We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas function in a long while”
Review of Charlotte House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charlotte House
Ranked #12 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am always dubious about judging places on their Christmas Fayre, at this time of year it is mass catering and too many hotels and restaurants seem to think that they can lessen the quality control as people are celebrating, the company the people work for are picking up the tab, so it doesn't matter.

Clearly Charlotte House think that standards do matter. Excellent service, excellent food and in an excellent venue. A little pricey on the drinks by Lincoln averages but that apart, a very enjoyable evening.

I find this very reassuring as we are attending a wedding reception here in the new year, a repeat visit to look forward to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. So pleased you had a lovely Christmas Function and look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year for you next function, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 486 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked this hotel at last minute directly with the hotel. The only rooms available were either a twin room or a two bedroom suite, The twin room was adjacent to the part of the hotel where a wedding reception was taking place so we were offered the 2 bed room suite for the price of the twin room.... what a result. The room was fantastic, king four potser bed and enormous modern bathroom. The building is a former nurses home and so is a very quirky refurbishment in to a boutique hotel. It was short of one thing..... a scantilly clad Barbara Windsor chasing Dr Nookie down the corridor!

Lots of good eating and drinking places in the Bailgate area all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. The Victoria opposite does fantastic Batemans beers and live music on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshbird120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments, they are much appreciated. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience some of the many good drinking and eating establishments in the Bailgate area. I will pass on your complimentary remarks about the Victoria to our colleague Neil, the manager there, as I know he will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed his live music and selection of ales. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Charlotte House for three nights. We asked for room/s that would sleep the 5 of us (3 teenagers), and were offered the two bedroom family suite with an extra bed, which I gratefully accepted.

Unfortunately, one has to lug all ones luggage up multiple flights of stairs, and they have those annoying doors with closers on them so you have to try and hold the doors open while puttling the suitcases through. Finally into the room and the extra bed was not yet done, so the lovely girl who checked us in went to get it and bring the linen. The family suite is set up thus: you enter through a door facing down a long narrow hallway. Along the right side of the hallway is the wall, and on the left is the bathroom door, then the first bedroom door, then at the very end of the hall is the main bedroom. The bathroom was huge and modern and no complaints there. The first bedroom had a double four poster bed that swayed precariously every time I touched it lightly and it completely filled the room,barely leaving room to get around it. The hall had the tea/coffee table against the wall with a funny hot water thing not capable of making a cup of tea as it wasn;t truly hot. Then the main bedroom, with the hard double bed leaving a really narrow space between the foot of the bed and wall (turning sideways to get around all the time). There is a desk with one chair but that is the extent of the seating - so five people have one chair. For a five star hotel that is ridiculous.

When the extra bed did arrive, it was placed in the narrow hall - right at the tea and coffee table, which meant that the sleeper had no privacy and was woken every time someone had to shuffle sideways past her bed to visit the bathroom. That was assuming she could sleep at all, which she said was impossible due to the uncomfortable camperbed. Our beds also were very uncomfortable and the pillows were pretty awful too - we really didn;t sleep much at all for the three nights.

If this hotel had a lower star rating these things may not have been a suprise, and the very uncomfortable stay we had may be written off as a bad bargain. But the five star rating means that you expect several things, especially that if you are given a room for five people, that five people would actually fit in it. You also expect there would be somewhere to sit down - for more than one person. You may expect breakfast to be in the nice conservatory room they have - but it is stuck out the back of the bar.

I really thought overall this one was a bit of a let down. If you are after something that is nice, but not spectacular then it's fine. But five star it certainly is not.

Room Tip: Don't bring a lot of luggage as you have to haul it up a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations. I have to agree that the room booked is geared to accommodate just 4 people, and rest assured we have stressed to our team the importance of unequivocally explaining the room arrangements.

With regard to having to carry luggage up the stairs, as we are a listed building we do not have a lift, but help should have been offered to you, and I apologise as this was not the case.

It is unfortunate you found the beds and pillows uncomfortable. While our bed pillows are memory foam, we do provide regular pillows in every room as we know that some guests prefer these.

Our five stars are self accredited and feel they are justified, as we are a very beautiful small 14 bedroom boutique hotel situated in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter surrounded by unique shops and restaurants.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and appreciate you taking the time to tell of your experience, it is through such comments that we can try and maintain the standards which are guests have come to expect, and improve on any shortcomings. We hope, should you return to Lincoln, you will consider staying with us again.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Charlotte House Hotel for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the lovely contemporary room. The room was clean and the bathroom was huge. The staff were also friendly and polite. Next time we stay in Lincoln we will be staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. It means a lot to us when you staff are singled out in for their politeness and friendliness, as this is always one of our main objectives. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is certainly unique. It used to be staff accomodation for The Lawns mental hospital. The front door, stairs, internal doors and wardrobes are original. The 5 star rating must be self certified or for boutique hotels. There was no evening meal or leisure facilities on site. However the staff are generally very efficient and when not suggested they were new. There are 3 rooms in the 1 bedroom suite and the 4 poster bed was superb. 2 LCD tv's with good channel selection and cd player as well as a huge bathroom with huge shower and stand alone bath. Area was quiet. Overall a great but quirky stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUSTARDCREAM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. As you quite rightly pointed out we do not offer an evening restaurant, but we are very lucky in that we are surrounded by very good eating establishments within the Bailgate area. I am pleased you liked the room and facilities within it, and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We only had the one night at the Charlotte house Hotel as we had come up to visit our daughter. We had the 2 bed apartment- which was stunning! Two kingside double poster bed and a bathroom to die for!!
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was in a great position near the cathedral and castle and some very good restaurants(although it is very hard walking up Steep Hill!)
We were warned about a party in the evening but to be fair we didnt hear anything in our room at all.
The bedrooms were gorgeous and the kingsize beds lovely- very high up!! The bathroom and showere were great- daughter had a lovely time relaxing in the huge bath and the walk in shower was brilliant!
Had breakfast in the morning- good selection of cold meats and cheese along with cereals etc. Then a cooked breakfast - lots of different choices- can recommend the potatoes with chirizo and egg!!
All in all we had a lovely time, hotel was great with some really lovely staff- and special mention to Sue the receptionist who kept answering all my emails!!!
I would recommend this hotel, and would love to go back again one day

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed you stay and thank you for all your lovely comments regarding are accommodation and the staff, We are very lucky to be in an area which has a wealth of culture and very good eating and drinking places. We really do hope you can come back and see us soon.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently visited Lincoln for a midweek break and stayed for two nights at the Charlotte House Hotel which is situated near to the cathedral and the castle. We received a very warm welcome from the minute we arrived with a very courteous member of staff helping us to find a parking space. The reception staff booked us in quickly and efficiently and we were shown to our room. The room was spacious with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The bathroom was modern with an amazing power shower. Overall the cleanliness was excellent. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was wonderful with plenty of choice from the buffet and a full english which was cooked to order. We would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel and would hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar T, Reservations at Charlotte House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay with us, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff where both welcoming and courteous. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast, they as you pointed out are always cooked to order. We hope you do make it back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Reservations
Charlotte House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
559 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Address: The Lawn Centre Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: $90 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there's something to suit everyone's taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing