We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go”

Pomodoro E Basilico
Ranked #143 of 448 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Worst Italian Food I've ever tasted. Its fine when you want something cheap and you are very hungry. Don't expect much taste and quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viiiic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    119
    59
    30
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Watch out for "bargains"”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were attracted by the "lunch time special" (£3.95 for a main) but the fact they wrote "margarita" pizza instead of margherita should be already be a warning that of Italian, such a place, had only the sign.

At the entrance we were quite welcome and greeted by a waitress who let us sit to a nice table. The ambient is nice and well presented, nothing to complain.

We asked the waiter what was on the lunchtime menu and we were told that the available options were the margherita pizza and mushroom risotto so we went for both.

after a minute the waiter let us know that the mushroom risotto wasn't available but the special of the day was penne all'arrabbiata (that according to the Italian tradition they allegedly try to respect is purely vegetarian) . We asked confirmation whether that was vegetarian but the "masterchef" who designed the menus decided to put some pepperoni in it so we decided for 2 margherita pizza.

What a disgrace! The alleged "stone baked pizza made with only local ingredients" was nothing else but a well round frozen discount pizza! Slightly burnt and chunky. Not the stone-baked pizza we were expecting at all! (generally the lunch discounts are a sort of compromise between restaurants and customers for good prices for food... not in this case!)

This is the worst restaurant ever! misleading and certainly not worth any money! we left as soon as finished.

For that money get a better pizza to Aldi and you're sure will spend less and don't feel ripped off!
It might be better deal if you get one of the other dishes but I won't be taking the chance or approach that restaurant even with a 2 metres pole.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T_Fabius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Back on form”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We used to visit Pomodoro regularly but on the last couple of visits both the food and the service were quite poor. So we hadn't been there for a couple of months when just after Christmas we decided to give it another try at lunchtime. I'm pleased to say that it was back to its best. It's never going to be an authentic Italian restaurant but the pasta and pizza dishes that we had were of very good quality. Service was excellent from a team of young staff who were unfailingly polite, helpful and smiling despite the restaurant being packed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robsherv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Always do a nice lunch here. Service good, food good and nice setting. Value for money. Best to book for dinner though as its busy on a weekend

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pleasant food lovely service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Cheap and cheerful lunch. Lovely waitress from Naples. All very good especially for the very low prices! It was a very busy lunchtime but we still didn't have to wait very long. Let down by the smell of cigarettes from the corridor leading to loos and private offices which we could smell at our table.
No credit cards or debit cards taken on both visits said machine was down on both occasions.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro E Basilico also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Pomodoro E Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing