully in the not too distant future. We recommend you try one of our luxury four poster rooms which includes a freestanding bath.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    108
    48
    32
    26
See reviews for
87
199
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This was a flying visit to Lincoln for sad reasons and we were not expecting much although I had treated ourselves to a deluxe double.
When we arrived I found that we had the Bridal Suite. which had 3 rooms including bathroom with fantastic shower and a vast comfortable bed.
This all for £110!
A real genuine surprise and pleasure Very friendly staff and close to old part of Lincoln. Oh and the kedgeree at Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArloLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, so pleased you found it so comfortable and the breakfast worth leaving a special mention. We will definitely pass your comments onto our chef, who will undoubtedly be happy to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back in more pleasant circumstances and perhaps for a little longer, in the future.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Classy , very elegant with rooms I could have easily lived in full time.

We got to the hotel later because of traveling from Bristol. The manager rang me to ask how long I was going to be and warn me of a last minute wedding they had taken on . I had already been informed with a email the nite before but thanked them again for this information.

The manager also asked about my room type that I had booked , because of my little 4month daughter .She said she would like to change my room to a more quieter one because of this and wedding noise.I agreed with the manager because of the way she had handle the telephone call

All round excellent stay with a great bathroom to prepare for the next day and breakfast to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Just listen to the staff!!. There was a wedding on at the hotel and their changed my rooms after ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I am so pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay, and it really is great to get such nice comments. We do try upgrade guests into the best rooms available whenever it is possible. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am always dubious about judging places on their Christmas Fayre, at this time of year it is mass catering and too many hotels and restaurants seem to think that they can lessen the quality control as people are celebrating, the company the people work for are picking up the tab, so it doesn't matter.

Clearly Charlotte House think that standards do matter. Excellent service, excellent food and in an excellent venue. A little pricey on the drinks by Lincoln averages but that apart, a very enjoyable evening.

I find this very reassuring as we are attending a wedding reception here in the new year, a repeat visit to look forward to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. So pleased you had a lovely Christmas Function and look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year for you next function, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked this hotel at last minute directly with the hotel. The only rooms available were either a twin room or a two bedroom suite, The twin room was adjacent to the part of the hotel where a wedding reception was taking place so we were offered the 2 bed room suite for the price of the twin room.... what a result. The room was fantastic, king four potser bed and enormous modern bathroom. The building is a former nurses home and so is a very quirky refurbishment in to a boutique hotel. It was short of one thing..... a scantilly clad Barbara Windsor chasing Dr Nookie down the corridor!

Lots of good eating and drinking places in the Bailgate area all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. The Victoria opposite does fantastic Batemans beers and live music on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshbird120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, they are much appreciated. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience some of the many good drinking and eating establishments in the Bailgate area. I will pass on your complimentary remarks about the Victoria to our colleague Neil, the manager there, as I know he will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed his live music and selection of ales. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Charlotte House for three nights. We asked for room/s that would sleep the 5 of us (3 teenagers), and were offered the two bedroom family suite with an extra bed, which I gratefully accepted.

Unfortunately, one has to lug all ones luggage up multiple flights of stairs, and they have those annoying doors with closers on them so you have to try and hold the doors open while puttling the suitcases through. Finally into the room and the extra bed was not yet done, so the lovely girl who checked us in went to get it and bring the linen. The family suite is set up thus: you enter through a door facing down a long narrow hallway. Along the right side of the hallway is the wall, and on the left is the bathroom door, then the first bedroom door, then at the very end of the hall is the main bedroom. The bathroom was huge and modern and no complaints there. The first bedroom had a double four poster bed that swayed precariously every time I touched it lightly and it completely filled the room,barely leaving room to get around it. The hall had the tea/coffee table against the wall with a funny hot water thing not capable of making a cup of tea as it wasn;t truly hot. Then the main bedroom, with the hard double bed leaving a really narrow space between the foot of the bed and wall (turning sideways to get around all the time). There is a desk with one chair but that is the extent of the seating - so five people have one chair. For a five star hotel that is ridiculous.

When the extra bed did arrive, it was placed in the narrow hall - right at the tea and coffee table, which meant that the sleeper had no privacy and was woken every time someone had to shuffle sideways past her bed to visit the bathroom. That was assuming she could sleep at all, which she said was impossible due to the uncomfortable camperbed. Our beds also were very uncomfortable and the pillows were pretty awful too - we really didn;t sleep much at all for the three nights.

If this hotel had a lower star rating these things may not have been a suprise, and the very uncomfortable stay we had may be written off as a bad bargain. But the five star rating means that you expect several things, especially that if you are given a room for five people, that five people would actually fit in it. You also expect there would be somewhere to sit down - for more than one person. You may expect breakfast to be in the nice conservatory room they have - but it is stuck out the back of the bar.

I really thought overall this one was a bit of a let down. If you are after something that is nice, but not spectacular then it's fine. But five star it certainly is not.

Room Tip: Don't bring a lot of luggage as you have to haul it up a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations. I have to agree that the room booked is geared to accommodate just 4 people, and rest assured we have stressed to our team the importance of unequivocally explaining the room arrangements.

With regard to having to carry luggage up the stairs, as we are a listed building we do not have a lift, but help should have been offered to you, and I apologise as this was not the case.

It is unfortunate you found the beds and pillows uncomfortable. While our bed pillows are memory foam, we do provide regular pillows in every room as we know that some guests prefer these.

Our five stars are self accredited and feel they are justified, as we are a very beautiful small 14 bedroom boutique hotel situated in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter surrounded by unique shops and restaurants.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and appreciate you taking the time to tell of your experience, it is through such comments that we can try and maintain the standards which are guests have come to expect, and improve on any shortcomings. We hope, should you return to Lincoln, you will consider staying with us again.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Charlotte House Hotel for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the lovely contemporary room. The room was clean and the bathroom was huge. The staff were also friendly and polite. Next time we stay in Lincoln we will be staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. It means a lot to us when you staff are singled out in for their politeness and friendliness, as this is always one of our main objectives. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Property: Charlotte House
Address: The Lawn Centre Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there's something to suit everyone's taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing